When early explorers sailed to foreign shores, they drew maps to chart the size and shape of the lands that they found. We still explore in this way, but on a much larger scale. Although we’ve charted most of the Earth, we have only started exploring beyond our planet. By mapping the size and shape of our solar system, galaxy and the universe, we’re beginning to chart our place in the cosmos.

Orreries show the rates at which the different planets move around the Sun. They are named after Charles Boyle, the fourth Earl of Orrery, as he commissioned one of the earliest of these models.

This information is from the exhibition "By the light of the southern stars" at Sydney Observatory, part of the Powerhouse Museum.
When early explorers sailed to foreign shores, they drew maps to chart the size and shape of the lands that they found. We still explore in this way, but on a much larger scale. Although we’ve charted most of the Earth, we have only started exploring beyond our planet. By mapping the size and shape of our solar system, galaxy and the universe, we’re beginning to chart our place in the cosmos.

Orreries show the rates at which the different planets move around the Sun. They are named after Charles Boyle, the fourth Earl of Orrery, as he commissioned one of the earliest of these models.

This information is from the exhibition "By the light of the southern stars" at Sydney Observatory, part of the Powerhouse Museum.

© Canadian Heritage Information Network, 2003

Orrery

Orreries show the rates at which the different planets move around the Sun. They are named after Charles Boyle, the fourth Earl of Orrery, as he commissioned one of the earliest of these models.

Collection: Powerhouse Museum, Sydney
c. 1850-1860
86/60
© Powerhouse Museum


Celestial globes are a popular way of mapping the positions of the stars. The shape of the globe matches the curved appearance of the sky. Map makers often decorate celestial globes with drawings of the constellations.

Celestial globes are a popular way of mapping the positions of the stars. The shape of the globe matches the curved appearance of the sky. Map makers often decorate celestial globes with drawings of the constellations.

© Canadian Heritage Information Network, 2003

Celestial globe

Celestial globe.

Collection: Powerhouse Museum, Sydney
1791
H9894
© Powerhouse Museum


A transit of Venus takes place when the planet crosses the disc of the Sun as seen from Earth. Such transits occur in pairs eight years apart, separated by a century or so. To astronomers of the 18th and 19th centuries they were of crucial importance as they provided a method of determining the distance between the Earth and Sun, and hence the scale of the Solar System.

Australia has a close connection with this rare astronomical event through Captain James Cook who mapped the continent’s east coast on his way back to Britain after observing the transit of 1769 from Tahiti. When the next transit occurred in 1874, Sydney Observatory was in an ideal position to make detailed observations.

Henry Chamberlain Russell started preparing for the 1874 transit immediately on becoming Government Astronomer in 1870. He purchased new telescopes and recruited a team of observers. Among them were the Reverend W. Scott, the first Government Astronomer, Philip F Adams, the Surveyor-General, Professor Archibald Liversidge who helped to establish the museum that eventually became the Powerhouse and the instrument maker Angelo Tornaghi. These observers went to a number o Read More
A transit of Venus takes place when the planet crosses the disc of the Sun as seen from Earth. Such transits occur in pairs eight years apart, separated by a century or so. To astronomers of the 18th and 19th centuries they were of crucial importance as they provided a method of determining the distance between the Earth and Sun, and hence the scale of the Solar System.

Australia has a close connection with this rare astronomical event through Captain James Cook who mapped the continent’s east coast on his way back to Britain after observing the transit of 1769 from Tahiti. When the next transit occurred in 1874, Sydney Observatory was in an ideal position to make detailed observations.

Henry Chamberlain Russell started preparing for the 1874 transit immediately on becoming Government Astronomer in 1870. He purchased new telescopes and recruited a team of observers. Among them were the Reverend W. Scott, the first Government Astronomer, Philip F Adams, the Surveyor-General, Professor Archibald Liversidge who helped to establish the museum that eventually became the Powerhouse and the instrument maker Angelo Tornaghi. These observers went to a number of observing stations scattered around New South Wales - Sydney Observatory itself, Eden, Goulburn and Woodford in the Blue Mountains - so as to maximise the chance of getting a clear sky at least at one site.

On the day of the transit the weather was fine at all locations except at Eden on the south coast. Russell wrote that, ’Never perhaps in the world’s history, did morning dawn on so many waiting astronomers as it did on the 9th of December, 1874’. Although atmospheric effects such as shading between the edge of the planet and the Sun made observing difficult, good results were obtained.

After the transit Russell left for England, taking with him the reports and observations of all his observers. These he handed to the Astronomer Royal who was arranging the analysis of all the observations made in the British Empire. Many years later, in 1892, Russell published a beautifully illustrated book with the complete details of all the observations that he and his observers had made.

© Powerhouse Publishing, Sydney, 2001

Large Equatorial Telescope at Sydney Observatory

Large Equatorial Telescope at Sydney Observatory.

Photograph in HC Russell, 'Observations of the Transit of Venus'
Government Printer, 1892

523.92 RUS
© Powerhouse Museum Library


'Waiting for the transit of Venus, Woodford'

'Waiting for the transit of Venus, Woodford' New South Wales, Australia.

Photograph in 'Observations of the transit of Venus'
Government Printer, 1892

523.92 RUS
© Powerhouse Museum Library


Using radio telescopes, astronomers are mapping the gas and dust in the Milky Way to learn more about stars, galaxies and our own origins.

Everyone knows that there are stars and planets in space, but what about in between? Although it might look like a dark void, there is matter between the stars. Astronomers call this matter the interstellar medium, and it’s a mixture of gas and tiny dust particles. Out of this material, stars are continually forming-some big, some small and some medium-sized , like our Sun.

A project called the International Galactic Plane Survey (IGPS) is using radio surveys to map the interstellar medium. It started as a Canadian effort to map the section of the Milky Way visible from the Northern Hemisphere. The results were so good that American and Australian partners started a similar project for the southern hemisphere, and eventually they joined forces.
Using radio telescopes, astronomers are mapping the gas and dust in the Milky Way to learn more about stars, galaxies and our own origins.

Everyone knows that there are stars and planets in space, but what about in between? Although it might look like a dark void, there is matter between the stars. Astronomers call this matter the interstellar medium, and it’s a mixture of gas and tiny dust particles. Out of this material, stars are continually forming-some big, some small and some medium-sized , like our Sun.

A project called the International Galactic Plane Survey (IGPS) is using radio surveys to map the interstellar medium. It started as a Canadian effort to map the section of the Milky Way visible from the Northern Hemisphere. The results were so good that American and Australian partners started a similar project for the southern hemisphere, and eventually they joined forces.

© Canadian Heritage Information Network 2003

A possible "galactic chimney"

A possible "galactic chimney" mapped by the International Galactic Plane Survey, a partnership of radio surveys being conducted in Canada, the U.S., Australia, Germany and Sweden.

The International Galactic Plane Survey

© Canadian Galactic Plane Survey


For the really big picture, astronomers are making a 3-dimensional (3-D) map of the galaxies. Already they’ve charted the positions of 220 000 galaxies-just a fraction of what’s out there.

From 1997 to 2001, the Anglo-Australian telescope in eastern Australia carried out what was then the world’s largest survey of galaxies, the 2dF (two-degree field) Galaxy Redshift Survey. The 2dF survey mapped the 3-D positions in space of more than 220000 galaxies, and gave us the most detailed map of the Universe to date.

The 2dF instrument captures the light from up to 400 galaxies at a time, using 400 optical fibres - one for each galaxy to be observed. A robotic arm positions the ends of the fibres, which have little lenses on them, onto the telescope’s ’focal plate’, which is where the light coming into the telescope is focused to. Each fibre is placed so that it catches the light from one galaxy.The fibres carry the light from each galaxy into one of two spectrographs. The spectrographs split the light into its component colours. By analyzing these colours, astronomers can tell how far away a galaxy is.

The 2dF team ma Read More
For the really big picture, astronomers are making a 3-dimensional (3-D) map of the galaxies. Already they’ve charted the positions of 220 000 galaxies-just a fraction of what’s out there.

From 1997 to 2001, the Anglo-Australian telescope in eastern Australia carried out what was then the world’s largest survey of galaxies, the 2dF (two-degree field) Galaxy Redshift Survey. The 2dF survey mapped the 3-D positions in space of more than 220000 galaxies, and gave us the most detailed map of the Universe to date.

The 2dF instrument captures the light from up to 400 galaxies at a time, using 400 optical fibres - one for each galaxy to be observed. A robotic arm positions the ends of the fibres, which have little lenses on them, onto the telescope’s ’focal plate’, which is where the light coming into the telescope is focused to. Each fibre is placed so that it catches the light from one galaxy.The fibres carry the light from each galaxy into one of two spectrographs. The spectrographs split the light into its component colours. By analyzing these colours, astronomers can tell how far away a galaxy is.

The 2dF team made some astounding findings. They gathered evidence showing how the universe’s mysterious ’dark matter’ is distributed, and how giant superclusters of galaxies evolve over time due to gravity. In 2002, they found independent evidence to support the controversial idea that the universe is accelerating faster and faster, like a runaway car.

The 2dF survey was an international collaboration of more than 30 scientists from 11 institutions. In Australia, the Anglo-Australian Observatory, the Australian National University and the University of NSW were involved.

© Canadian Heritage Information Network, 2003

A night assistant at the Anglo-Australian Telescope

A night assistant at the Anglo-Australian Telescope control console.

Photograph by David Malin

© Anglo-Australian Observatory


Learning Objectives

The learner will:

  • Describe scientific and technological developments, past and present and appreciate their impact on individuals and societies
  • Describe how humanity has mapped space, and how the technology has developed over time

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

Lorsque les premiers explorateurs voyageaient vers des rivages inconnus, ils dressaient des cartes pour représenter la forme et les dimensions des contrées qu’ils découvraient. Nous faisons la même chose aujourd’hui, mais à une échelle beaucoup plus grande. Nous avons cartographié presque toute la Terre, mais nous avons seulement commencé à explorer au-delà. En représentant la forme et les dimensions de notre système solaire, de notre galaxie et de l’Univers, nous commençons à faire de même avec notre place dans le cosmos.

Un planétaire est un modèle mécanique qui montre la vitesse relative des planètes autour du Soleil. Le mot anglais orrery vient de Charles Boyle, quatrième comte d’Orrery, qui a commandé l’un des premiers modèles de ce type.

Ces renseignements sont tirés de l’exposition By the light of the southern stars de l’Observatoire de Sydney, qui fait partie du Musée Powerhouse.
Lorsque les premiers explorateurs voyageaient vers des rivages inconnus, ils dressaient des cartes pour représenter la forme et les dimensions des contrées qu’ils découvraient. Nous faisons la même chose aujourd’hui, mais à une échelle beaucoup plus grande. Nous avons cartographié presque toute la Terre, mais nous avons seulement commencé à explorer au-delà. En représentant la forme et les dimensions de notre système solaire, de notre galaxie et de l’Univers, nous commençons à faire de même avec notre place dans le cosmos.

Un planétaire est un modèle mécanique qui montre la vitesse relative des planètes autour du Soleil. Le mot anglais orrery vient de Charles Boyle, quatrième comte d’Orrery, qui a commandé l’un des premiers modèles de ce type.

Ces renseignements sont tirés de l’exposition By the light of the southern stars de l’Observatoire de Sydney, qui fait partie du Musée Powerhouse.

© Le Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine, 2003

Planétaire

Un planétaire est un modèle mécanique qui montre la vitesse relative des planètes autour du Soleil. Le mot anglais orrery vient de Charles Boyle, quatrième comte d'Orrery, qui a commandé l'un des premiers modèles de ce type.

Musée Powerhouse, Sydney
vers 1850-1860
86/60
© Musée Powerhouse


Un globe céleste est un moyen populaire de représenter la position des étoiles. La forme du globe reproduit la courbure apparente du ciel. Les fabricants décorent souvent leurs globes célestes en y dessinant les constellations.

Un globe céleste est un moyen populaire de représenter la position des étoiles. La forme du globe reproduit la courbure apparente du ciel. Les fabricants décorent souvent leurs globes célestes en y dessinant les constellations.

© Le Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine, 2003

Globe céleste

Globe céleste.

Musée Powerhouse, Sydney
1791
H9894
© Musée Powerhouse


Un transit de Vénus est le passage de la planète devant le disque solaire, tel qu’il est vu de la Terre. Tous les cent ans environ, il y a deux transits de Vénus, à huit ans d’intervalle. Ils avaient une importance cruciale pour les astronomes des XVIIIe et XIXe siècles car ils permettaient de déterminer la distance entre la Terre et le Soleil, et donc la grandeur du système solaire.

L’Australie est étroitement liée à ce rare événement astronomique par le capitaine James Cook, qui cartographia la côte Est de l’Australie sur le chemin du retour vers l’Angleterre après avoir observé le transit de 1769 lorsqu’il était à Tahiti. Au moment du transit suivant en 1874, l’Observatoire de Sydney était dans une position idéale pour faire des observations détaillées.

Henry Chamberlain Russell commença à préparer l’Observatoire pour le transit de 1874 immédiatement après sa nomination comme astronome du gouvernement en 187 Pour en lire plus
Un transit de Vénus est le passage de la planète devant le disque solaire, tel qu’il est vu de la Terre. Tous les cent ans environ, il y a deux transits de Vénus, à huit ans d’intervalle. Ils avaient une importance cruciale pour les astronomes des XVIIIe et XIXe siècles car ils permettaient de déterminer la distance entre la Terre et le Soleil, et donc la grandeur du système solaire.

L’Australie est étroitement liée à ce rare événement astronomique par le capitaine James Cook, qui cartographia la côte Est de l’Australie sur le chemin du retour vers l’Angleterre après avoir observé le transit de 1769 lorsqu’il était à Tahiti. Au moment du transit suivant en 1874, l’Observatoire de Sydney était dans une position idéale pour faire des observations détaillées.

Henry Chamberlain Russell commença à préparer l’Observatoire pour le transit de 1874 immédiatement après sa nomination comme astronome du gouvernement en 1870. Il acheta de nouveaux télescopes et recruta une équipe d’observateurs, dont le révérend W. Scott, premier astronome du gouvernement, Philip F Adams, directeur du Service cartographique, le professeur Archibald Liversidge, qui contribua à mettre sur pied le musée qui est par la suite devenu le Musée Powerhouse, et le fabricant d’instruments Angelo Tornaghi. Ces observateurs se rendirent à un certain nombre de stations d’observation dispersées dans l’État de Nouvelle-Galles du Sud - l’Observatoire de Sydney lui-même, Eden, Goulburn, ainsi que Woodford dans les Blue Mountains - afin d’accroître la probabilité d’avoir un ciel dégagé à au moins un endroit.

Le jour du transit, le temps était beau à tous les points d’observation sauf à Eden, dans la partie sud de la côte. Russell écrivit : « Peut-être jamais dans l’histoire du monde le jour ne s’est-il levé sur autant d’astronomes en attente que le 9 décembre 1874. » De bons résultats furent obtenus malgré les effets de l’atmosphère tels que le flou entre le bord de la planète et le Soleil.

Après le transit, Russell partit pour l’Angleterre avec les rapports et notes de tous ses observateurs. Il les remit à l’astronome royal, qui organisait l’analyse de toutes les observations effectuées dans l’Empire britannique. De nombreuses années plus tard, en 1892, Russell publia un livre magnifiquement illustré avec tous les détails des observations que lui et ses collègues avaient faites.

© Sydney, Powerhouse Publishing, 2001

Grand télescope équatorial de l'Observatoire de Sydney

Grand télescope équatorial de l'Observatoire de Sydney.

Photographie tirée de H.C. Russell, Observations of the Transit of Venus
Imprimeur du gouvernement, 1892

523.92 RUS
© Bibliothèque du Musée Powerhouse


Attente du transit de Vénus, Woodford

Attente du transit de Vénus, Woodford, Nouvelle-Galles du Sud, Australie.

Photographie tirée de Observations of the transit of Venus
Imprimeur du gouvernement, 1892

523.92 RUS
© Bibliothèque du Musée Powerhouse


À l’aide de radiotélescopes, les astronomes cartographient les gaz et les poussières de la Voie lactée pour améliorer nos connaissances sur les étoiles, les galaxies et nos propres origines.

Tout le monde sait qu'il y a des étoiles et des planètes dans l'espace. Mais qu'y a-t-il entre ces corps célestes? Malgré les apparences de vide sombre, il y a de la matière entre les étoiles. Ce que les astronomes appellent l'espace intersidéral contient un mélange de gaz et de fines particules de poussière. Des étoiles se forment continuellement à partir de ce matériau. Certaines sont grosses, d'autres petites, et d'autres de taille moyenne - comme notre Soleil.

Un projet intitulé Relevé international du plan galactique fait appel à des sondages radio pour cartographier l'espace intersidéral. Précurseur de ce projet, le Relevé canadien du plan galactique visait à cartographier la partie de la Voie lactée visible de l'hémisphère Nord. Les résultats furent si bons Pour en lire plus
À l’aide de radiotélescopes, les astronomes cartographient les gaz et les poussières de la Voie lactée pour améliorer nos connaissances sur les étoiles, les galaxies et nos propres origines.

Tout le monde sait qu'il y a des étoiles et des planètes dans l'espace. Mais qu'y a-t-il entre ces corps célestes? Malgré les apparences de vide sombre, il y a de la matière entre les étoiles. Ce que les astronomes appellent l'espace intersidéral contient un mélange de gaz et de fines particules de poussière. Des étoiles se forment continuellement à partir de ce matériau. Certaines sont grosses, d'autres petites, et d'autres de taille moyenne - comme notre Soleil.

Un projet intitulé Relevé international du plan galactique fait appel à des sondages radio pour cartographier l'espace intersidéral. Précurseur de ce projet, le Relevé canadien du plan galactique visait à cartographier la partie de la Voie lactée visible de l'hémisphère Nord. Les résultats furent si bons que des partenaires américains et australiens lancèrent un projet semblable pour l'hémisphère Sud. Toutes ces équipes en sont venues à unir leurs efforts.

© Le Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine 2003

Une « cheminée » galactique possible

Une « cheminée » galactique possible découverte par le Relevé international du plan galactique, ensemble de sondages radio effectués au Canada, aux États-Unis, en Australie, en Allemagne et en Suède.

Le Relevé international du plan galactique

© Relevé canadien du plan galactique


Pour ce qui est d’une véritable vue d’ensemble, les astronomes travaillent à réaliser une carte en trois dimensions (3D) des galaxies. Ils ont déjà représenté la position de 220 000 galaxies - une toute petite fraction de notre Univers.

De 1997 à 2001, le télescope anglo-australien situé dans l’est de l’Australie a servi à mener ce qui était alors le plus ambitieux projet de cartographie des galaxies, le 2dF (pour 2-degree field) Galaxy Redshift Survey. Ce projet a permis de cartographier en trois dimensions une partie de l’Univers contenant plus de 220 000 galaxies et nous a donné la carte de l’Univers la plus détaillée que nous ayons à ce jour.

L’instrument 2dF peut capter la lumière de 400 galaxies à la fois, à l’aide de 400 fibres optiques - une par galaxie à observer. Un bras robotisé place l’extrémité des fibres, munies de petites lentilles, sur la plaque située au foyer du télescope, là où converge la lumiè Pour en lire plus
Pour ce qui est d’une véritable vue d’ensemble, les astronomes travaillent à réaliser une carte en trois dimensions (3D) des galaxies. Ils ont déjà représenté la position de 220 000 galaxies - une toute petite fraction de notre Univers.

De 1997 à 2001, le télescope anglo-australien situé dans l’est de l’Australie a servi à mener ce qui était alors le plus ambitieux projet de cartographie des galaxies, le 2dF (pour 2-degree field) Galaxy Redshift Survey. Ce projet a permis de cartographier en trois dimensions une partie de l’Univers contenant plus de 220 000 galaxies et nous a donné la carte de l’Univers la plus détaillée que nous ayons à ce jour.

L’instrument 2dF peut capter la lumière de 400 galaxies à la fois, à l’aide de 400 fibres optiques - une par galaxie à observer. Un bras robotisé place l’extrémité des fibres, munies de petites lentilles, sur la plaque située au foyer du télescope, là où converge la lumière qui entre dans le télescope. Chaque fibre est placée de manière à capter la lumière d’une galaxie. Les fibres amènent la lumière de chaque galaxie vers l’un des deux spectrographes de l’instrument. Les spectrographes séparent la lumière en les couleurs qui la composent. En analysant ces couleurs, les astronomes peuvent dire à quelle distance se situe chaque galaxie.

L’équipe du projet 2dF a fait quelques découvertes stupéfiantes. Elle a rassemblé des preuves qui montrent comment la mystérieuse « matière noire » de l’univers est répartie et comment des super-amas géants de galaxies évoluent sous l’effet de la gravité. En 2002, l’équipe a réuni des preuves indépendantes qui soutiennent l’idée controversée que l’expansion de l’univers s’accélère constamment, comme un véhicule qui s’emballe.

Le projet 2dF a réuni plus de 30 scientifiques de 11 institutions de divers pays. En Australie, l’Observatoire anglo-australien, l’Université nationale de l’Australie et l’Université de la Nouvelle-Galles du Sud ont participé à ce projet.

© Le Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine, 2003

Assistant de nuit du télescope de l'Observatoire anglo australien

Assistant de nuit au pupitre de commande du télescope de l'Observatoire anglo australien.

Photo : David Malin

© Observatoire anglo-australien


Objectifs d'apprentissage

L’apprenant va :

  • décrire des développements scientifiques et technologiques, passés et actuels, et comprendre leurs répercussions sur les particuliers et les sociétés ;
  • décrire comment l’humanité a établi une carte du ciel, et comment la technologie a évolué au fil du temps.

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons