For thousands of generations the First Nations people of the Yukon have moved across its landscape weaving their stories in and out the land. From the land they created cultures that withstood the passing of millennia , remaining relatively unchanged until doors of the Yukon opened to the world in the late 19th century.

Today, the First Nations of the Yukon have begun to thrive again in a new world. As they strive to protect their languages and traditions they move forward creating new stories on a new land.


Yukon Native Languages and First Nations
Yukon Native Languages and First Nations
Photo Yukon Native Language Centre


There are 14 First Nations in the Yukon and 8 language groups coming from two major language families, Athapaskan and Tlingit. Of these language groups most Yukon First Nations identify themselves with one of the following dialects: Northern Tutchone, Southern Tutchone, Gwitchin, Han, Upper Tanana, Tagish, Kaska and Inland Tlingit.

Over the course of several thousand years the aboriginal people of the Yukon developed the traditions, cultures, languages and histories into what all Yukon First Nations identify with today. The First Nations of the Yukon today are: White River First Nation, Kluane First Nation, Champagne & Aishihik First Nation, Kwanlin Dun First Nation, Ta’an Kwachan Council, Carcross/Tagish First Nation, Selkirk First Nation, Little Salmon/Carmacks First Nation, Teslin Tlingit Council, Tr’ondek Hwech’in First Nation, Vuntut Gwichin First Nation, First Nation of Nacho Nyak Dun and the Kaska Dene Council.


First Nations of the Kluane National Park and Reserve


The Kluane National Park and Reserve covers 21,980 square kilometers in the southwestern part of the Yukon Territory. It overlaps with the traditional territories of the Kluane First Nation and Champagne & Aishihik First Nations. In recent years, since the signing of the Champagne & Aishihik First Nations’ and the Kluane First Nation’s Final and Self-Government Agreements, these First Nations have begun the process of re-establishing the ties to this park lands and re-discovering connections to the Park.

Moose Johnson over looking A Si Keyi.
Moose Johnson
Photo Elmer Harp Collection


Kluane National Park & Reserve is home to the world’s largest non-polar ice fields, vast green valleys, glacial lakes, big game and is also home to Canada’s highest mountain peak, Mount Logan. This immense mountain is located in the Tachal Region of Kluane First Nation’s traditional territory or “A Si Keyi” (Grandfathers Country in Southern Tutchone). The majority of Kluane people are of Southern Tutchone descent, however, many of its members have Tlingit and Northern Tutchone ancestry in their family backgrounds. The predominant aboriginal language spoken today in this region is Southern Tutchone, and is the language being taught to children in the Kluane area communities.



Jimmy (Copper) Joe with Grizzley Bear
Jimmy (Copper) Joe with Grizzley Bear
Photo Josie Sias collection
Lu’an Mun Ku Dan
The Kluane Lake People or the “Lu’an Mun Ku Dan” and the Champagne & Aishihik People have lived in their traditional territories for centuries hunting, fishing, trapping and following big game. Traditionally they were nomadic people and were also accomplished trades people, acting as middlemen between the southern Inland Tlingits and Coastal Tlingits and the interior First Nations.

The nomadic lifestyle of the Southern Tutchone people remained largely unaltered over the past millennium, and it wasn’t until the turn of the 20th Century that drastic societal and environmental changes caused the people of the Lu’an Mun and Champagne and Aishihik regions to ultimately change forever the way they lived. During the years following the Gold Rush of 1898, a slow but steady stream of gold seekers, entrepreneurs and settlers began to move into the Kluane area.


Making Contact, Making Changes

Lu'an Mun Dun (Kluane People) in front of old Kluane Inn, Burwash Landing
Lu'an Mun Dun (Kluane People)
Photo Elmer Harp Collection


It was during this time that the First Nation people of the area started to settle at permanent locations, such as Burwash Landing, on the northern shores of Kluane Lake. The lure of steady monetary income led many First Nations people, not only in the Kluane region but in all other parts of the Yukon, to abandon traditional nomadic lifestyles.


Early traffic jam during the contruction of the Alaska Highway
Early traffic jam
Photo Elmer Harp Collection
Winding In and Winding Out

In 1942, during WWII, the US Army built the Alaska Highway, connecting the "Lower 48" to Alaska. The Highway cut through the traditional territory of the Lu’an Mun and Champagne and Aishihik people and passed through Haines Junction and Burwash Landing. The impact the construction of this highway had on the people of the area was impossible to pre-determine because it was so great. Not only did it bring new people in numbers unheard of before, it also brought disease and opened the region to a steady flow of traffic. In the subsequent years a majority of the population of the people in the Kluane region perished due to diseases and epidemics that followed the construction of the Highway.


No Trespassing: Sanctuary
RCMP signage, Burwash Landing.
RCMP signage, Burwash Landing
Photo Josie Sias collection
One of the biggest changes the Southern Tutchone people of the Kluane region had to deal with was the creation of the Kluane Game Sanctuary in 1943, most of which was turned into the Kluane National Park in 1972. Today the Kluane Game Sanctuary is located in some areas within the Kluane National Park the Alaska Highway and along part of the Haines Road. One of the main purposes of the creation of the Kluane Game Sanctuary was to initiate a no hunting zone in response to the over hunting in the area by military personnel and highway workers during the construction of the Alaska Highway.

What was not understood at the time was the effect it would have on the First Nations people of the area because the land in question was the traditional territory of the Lu’an Mun and Champagne and Aishihik people. The Kluane people were essentially banned from entering the land and remained on the other side of the highway for the next fifty years. It was not until recent years that the connections with that land in the Kluane National Park were once again being revisited and co-management between the First Nations and the Park.

Pendant des centaines de générations, les membres des Premières nations du Yukon ont parcouru le paysage et tissé leur histoire au coeur de ce territoire. De cette terre, ils ont créé des cultures qui ont résisté au passage des millénaires et aux bouleversements jusqu’à ce que le Yukon ouvre ses portes au monde vers la fin du 18e siècle.


Aujourd’hui, les Premières nations du Yukon ont recommencé à s’épanouir au sein d’un monde nouveau. Tout en s’efforçant de protéger leurs langues et leurs traditions, elles vont de l’avant et bâtissent une nouvelle histoire, sur une terre nouvelle.


Langues et communautés autochtones du Yukon
Langues et communautés autochtones du Yukon
© Centre des langues autochtones du Yukon

Il existe quatorze Premières nations au Yukon et huit groupes linguistiques issus de deux familles linguistiques, l’athapaskan et le tlingit. Parmi ces groupes linguistiques, la plupart des Premières nations du Yukon s’identifient à l’un des dialectes suivants : le tutchone du Nord, le tutchone du Sud, le gwitchen, le han, le haut tanana, le tagish, le kaska et le tlingit de l’intérieur.

Sur une période de plusieurs milliers d’années, les Autochtones du Yukon ont donné naissance aux traditions, aux cultures, aux langues et aux récits auxquels les Premières nations du Yukon s’identifient aujourd’hui. Aujourd'hui, ces Premières nations sont : la Première nation de White River, la Première nation de Kluane, les Premières nations de Champagne et de Aishihik, la Première nation des Kwanlin Dun, le Conseil des Ta’an Kwachan, la Première nation de Carcross/Tagish, la Première nation de Selkirk, la Première nation Little Salmon/Carmacks, le Conseil des Tlingits de Teslin, la Première nation des Tr’ondek Hwech’in, la Première nation des Vuntut Gwichin, la Première nation des Nacho Nyak Dun et le Conseil Dena de Ross River.


Premières nations du Parc national et réserve de parc national Kluane

Le Parc national de Kluane s’étend sur 21 980 kilomètres carrés dans la partie sud-ouest du territoire du Yukon. Il chevauche les territoires traditionnels de la Première nation de Kluane et les Premières nations Champagne et Aishihik. Au cours des dernières années, depuis la ratification des ententes définitives et des ententes d’autonomie gouvernementale par les Premières nations Champagne et Aishihik et par la Première nation de Kluane, ces dernières ont commencé à rétablir et à redécouvrir leurs liens avec le parc.

Moose Johnson et A Si Keyi en arrière-plan.
Moose Johnson
Photo © Collection Elmer Harp

La réserve de parc national Kluane abrite les plus grands champs glaciaires non polaires au monde, de vastes vallées verdoyantes, des lacs glaciaires, du gros gibier, de même que le plus haut sommet au Canada, le mont Logan. Cette immense montagne est située dans la région de Tachal du territoire traditionnel de la Première nation de Kluane ou « A Si Keyi » (le « pays des grands-pères » en tutchone du Sud). La majorité des membres de la Première nation de Kluane sont d’ascendance tutchone du Sud, toutefois, nombre d’entre eux comptent des ancêtres Tlingits et Tutchones du Nord. De nos jours, le tutchone du Sud est la langue autochtone prédominante de la région; c’est aussi celle qui est enseignée aux enfants des communautés de la région de Kluane.

 

Jimmy (Cooper) Joe et un grizzli
Jimmy (Cooper) Joe et un grizzli
Photo © Collection Josie Sias
Lu’an Mun Ku Dan
Pendant des siècles, la Première nation du lac Kluane, ou les « Lu’an Mun Ku Dan », et les Premières nations Champagne et Aishihik ont vécu sur leurs territoires traditionnels où ils chassaient, pêchaient, faisaient du piégeage et suivaient les déplacements du gros gibier. Les membres de ces Premières nations étaient traditionnellement des nomades, mais aussi des commerçants accomplis qui servaient d’intermédiaires entre les Tlingits de l’intérieur, les Tlingits de la côte et les Premières nations de l’intérieur.

Le mode de vie nomade des Tutchones du Sud est demeuré largement inchangé au cours du dernier millénaire. Ce n’est qu’au début du XXe siècle que des changements sociaux et environnementaux radicaux ont amené les Autochtones des régions de Lu’an Mun et de Champagne et Aishihik à changer à jamais leur mode de vie. Pendant les années qui ont suivi la ruée vers l’or de 1898, un flot lent, mais constant de chercheurs d’or, d’entrepreneurs et de pionniers a commencé à déferler sur la région.


Entrer en contact, apporter le changement

Lu'an Mun Dun (membres de la nation Kluane) devant l'ancienne auberge Kluane Inn, à Burwash Landing
Lu'an Mun Dun (membres de la nation Kluane)
Photo © Collection Elmer Harp

C’est pendant cette période que les Premières nations de la région ont commencé à s’installer dans des lieux fixes, comme Burwash Landing, sur la Rive-Nord du lac Kluane. L’appât de gains pécuniaires stables a amené plusieurs Autochtones, non seulement dans la région de Kluane, mais dans toutes les autres parties du Yukon, à abandonner leur mode de vie nomade.


Bouchon de circulation lors de la construction de la route de l'Alaska
Bouchon de circulation
Photo © Collection Elmer Harp
Un chemin tortueux

En 1942, l’armée américaine a construit la route de l’Alaska, reliant ainsi les 48 autres États du territoire continental des États-Unis à l’Alaska. La route traversait le territoire traditionnel de la Première nation Lu’an Mun et les Premières nations Champagne et Aishihik de même que Haines Junction et Burwash Landing. En raison de son ampleur, l’impact de la construction de la route sur les gens de la région était impossible à déterminer d’avance. La route n’a pas seulement amené un nombre sans précédent de nouveaux arrivants, mais elle a également apporté la maladie en plus d’ouvrir la région à une circulation constante. Au cours des années qui ont suivi, une majorité de la population autochtone de la région de Kluane a péri à cause des maladies et des épidémies qui sont apparues après la construction de la route.

Entrée interdite : Sanctuaire

Panneau de la GRC à Burwash Landing.
Panneau de la GRC à Burwash Landing
Photo © Collection Josie Sias
L’un des plus importants changements auxquels les Tutchones du Sud de la région de Kluane ont eu à faire face a été la création du sanctuaire faunique de Kluane en 1943, dont la majeure partie est devenue le parc national de Kluane en 1972. Aujourd’hui, le sanctuaire faunique de Kluane est dispersé dans certaines zones du parc national de Kluane, le long de la route de l’Alaska et le long d’une partie de la route de Haines. Un des principaux objectifs de la création du sanctuaire faunique était de créer une zone d’interdiction de chasse pour contrer la chasse excessive pratiquée dans la région par les militaires et les cantonniers pendant la construction de la route de l’Alaska.

À l’époque, on ne comprenait pas l’effet qu’aurait la création du sanctuaire sur les Premières nations de la région, car les terres en question constituaient le territoire traditionnel de la Première nation Lu’an Mun et des Premières nations Champagne et Aishihik. La Première nation de Kluane s’est pratiquement vu interdire l’accès au territoire et est demeurée de l’autre côté de la route pendant les cinquante années qui ont suivi. Ce n’est que récemment que les liens avec ces terres dans le parc national de Kluane ont été rétablis et que la Première nation de Kluane et les Premières nations Champagne et Aishihik sont devenues conjointement responsables de la gestion du parc.