Long ago, people learned to organize the sky into recognizable patterns. They connected the brightest stars together, imagining the outlines of gods and ancestors. These imaginary outlines are called constellations.

Today there are a total of 88 constellations that cover both the northern and southern hemispheres. Certain constellations and planets that can be seen with the naked eye are important to the beliefs of the Blackfoot Anishinabe and Cree of North America, and the Indigenous Australians. We know they are important because stories have been told about them for generations. These stories provide traditional knowledge that reinforces cultural beliefs and serves as a moral, ethical and practical guide.
Long ago, people learned to organize the sky into recognizable patterns. They connected the brightest stars together, imagining the outlines of gods and ancestors. These imaginary outlines are called constellations.

Today there are a total of 88 constellations that cover both the northern and southern hemispheres. Certain constellations and planets that can be seen with the naked eye are important to the beliefs of the Blackfoot Anishinabe and Cree of North America, and the Indigenous Australians. We know they are important because stories have been told about them for generations. These stories provide traditional knowledge that reinforces cultural beliefs and serves as a moral, ethical and practical guide.

© Canadian Heritage Information Network, 2003

M51

The Whirlpool Galaxy, M51, is a spiral galaxy located just off the end of the handle off the Big Dipper.

Canada-France-Hawii Telescope

© CFHT


Throughout history, many peoples around the world have considered the Pleiades to be sacred. By observing the position of the Pleiades in the sky, people know when to plant, harvest, and hunt. Many ceremonies take place as the Pleiades crosses the centre of the sky at midnight.

The Pleiades is sometimes called the Seven Sisters, since you can see seven stars with the naked eye (if you have excellent vision). This constellation looks like a tiny dipper, and is often mistaken for the Little Dipper.

The Pleiades isn’t really a constellation, it’s a star cluster in the northwest corner of the constellation called Taurus the Bull. Pleiades is visible during the winter and early spring in the northern hemisphere and from November to February in the southern hemisphere.

Behgonay Geeshik (Anishinabe) or Pakone-Kisik (Cree) is translated into English as the Hole in the Sky. It is called the Pleiades in English. This is the Hole in the Sky through which Sky Woman descended to the Earth.
Throughout history, many peoples around the world have considered the Pleiades to be sacred. By observing the position of the Pleiades in the sky, people know when to plant, harvest, and hunt. Many ceremonies take place as the Pleiades crosses the centre of the sky at midnight.

The Pleiades is sometimes called the Seven Sisters, since you can see seven stars with the naked eye (if you have excellent vision). This constellation looks like a tiny dipper, and is often mistaken for the Little Dipper.

The Pleiades isn’t really a constellation, it’s a star cluster in the northwest corner of the constellation called Taurus the Bull. Pleiades is visible during the winter and early spring in the northern hemisphere and from November to February in the southern hemisphere.

Behgonay Geeshik (Anishinabe) or Pakone-Kisik (Cree) is translated into English as the Hole in the Sky. It is called the Pleiades in English. This is the Hole in the Sky through which Sky Woman descended to the Earth.

© Canadian Heritage Information Network, 2003

The Big Dipper is the brightest part of a constellation called Ursa Major-the Great Bear. By itself, the Big Dipper iscalled an asterism-a group of bright stars that have a familiar shape, but are only part of a larger constellation.

The Big Dipper can be seen from most of the northern hemisphere. The seven dipper stars are easily visible to the naked eye, and they do look a lot like a dipper. Since the Big Dipper is near Polaris-the North Star-it appears to swing around the North Pole throughout the year.
The Big Dipper is the brightest part of a constellation called Ursa Major-the Great Bear. By itself, the Big Dipper iscalled an asterism-a group of bright stars that have a familiar shape, but are only part of a larger constellation.

The Big Dipper can be seen from most of the northern hemisphere. The seven dipper stars are easily visible to the naked eye, and they do look a lot like a dipper. Since the Big Dipper is near Polaris-the North Star-it appears to swing around the North Pole throughout the year.

© Canadian Heritage Information Network, 2003

Great Bear

The Big Dipper is part of the constellation called the Great Bear. You can see the dipper shape in the top part of the image. | © Centre of the Universe (CU).

Centre of the Universe (CU)

© Centre of the Universe (CU)


The Southern Cross is also called "Crux" (Latin for cross). Four bright stars form the cross and it’s the tiniest constellation in the sky. The Southern Cross is visible only in the southern hemisphere. It contains a beautiful star cluster called the Jewel Box.

The Southern Cross is also called "Crux" (Latin for cross). Four bright stars form the cross and it’s the tiniest constellation in the sky. The Southern Cross is visible only in the southern hemisphere. It contains a beautiful star cluster called the Jewel Box.

© Canadian Heritage Information Network, 2003

The Southern Cross

The Southern Cross.

Centre of the Universe (CU)

© Centre of the Universe (CU)


Indigenous peoples’ knowledge of astronomy, which assisted in telling time, direction, and weather, was vital to survival. Below is a list of the names of some of the planets, stars, and constellations according to the Cree and Anishinabe people of Manitoba, Canada. These two distinct peoples share a long history as they have lived near one another for centuries and share territory, particularly in Ontario, Canada.

Amisk Achak (Cree), or Amik Anung (Anishinabe), is translated into English as the Beaver stars. This constellation is called Gemini on star charts.

Anungokwun (Anishinabe) is translated into English as the Star World, or the Universe.

Beedabun-Anung (Anishinabe,) or Petapun Achak (Cree), is translated into English as the Coming Dawn Stars. The smaller star is called Gamma Aquila on star charts. This star rises first. The second to rise, and larger star, is called Altair on star charts. The Coming Dawn Stars are the children of the Morning Star. They rise before her, in the false dawn, and are aligned one above the other so that they point to where she will appear.

Behgonay Geeshik (Anishinabe), or Pakone-Kisik (Cree) Read More
Indigenous peoples’ knowledge of astronomy, which assisted in telling time, direction, and weather, was vital to survival. Below is a list of the names of some of the planets, stars, and constellations according to the Cree and Anishinabe people of Manitoba, Canada. These two distinct peoples share a long history as they have lived near one another for centuries and share territory, particularly in Ontario, Canada.

Amisk Achak (Cree), or Amik Anung (Anishinabe), is translated into English as the Beaver stars. This constellation is called Gemini on star charts.

Anungokwun (Anishinabe) is translated into English as the Star World, or the Universe.

Beedabun-Anung (Anishinabe,) or Petapun Achak (Cree), is translated into English as the Coming Dawn Stars. The smaller star is called Gamma Aquila on star charts. This star rises first. The second to rise, and larger star, is called Altair on star charts. The Coming Dawn Stars are the children of the Morning Star. They rise before her, in the false dawn, and are aligned one above the other so that they point to where she will appear.

Behgonay Geeshik (Anishinabe), or Pakone-Kisik (Cree), is translated into English as the Hole in the Sky. It is called the Pleiades in English. This is the Hole in the Sky through which Sky Woman descended to the Earth.

Cheepahi Meskanaw (Cree) is translated into English as the Spirit Road. This is the path marked across the sky by the Milky Way galaxy when it is turned westward. According to traditional beliefs, the spirit of a person who dies on Earth ascends into the star world, then dances along this path to the place of eternal happiness in the west, beyond the setting Sun. In the Anishinabe language, the Milky Way is called Binessiwi Mekuna, the Bird’s Path. In autumn, when it points south, the birds follow it. In spring, it turns north and the birds follow it back again.

Cheepayak Nemitowak (Cree) is translated into English as The Spirts Dancing. This phenomenon is called Wawatay in the Anishinabe language. In the English language this phenomenon is called the Northern Lights or Aurora Borealis. According to traditional Aboriginal beliefs, the Northern Lights are the Spirits dancing as they proceed westward through the star world to their final destination.

Chi-Okimah Anung (Anishinabe), or Kisci-Okima-Achak (Cree), is translated as the Great Chief Star, or King Star, and is called Vega in English. The King Star controls all the other stars and assigns them their roles, so that there is nothing on Earth that does not have a ruling spirit or star in the heavens. The King Star controls the force of gravity and causes the water to be lifted off the lakes and rivers. He stores it up and later releases it to cause snowfalls.

Ishpiming (Anishinabe) is translated as the Heavens.

Kisikaw Achak (Cree), or Geezhigo Anung (Anishinabe), the Day Star, is the planet Venus when seen during the day. Since Kisikaw Achak, or Geezhigo Anung, is really a planet orbiting the Sun, its position cannot be fixed on a star map.

Kewatino Achak (Cree), or Keewatin Anung (Anishinabe), is translated into English as the North Star. The North Star is also called Polaris.

Maskote Pisike (Cree), or Mushkoday Beezheeke (Anishinabe), is translated into English as the Buffalo. This is the constellation Perseus. The buffalo is the guardian of the Shaking Tent ceremony. In the winter, the Buffalo Star can be easily seen, but in the summer, she is barely visible because she is on Earth, feeding and helping indigenous peoples.

Mikinaw (Cree), or Mikinak (Anishinabe), is translated into English as the Turtle Star. This star is called Capella on star maps. The turtle is the teacher and interpreter of the Shaking Tent ceremony. The Atasokans (spirits) speak in their own language, and the turtle interprets what they are saying to the people.

Matootsan (Cree), or Madodisswun (Anishinabe), is translated into English as the Sweat Lodge. It is called Corona Borealis, or the Northern Crown, in English.

Mokwachak (Cree), or Maung Anungonse (Anishinabe), is translated into English as the Loon. It is called Delphinus on star charts.

Myeengun Anung (Anishinabe) is translated into English as the Wolf. The wolf is brother to Nanabush and walks the star world with him. It is called Canis Major on star charts.

Nanabush Anung (Anishinabe) is the Nanabush. Nanabush is the elder brother and teacher of the Anishinabe. It is also called Misabe by some Anishinabe speaking people, which translates into English as the Giant. In Cree language, it is called Mistapiw, also translated as the Giant. This constellation is called Orion in English.

Nakapahanachak (Cree), or Ningabi Anung (Anishinabe), is translated into English as the Western Star. This is the planet Venus, seen as the Evening Star. Since the Evening Star is really a planet orbiting the Sun, its position cannot be fixed on a star map.

Ochekatak (Cree), or Odjig Anung (Anishinabe), is translated into English as the Fisher. There is a book called Murdo’s Story that tells how the Fisher came to be. The Fisher is called the Big Dipper or Ursa Major in English.

Ochakatakos-iskewew (Cree), or Odjig Anungonse (Anishinabe), is translated into English as the Little Fisher Stars, or Little Fisher. In the English language, it is called the Little Dipper, or Ursa Minor. Kewatino Achak (Cree), or Keewatin Anung (Anishinabe), the North Star, forms the end of the Little Fisher’s tail.

Pisim (Cree), or Keesis (Anishinabe), is translated as the Sun, in English.

Sawanachak (Cree), or Shawan Anung (Anishinabe), is translated into English as the Southern Star. This is the planet Jupiter as seen in the south. Since Sawanachak or Shawan Anung is really a planet orbiting the Sun, its position cannot be fixed on a star map.

Tipiskawi Pisim (Cree), or Tibiki Keesis (Anishinabe), is translated into English as the Moon.

Wapan Achak (Cree), or Wabun Anung (Anishinabe), is translated into English as the Dawn, or Eastern Star. This is the planet Venus seen as the Morning Star. Wapan Achak or Wabun Anung is really a planet orbiting the Sun, so its position cannot be fixed on a star map.

This information is from The Native Language Program, Grades 7-12, published by Native Education Branch of Manitoba, Canada.

© Canadian Heritage Information Network, 2003

Learning Objectives

The learner will:

  • Develop enthusiasm and continuing interest in the study of science
  • Describe several constellations in words and pictures
  • Appreciate the importance of astronomy to indigenous peoples
  • Develop Anishinabe and Cree vocabulary

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

Il y a longtemps, les gens ont appris à organiser le ciel en motifs reconnaissables. Ils ont relié les étoiles les plus brillantes, imaginant les contours de dieux et d’ancêtres. Ces dessins imaginaires s’appellent des constellations.

Aujourd’hui, nous connaissons au total 88 constellations qui couvrent les hémisphères Nord et Sud. Certaines constellations et planètes visibles à l’oeil nu jouent un rôle important dans les croyances des Pieds-Noirs, des Anishinabes et des Cris de l’Amérique du Nord et des aborigènes de l’Australie. Nous savons qu’elles sont importantes parce qu’elles font l’objet de légendes depuis des générations. Ces légendes constituent une source de connaissances traditionnelles qui renforcent les croyances culturelles et servent de guide moral, éthique et pratique.
Il y a longtemps, les gens ont appris à organiser le ciel en motifs reconnaissables. Ils ont relié les étoiles les plus brillantes, imaginant les contours de dieux et d’ancêtres. Ces dessins imaginaires s’appellent des constellations.

Aujourd’hui, nous connaissons au total 88 constellations qui couvrent les hémisphères Nord et Sud. Certaines constellations et planètes visibles à l’oeil nu jouent un rôle important dans les croyances des Pieds-Noirs, des Anishinabes et des Cris de l’Amérique du Nord et des aborigènes de l’Australie. Nous savons qu’elles sont importantes parce qu’elles font l’objet de légendes depuis des générations. Ces légendes constituent une source de connaissances traditionnelles qui renforcent les croyances culturelles et servent de guide moral, éthique et pratique.

© Le Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine, 2003

M51

La galaxie du Tourbillon (M51) est une galaxie spirale située tout près de la poignée de la grande casserole (le groupe de sept étoiles caractéristique de la Grande Ourse).

Télescope Canada-France-Hawaii

© Télescope Canada-France-Hawaii


Au cours de l’histoire, de nombreux peuples ont donné aux Pléiades un caractère sacré. En observant la position des Pléiades dans le ciel, les gens savent quand semer, récolter ou chasser. De nombreuses cérémonies ont lieu lorsque les Pléiades traversent le milieu du ciel à minuit.

Les Pléiades sont parfois appelées les Sept Soeurs car on peut voir sept étoiles à l’oeil nu (à condition d’avoir une excellente vue). Ce groupe d’étoiles ressemble à une toute petite casserole et est souvent confondue avec la Petite Ourse, qui a aussi la forme d’une casserole.

Les Pléiades ne forment pas à proprement parler une constellation, mais plutôt un groupe d’étoiles dans le coin nord-ouest de la constellation du Taureau. Les Pléiades sont visibles en hiver et au début du printemps dans l’hémisphère Nord, et de novembre à février dans l’hémisphère Sud.

Behgonay Geeshik (en langue anishinabe) et Pakone-Kisik (en lan Pour en lire plus
Au cours de l’histoire, de nombreux peuples ont donné aux Pléiades un caractère sacré. En observant la position des Pléiades dans le ciel, les gens savent quand semer, récolter ou chasser. De nombreuses cérémonies ont lieu lorsque les Pléiades traversent le milieu du ciel à minuit.

Les Pléiades sont parfois appelées les Sept Soeurs car on peut voir sept étoiles à l’oeil nu (à condition d’avoir une excellente vue). Ce groupe d’étoiles ressemble à une toute petite casserole et est souvent confondue avec la Petite Ourse, qui a aussi la forme d’une casserole.

Les Pléiades ne forment pas à proprement parler une constellation, mais plutôt un groupe d’étoiles dans le coin nord-ouest de la constellation du Taureau. Les Pléiades sont visibles en hiver et au début du printemps dans l’hémisphère Nord, et de novembre à février dans l’hémisphère Sud.

Behgonay Geeshik (en langue anishinabe) et Pakone-Kisik (en langue cri) signifient « le trou dans le ciel » et désignent le groupe d’étoiles des Pléiades. C’est le trou par lequel la Femme du ciel descendait sur la Terre.

© Le Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine, 2003

La Grande Casserole est la partie la plus brillante de la constellation de la Grande Ourse. La Grande Casserole est un astérisme, c’est-à-dire un ensemble d’étoiles brillantes qui ont une forme familière mais qui ne constituent qu’une partie d’une constellation plus grande.

La Grande Casserole est visible de la plus grande partie de l’hémisphère Nord. Les sept étoiles qui la composent sont facilement visibles à l’oeil nu, et la forme de la casserole est bien évidente. Comme la grande casserole est près de l’étoile polaire - l’Étoile du Nord - elle semble se balancer autour du pôle Nord au cours de l’année.
La Grande Casserole est la partie la plus brillante de la constellation de la Grande Ourse. La Grande Casserole est un astérisme, c’est-à-dire un ensemble d’étoiles brillantes qui ont une forme familière mais qui ne constituent qu’une partie d’une constellation plus grande.

La Grande Casserole est visible de la plus grande partie de l’hémisphère Nord. Les sept étoiles qui la composent sont facilement visibles à l’oeil nu, et la forme de la casserole est bien évidente. Comme la grande casserole est près de l’étoile polaire - l’Étoile du Nord - elle semble se balancer autour du pôle Nord au cours de l’année.

© Le Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine, 2003

Grande Ourse

La Grande Casserole constitue une partie de la constellation de la Grande Ourse. La forme de la casserole est visible dans la partie supérieure de l'image.

Le Centre de l'Univers (CU)

© Le Centre de l'Univers (CU)


La Croix du Sud est formée de quatre étoiles brillantes. C’est la plus petite constellation du ciel et elle n’est visible que dans l’hémisphère Sud. Elle contient un très bel amas d’étoiles appelé la Boîte à Bijoux.

La Croix du Sud est formée de quatre étoiles brillantes. C’est la plus petite constellation du ciel et elle n’est visible que dans l’hémisphère Sud. Elle contient un très bel amas d’étoiles appelé la Boîte à Bijoux.

© Le Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine, 2003

La Croix du Sud

La Croix du Sud.

Le Centre de l'Univers (CU)

© Le Centre de l'Univers (CU)


Les connaissances des peuples autochtones en astronomie, qui les ont aidés à connaître l’écoulement du temps, à s’orienter et à prévoir les conditions météorologiques, ont été vitales pour leur survie. Voici une liste de noms de planètes, d’étoiles et de constellations pour les peuples cri et anishinabe du Manitoba, au Canada. Ces deux peuples distincts ont une longue histoire en commun parce qu’ils ont vécu près l’un de l’autre pendant des siècles et partagent un territoire, en particulier en Ontario, au Canada.

Amisk Achak (en langue cri) et Amik Anung (en langue anishinabe) se traduisent « étoiles du castor ». Sur les cartes du ciel, cette constellation est celle des Gémeaux.

Anungokwun (en langue anishinabe) désigne le « monde des étoiles », c’est-à-dire l’Univers.

Beedabun-Anung (en langue anishinabe) et Petapun Achak (en langue cri) signifient « les étoiles de l’aube qui s’en vient ». Ce sont de Pour en lire plus
Les connaissances des peuples autochtones en astronomie, qui les ont aidés à connaître l’écoulement du temps, à s’orienter et à prévoir les conditions météorologiques, ont été vitales pour leur survie. Voici une liste de noms de planètes, d’étoiles et de constellations pour les peuples cri et anishinabe du Manitoba, au Canada. Ces deux peuples distincts ont une longue histoire en commun parce qu’ils ont vécu près l’un de l’autre pendant des siècles et partagent un territoire, en particulier en Ontario, au Canada.

Amisk Achak (en langue cri) et Amik Anung (en langue anishinabe) se traduisent « étoiles du castor ». Sur les cartes du ciel, cette constellation est celle des Gémeaux.

Anungokwun (en langue anishinabe) désigne le « monde des étoiles », c’est-à-dire l’Univers.

Beedabun-Anung (en langue anishinabe) et Petapun Achak (en langue cri) signifient « les étoiles de l’aube qui s’en vient ». Ce sont deux étoiles qui se lèvent avant l’étoile du matin. La plus petite, qui apparaît la première, est gamma de l’Aigle. La seconde, qui est plus brillante, est l’étoile Altaïr. Les étoiles de l’aube qui s’en vient sont les enfants de l’étoile du matin. Elles se lèvent avant celle-ci, dans les lueurs annonciatrices de l’aube. Elles sont alignées l’une au-dessus de l’autre de manière à indiquer où l’étoile du matin va apparaître.

Behgonay Geeshik (en langue anishinabe) et Pakone-Kisik (en langue cri) signifient « le trou dans le ciel » et désignent le groupe d’étoiles des Pléiades. C’est le trou par lequel la Femme du ciel descendait sur la Terre.

Cheepahi Meskanaw (en langue cri) signifie « le chemin des esprits ». C’est le chemin indiqué dans le ciel par la Voie lactée lorsqu’elle est orientée vers l’ouest. Selon des croyances traditionnelles, l’esprit d’une personne qui meurt monte dans le monde des étoiles, puis danse le long de ce chemin vers le lieu du bonheur éternel, à l’ouest, derrière le soleil couchant. Dans la langue anishinabe, la Voie lactée s’appelle Binessiwi Mekuna, la route des oiseaux. À l’automne, lorsqu’elle pointe vers le sud, les oiseaux l’empruntent pour leur migration. Au printemps, elle est orientée vers le nord et les oiseaux l’empruntent de nouveau pour revenir.

Cheepayak Nemitowak (en langue cri) signifie « les esprits qui dansent ». Ce phénomène s’appelle Wawatay en langue anishinabe et aurore boréale en français (pour les habitants de l’hémisphère Nord). Selon les croyances traditionnelles des autochtones, les aurores boréales représentent les esprits qui dansent tout en se dirigeant vers l’ouest dans le monde des étoiles jusqu’à leur destination finale.

Chi-Okimah Anung (en langue anishinabe) et Kisci-Okima-Achak (en langue cri) se traduisent « étoile grand chef » ou « reine des étoiles » et désignent l’étoile Véga. La reine des étoiles commande à toutes les autres étoiles et assigne à chacune un rôle, de sorte que tout ce qui est sur terre est régi par un esprit ou une étoile dans les cieux. La reine des étoiles contrôle la force de gravité et fait sortir l’eau des lacs et des rivières. Elle emmagasine l’eau dans le ciel et la relâche plus tard sous forme de chutes de neige.

Ishpiming ((en langue anishinabe) désigne le paradis.

Kisikaw Achak (en langue cri) ou Geezhigo Anung (en langue anishinabe), l’étoile du jour, désigne la planète Vénus lorsqu’on la voit pendant le jour. Kisikaw Achak (en langue cri) ou Geezhigo Anung (en langue anishinabe) est en réalité une planète qui tourne autour du Soleil. On ne peut donc pas fixer sa position sur une carte du ciel.

Kewatino Achak (en langue cri) et Keewatin Anung (en langue anishinabe), se traduisent « étoile du nord » et désignent l’étoile polaire.

Maskote Pisike (en langue cri) et Mushkoday Beezheeke (en langue anishinabe) signifient « le bison » et désignent la constellation de Persée. Le bison est le gardien de la cérémonie de la tente tremblante. Cette constellation est facile à voir en hiver mais en été elle est difficilement visible parce qu’elle est sur la Terre pour nourrir et aider les peuples autochtones.

Mikinaw (en langue cri) et Mikinak (en langue anishinabe) se traduisent « étoile de la tortue » et désignent l’étoile Capella de la constellation du Cocher. La tortue enseigne et interprète la cérémonie de la tente tremblante. Les Atasokans (esprits) ont leur propre langue, et la tortue traduit ce qu’ils disent au peuple.

Matootsan (en langue cri) et Madodisswun (en langue anishinabe) se traduisent « constellation de la suerie » et désignent la constellation de la Couronne Boréale.

Mokwachak (en langue cri) et Maung Anungonse (en langue anishinabe) se traduisent « constellation du huard » et désignent la constellation du Dauphin.

Myeengun Anung (en langue anishinabe) se traduit « constellation du loup » et désigne la constellation du Grand Chien. Le loup est le frère de Nanabush et emmène le monde des étoiles avec lui.

Nanabush Anung (en langue anishinabe) se traduit « constellation de Nanabush » et désigne la constellation d’Orion. Nanabush est le frère aîné et celui qui enseigne aux Anishinabe. Certains Anishinabe appellent aussi cette constellation Misabe, qui signifie « géant ». En langue cri, cette constellation s’appelle Mistapiw, qui veut aussi dire « géant ».

Nakapahanachak (en langue cri) et Ningabi Anung (en langue anishinabe) se traduisent « étoile de l’ouest » et désignent la planète Vénus lorsqu’on la voit comme l’étoile du soir. Comme c’est en réalité une planète qui tourne autour du Soleil, on ne peut pas fixer sa position sur une carte du ciel.

Ochekatak (en langue cri) et Odjig Anung (en langue anishinabe) se traduisent « constellation de la Martre ». Le livre intitulé Murdo’s Story raconte comment est née cette constellation, que nous appelons en français la Grande Ourse.

Ochakatakos-iskewew (en langue cri) et Odjig Anungonse (en langue anishinabe) se traduisent « étoiles de la petite martre » ou « constellation de la petite martre » et désignent la Petite Ourse. Kewatino Achak (en langue cri) et Keewatin Anung (en langue anishinabe) désignent l’étoile polaire, qui est au bout de la queue de la martre.

Pisim (en langue cri) et Keesis (en langue anishinabe) désignent le Soleil.

Sawanachak (en langue cri) et Shawan Anung (en langue anishinabe) se traduisent « étoile du sud » et désignent la planète Jupiter comme on la voit au sud. Sawanachak ou Shawan Anung désigne en réalité une planète qui tourne autour du Soleil. On ne peut donc pas fixer sa position sur une carte du ciel.

Tipiskawi Pisim (en langue cri) et Tibiki Keesis (en langue anishinabe) désignent la Lune.

Wapan Achak (en langue cri) et Wabun Anung (en langue anishinabe) se traduisent « étoile de l’aube » ou « étoile de l’est » et désignent la planète Vénus lorsqu’on la voit comme l’étoile du matin. Wapan Achak ou Wabun Anung désigne en réalité une planète qui tourne autour du Soleil. On ne peut donc pas fixer sa position sur une carte du ciel.

Ces données sont traduites de l’ouvrage The Native Language Program, Grades 7-12, publié par la Direction de l’enseignement autochtone du Manitoba, au Canada.

© Le Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine, 2003

Objectifs d'apprentissage

L’apprenant va :

  • acquérir un enthousiasme et un intérêt soutenu pour l’étude des sciences ;
  • décrire, à l’aide de mots et d’images, plusieurs constellations ;
  • comprendre l’importance de l’astronomie pour les peuples indigènes ;
  • apprendre du vocabulaire anishinabe et cri.

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons