The painting re-creates the arrival of a group of refugees at a "station" on the Underground Railroad.

A group of refugee slaves is shown arriving at a "station" (or safe house) on the Underground Railroad. "Passengers" on this so-called "railroad" were escaped slaves. Usually, they travelled at night and often with a guide (or "conductor"). The distances between stations were just long enough to let the conductor go, on foot or in a wagon, and return home in a single night. On the back of the painting, the artist wrote: "This picture is painted for the love of my dear wife Frances Augusta Webber-C.T.W. Dec 22, 1891." This couple, who lived on the border of slave territory, may have been involved in the Underground Railroad.

Charles T. Webber
Cincinnati Art Museum
1891
Oil on canvas
132.6 x 193.4 cm
Subscription Fund Purchase Accession #: 1927.
© 2008, Cincinnati Art Museum. All Rights Reserved.


The Reverend John Rankin was a fierce old man who lived with his family on a steep hill in the "free" state of Ohio. From there, he could see down across the Ohio River to Kentucky, where slavery was legal. Every night, all night, a light shone from the Rankin house to guide fugitives to temporary safety on their way north.

The Rankins were “stationmasters” on the Underground Railroad, forming just one link in a secret chain of some 10,000 abolitionists. In the first half of the 19th century, this network carried as many as 100,000 refugees to freedom (around one-quarter of them coming to Canada).  It was risky work. Even in the free North, “stealing” slaves was a crime, and some abolitionists were physically attacked by armed slave-catchers who came rampaging north in pursuit of slaves.

The Underground Railroad had nothing to do with trains, though it borrowed railway lingo to describe the transport of fugitives, on foot or in wagons, from safe house to safe house on their journey north. Many of the early “stationmasters” were Quakers, whose religion condemned slavery outright. By the 1850s, however, Read More

The Reverend John Rankin was a fierce old man who lived with his family on a steep hill in the "free" state of Ohio. From there, he could see down across the Ohio River to Kentucky, where slavery was legal. Every night, all night, a light shone from the Rankin house to guide fugitives to temporary safety on their way north.

The Rankins were “stationmasters” on the Underground Railroad, forming just one link in a secret chain of some 10,000 abolitionists. In the first half of the 19th century, this network carried as many as 100,000 refugees to freedom (around one-quarter of them coming to Canada).  It was risky work. Even in the free North, “stealing” slaves was a crime, and some abolitionists were physically attacked by armed slave-catchers who came rampaging north in pursuit of slaves.

The Underground Railroad had nothing to do with trains, though it borrowed railway lingo to describe the transport of fugitives, on foot or in wagons, from safe house to safe house on their journey north. Many of the early “stationmasters” were Quakers, whose religion condemned slavery outright. By the 1850s, however, the movement was much larger and more general. In fact, it was the most massive example of civil disobedience (which is when citizens knowingly refuse to obey the law) in American history. Though many of the activists were white, the bravest – for they had the most to lose – were the Blacks themselves, both slave and free.

THE UNDERGROUND RAILROAD. NATIONAL HISTORIC EVENT OF CANADA. DESIGNATED 1925. PLAQUE: WINDSOR, ONTARIO
© 2008, Virtual Museum of Canada. All Rights Reserved.

A portrait from a published report, "The Rev. Josiah Henson 'Uncle Tom' in Scotland"

Josiah Henson had dignity and presence. As a slave, he gained the trust and approval of his owners. As a free man, he worked hard and prospered. He was known to have returned south from Canada to lead other refugees out of slavery, and he invested energy and money in their settlement and education in Canada. However, his greatest fame came from his association with a fictional character in a famous novel. His picture was printed in a report after a meeting at City Hall, Glasgow, on April 20, 1877.

Publisher, George Gallie & Son
Arthur Conan Doyle Collection, Toronto Reference Library, Toronto Public Library
1877
Photograph (book)
Catalogue no.: 326.92 H25.3
© 2008, Toronto Public Library. All Rights Reserved.


When Harriet Beecher Stowe sat down to write a novel about slavery in the 1850s, she used many real people and events as inspiration. One of her models was Josiah Henson, whose life as a slave the novelist reshaped to create that famous fictional character, “Uncle Tom.”

Josiah Henson was a strong, intelligent man, and he was a successful slave. By demonstrating unwavering loyalty to his owners, he won their trust and advanced to the position of overseer on the plantation. He was shocked, therefore, when he found that his owner – whom he had trusted and served – was planning to sell him away from his wife and children. He took the heartbreaking decision to run.

The Hensons made it to Canada, Josiah walking the whole way with the two youngest children on their father’s back as the family struggled through a largely unsettled wilderness. In Canada, Henson proved just as successful a settler as he had been a slave. He worked, saved his money and bought land. He also returned south a number of times as a “conductor” on the Underground Railway and led others to safety. In later years, he founded the British America Read More

When Harriet Beecher Stowe sat down to write a novel about slavery in the 1850s, she used many real people and events as inspiration. One of her models was Josiah Henson, whose life as a slave the novelist reshaped to create that famous fictional character, “Uncle Tom.”

Josiah Henson was a strong, intelligent man, and he was a successful slave. By demonstrating unwavering loyalty to his owners, he won their trust and advanced to the position of overseer on the plantation. He was shocked, therefore, when he found that his owner – whom he had trusted and served – was planning to sell him away from his wife and children. He took the heartbreaking decision to run.

The Hensons made it to Canada, Josiah walking the whole way with the two youngest children on their father’s back as the family struggled through a largely unsettled wilderness. In Canada, Henson proved just as successful a settler as he had been a slave. He worked, saved his money and bought land. He also returned south a number of times as a “conductor” on the Underground Railway and led others to safety. In later years, he founded the British American Institute, where refugees learned the trades they needed to prosper in Canada.

As for Harriet Beecher Stowe, everyone read her book. It won so many northern abolitionists to the cause that it was held responsible, in part, for the Civil War.

JOSIAH HENSON. NATIONAL HISTORIC PERSON OF CANADA. DESIGNATED 1995. PLAQUE: DRESDEN, ONTARIO
© 2008, Virtual Museum of Canada. All Rights Reserved.

An image of Harriet Tubman (left) with her household, ca. 1887

After the Civil War, Harriet Tubman settled in Auburn, New York, and there she filled her household with needy Blacks – the old, the young and the sick. This picture shows Harriet with her adopted daughter, Gertie Davis, and her husband, Nelson Davies, at her side. Though less famous than her Underground Railroad adventures, Tubman's post-war work to promote civil rights for Blacks and women was equally brave and determined. Her last contribution was the establishment of the Harriet Tubman Home for the Aged. That is where she died in 1913 at the age of 92.

William Cheney
Harriet Tubman Portrait Collection, Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, New York Library
c. 1877
Photograph
Digital Image ID: 569255
© 2008, New York Library. All Rights Reserved.


A group of escaped slaves lay hidden in a swamp. They were hungry and miserable, and one of the men was ready to give up. But their leader knew she couldn’t risk his talking. She stood up, put a gun to his head and said calmly: “Move or die.” He decided to keep going.

That little woman was Harriet Tubman, one-time field hand on a Maryland plantation. In 1849 – fearing that she was about to be sold into the Deep South, where a field hand’s life was short and terrible – she ran for it. The Underground Railroad brought her safely to the abolitionist haven of Philadelphia. There, she found work and launched the first of many journeys south to rescue other slaves. In her years as “conductor” on the Underground Railroad, Tubman made 13 incredibly risky expeditions and helped some 120 people to freedom. Other conductors were caught, but Tubman had an instinct for danger. Living for brief periods in Canada, she also worked there to help settle the growing flood of refugees.

With the outbreak of Civil War, Harriet Tubman went home to work as cook, nurse, scout and spy for the Union Army. After the war, she settled in Read More

A group of escaped slaves lay hidden in a swamp. They were hungry and miserable, and one of the men was ready to give up. But their leader knew she couldn’t risk his talking. She stood up, put a gun to his head and said calmly: “Move or die.” He decided to keep going.

That little woman was Harriet Tubman, one-time field hand on a Maryland plantation. In 1849 – fearing that she was about to be sold into the Deep South, where a field hand’s life was short and terrible – she ran for it. The Underground Railroad brought her safely to the abolitionist haven of Philadelphia. There, she found work and launched the first of many journeys south to rescue other slaves. In her years as “conductor” on the Underground Railroad, Tubman made 13 incredibly risky expeditions and helped some 120 people to freedom. Other conductors were caught, but Tubman had an instinct for danger. Living for brief periods in Canada, she also worked there to help settle the growing flood of refugees.

With the outbreak of Civil War, Harriet Tubman went home to work as cook, nurse, scout and spy for the Union Army. After the war, she settled in New York State, married and continued to work for the rights of Blacks (and women). Abolitionist John Brown had been an admirer, calling her “General Tubman.” It was a name she earned.

HARRIET TUBMAN. NATIONAL HISTORIC PERSON OF CANADA. DESIGNATED 2005. PLAQUE RECOMMENDED: ST. CATHARINES, ONTARIO
© 2008, Virtual Museum of Canada. All Rights Reserved.

Abolition, slavery, Salem Chapel, Salem Chapel British Methodist Episcopal Church, St. Catharines, Ontario

Salem Chapel in St. Catharines, Ontario, was one of several refugee-formed churches that organized relief for destitute Blacks when they arrived in Canada. Harriet Tubman worked at Salem Chapel when she came to Canada in the 1850s. It stood across the street from her lodgings.

Colborne Powell Meredith
Library and Archives Canada
1925
Photograph
1968.067 / PA-026797
© 2008, Library and Archives Canada. All Rights Reserved.


Nazrey Methodist Church, Amherstburg, Ontario

Nazrey Methodist Church is a simple fieldstone chapel (now part of the North American Black Historical Museum) in Amherstburg, Ontario. The town faces Detroit and the United States across the river, and it was here that many Black refugees stopped when they first arrived in Canada. Churches like this were on the front line in serving the incoming flood of penniless refugees.

Parks Canada Agency
1999
Photograph
© 2008, Parks Canada Agency. All Rights Reserved.


Sandwich First Baptist Church, in Windsor, Ontario

Churches like that at Sandwich (now a suburb in Windsor, Ontario) had so many escaped slaves in the congregation that they kept a lookout during services. If slave-catchers were spotted, the refugees slipped out through a trap door in the floor.

Parks Canada Agency

Photograph
© 2008, Parks Canada Agency. All Rights Reserved.


Jarm Logue (later Jarmian Logue) grew into one of the boldest leaders of the Abolition Movement in the 1850s, but he remembered his first days of freedom in Canada as a time of poverty, hunger, loneliness and despair. “There I stood," he wrote later, “a boy of twenty-one years of age…with the assurance that I was at the end of my journey – knowing nobody, and nobody knowing me…” He wasn’t alone in his anxiety.

Many refugees arrived in Canada with literally nothing but the clothes they stood up in. Most couldn’t read or write. Some had trades, but virtually none had experience in finding work or working for wages. For many, Canada’s Black churches gave them what they most needed – food, clothing, shelter and friendship.

Two of the most important Black churches stood on the banks of the Detroit River. Sandwich Baptist Church (built in 1851), worked with a sister congregation in Detroit to move refugees across the river to what is now the community of Windsor. The Nazrey Methodist Church in nearby Amherstburg (1848) was the first Black Methodist congregation to break its ties with its pa Read More

Jarm Logue (later Jarmian Logue) grew into one of the boldest leaders of the Abolition Movement in the 1850s, but he remembered his first days of freedom in Canada as a time of poverty, hunger, loneliness and despair. “There I stood," he wrote later, “a boy of twenty-one years of age…with the assurance that I was at the end of my journey – knowing nobody, and nobody knowing me…” He wasn’t alone in his anxiety.

Many refugees arrived in Canada with literally nothing but the clothes they stood up in. Most couldn’t read or write. Some had trades, but virtually none had experience in finding work or working for wages. For many, Canada’s Black churches gave them what they most needed – food, clothing, shelter and friendship.

Two of the most important Black churches stood on the banks of the Detroit River. Sandwich Baptist Church (built in 1851), worked with a sister congregation in Detroit to move refugees across the river to what is now the community of Windsor. The Nazrey Methodist Church in nearby Amherstburg (1848) was the first Black Methodist congregation to break its ties with its parent church in the United States. Salem Chapel (1855) was the focus of Harriet Tubman’s work in Canada.

The little log-built church at Oro – the poorest of them all – is part of a different story. Here, a group of Black Loyalists settled just south of Georgian Bay after the American Revolution. The poor little log-built Oro Church (1849) speaks of the hardships those refugees faced in trying to farm in a harsh, inhospitable land.

NAZREY METHODIST CHURCH. NATIONAL HISTORIC SITE OF CANADA. DESIGNATED 1999. PLAQUE: AMHERSTBURG, ONTARIO

ORO AFRICAN METHODIST EPISCOPAL CHURCH. NATIONAL HISTORIC SITE OF CANADA. DESIGNATED 2000. PLAQUE: EDGAR, ONTARIO

SALEM CHAPEL BRITISH METHODIST EPISCOPAL CHURCH. NATIONAL HISTORIC SITE OF CANADA. DESIGNATED 2000. PLAQUE: ST. CATHARINES, ONTARIO

SANDWICH FIRST BAPTIST CHURCH. NATIONAL HISTORIC SITE OF CANADA. DESIGNATED 2000. PLAQUE: WINDSOR, ONTARIO

© 2008, Virtual Museum of Canada. All Rights Reserved.

Learning Objectives

After reading, viewing and listening to media files in the Learning Object, students will be able to:

• explain the concept of and the terminology used to describe activities in the Underground Railroad;

• discover the heroic Blacks who sometimes had to take extreme measures, risked life, freedom and security to help other slaves escape to the North;

• reflect upon the initiative and leadership Blacks demonstrated in their efforts to create institutions and organizations to support their fellow men and women in their pursuit of freedom;

• understand the significance of the church in helping Black refugees establish themselves in Canada; and

• identify some of the earliest churches established in Canada by the Black community.


Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

La peinture recrée l'arrivée d'un groupe de réfugiés à une « gare » du chemin de fer clandestin.

Un groupe d'esclaves réfugiés est illustré arrivant à une « gare » (ou une maison sûre) du chemin de fer clandestin. Les « passagers » de ce soi-disant « chemin de fer » étaient des esclaves en fuite. Habituellement, ils se déplaçaient la nuit et souvent avec un guide (ou un « conducteur »). Les distances entre les gares étaient juste assez éloignées pour que le conducteur parte, à pied ou en wagon, et revienne en une seule nuit. À l'arrière de la peinture, l'artiste a écrit : « Cette image est peinte pour l'amour de ma chère femme Frances Augusta Webber-C.T.W. le 22 décembre 1891.» Le couple, qui vivait le long de la frontière du territoire esclavagiste, a peut-être participé au chemin de fer clandestin.

Charles T. Webber
Cincinnati Art Museum
1891
Huile sur toile
132.6 x 193.4 cm
Subscription Fund Purchase Accession #: 1927.
© 2008, Cincinnati Art Museum. Tous droits réservés.


Le révérend John Rankin était un vieil homme farouche qui vivait avec sa famille sur une pente raide dans l’État « libre » de l’Ohio. De là, il pouvait voir la rivière Ohio jusqu’au Kentucky, où l’esclavage était légal. Nuit et jour, une lumière brillait dans la maison des Rankin pour guider les fugitifs vers un lieu sécuritaire temporaire sur la route vers le nord.

Les Rankins étaient des « chefs de gare » sur le chemin de fer clandestin, formant qu’un seul lien dans une chaîne secrète de 10 000 abolitionnistes. Au cours de la première moitié du XIXe siècle, ce réseau a transporté jusqu’à 100 000 réfugiés vers la liberté. Il s’agissait d’un travail risqué. Mais dans le Nord libre, « voler » des esclaves était un crime, et certains abolitionnistes ont été attaqués par des chasseurs d’esclaves armés qui sont venus au Nord en furie à la poursuite des esclaves.

Le chem Pour en lire plus
Le révérend John Rankin était un vieil homme farouche qui vivait avec sa famille sur une pente raide dans l’État « libre » de l’Ohio. De là, il pouvait voir la rivière Ohio jusqu’au Kentucky, où l’esclavage était légal. Nuit et jour, une lumière brillait dans la maison des Rankin pour guider les fugitifs vers un lieu sécuritaire temporaire sur la route vers le nord.

Les Rankins étaient des « chefs de gare » sur le chemin de fer clandestin, formant qu’un seul lien dans une chaîne secrète de 10 000 abolitionnistes. Au cours de la première moitié du XIXe siècle, ce réseau a transporté jusqu’à 100 000 réfugiés vers la liberté. Il s’agissait d’un travail risqué. Mais dans le Nord libre, « voler » des esclaves était un crime, et certains abolitionnistes ont été attaqués par des chasseurs d’esclaves armés qui sont venus au Nord en furie à la poursuite des esclaves.

Le chemin de fer clandestin n’avait rien à voir avec les trains, même s’il empruntait le jargon des chemins de fer pour décrire le transport des fugitifs, à pied ou dans les wagons, d’une maison sûre à l’autre en route vers le nord. Beaucoup des premiers « chefs de gare » étaient des Quakers, dont la religion condamnait tout à fait l’esclavage. Dès les années 1850, par contre, le mouvement était beaucoup plus important et plus généralisé. En fait, il s’agissait de l’exemple le plus massif de désobéissance civile (qui est lorsque des citoyens refusent consciemment d’obéir à la loi) de l’histoire américaine. Même si bon nombre des activistes étaient blancs, les plus braves, ils avaient le plus à perdre, étaient les Noirs eux-mêmes, esclaves et libres.
Le chemin de fer clandestin. événement historique national du Canada. Désigné en 1925. Plaque : Windsor, Ontario.
© 2008, Musée virtuel du Canada. Tous droits réservés.

Un portrait tiré d'un rapport publié, « The Rev. Josiah Henson 'Uncle Tom' in Scotland »

Josiah Henson avait de la dignité et de la présence. Esclave, il a gagné la confiance et l'approbation de ses propriétaires. Homme libre, il a travaillé fort et a été prospère. Il était connu pour être retourné au sud à partir du Canada pour tirer d'autres réfugiés de l'esclavage, et il a investi énergie et argent dans leur établissement et leur éducation au Canada. Par contre, il a surtout été célèbre en raison de son association à un personnage fictif d'un roman célèbre. Son portrait a été imprimé dans un rapport à la suite d'une réunion à l'hôtel de ville, à Glasgow, le 20 avril 1877.

Publisher, George Gallie & Son
Arthur Conan Doyle Collection, Toronto Reference Library, Toronto Public Library
1877
Photograph (livre)
Catalogue no.: 326.92 H25.3
© 2008, Toronto Public Library. Tous droits réservés.


Lorsque Harriet Beecher Stowe s’est installée pour écrire un roman sur l’esclavage, elle a utilisé beaucoup de personnes et d’événements réels pour s’inspirer. L’un de ses modèles était Josiah Henson, dont la romancière a transformé la vie comme esclave pour créer le célèbre personnage « Oncle Tom ».

Josiah Henson était un homme fort et intelligent, et il était un bon esclave. En faisant preuve d’une loyauté inébranlable envers ses propriétaires, il a gagné leur confiance et a obtenu le poste de superviseur de la plantation. Il était abasourdi, donc, quand il a appris que son propriétaire, en qui il avait confiance et qu’il avait servi, planifiait le vendre et l’éloigner de sa femme et de ses enfants. Il a pris la décision déchirante de fuir.

Les Hensons ont réussi à venir au Canada, Josiah marchant tout le chemin avec les deux plus jeunes enfants sur le dos de leur père pendant qu’ils luttaient dans un milie Pour en lire plus
Lorsque Harriet Beecher Stowe s’est installée pour écrire un roman sur l’esclavage, elle a utilisé beaucoup de personnes et d’événements réels pour s’inspirer. L’un de ses modèles était Josiah Henson, dont la romancière a transformé la vie comme esclave pour créer le célèbre personnage « Oncle Tom ».

Josiah Henson était un homme fort et intelligent, et il était un bon esclave. En faisant preuve d’une loyauté inébranlable envers ses propriétaires, il a gagné leur confiance et a obtenu le poste de superviseur de la plantation. Il était abasourdi, donc, quand il a appris que son propriétaire, en qui il avait confiance et qu’il avait servi, planifiait le vendre et l’éloigner de sa femme et de ses enfants. Il a pris la décision déchirante de fuir.

Les Hensons ont réussi à venir au Canada, Josiah marchant tout le chemin avec les deux plus jeunes enfants sur le dos de leur père pendant qu’ils luttaient dans un milieu sauvage inhabité. Au Canada, M.Henson s’est avéré un aussi bon colon qu’il avait été esclave. Il a travaillé, économisé son argent et a acheté un terrain. Il est également retourné au sud à quelques reprises en tant que « conducteur » sur le chemin de fer clandestin et a mené d’autres personnes vers la sécurité. Au cours des années suivantes, il a fondé la British American Institute, où les réfugiés ont appris les métiers dont ils avaient besoin pour prospérer au Canada.

Pour ce qui est de Harriet Beecher Stowe, tout le monde a lu son livre. Il a gagné tant d’abolitionnistes du nord à la cause qu’il a été tenu, en partie, responsable de la guerre de Sécession.
Josiah Henson. Personne historique nationale du Canada. Désignée en 1995. Plaque : Dresden, Ontario.
© 2008, Musée virtuel du Canada. Tous droits réservés.

Une image de Harriet Tubman (à gauche) avec sa famille, vers 1887

Après la guerre de Sécession, Harriet Tubman s'est installée à Auburn, à New York, où elle a rempli sa maison de Noirs dans le besoin, les vieux, les jeunes et les malades. La photo montre Harriet avec sa fille adoptive, Gertie Davis, et son mari, Nelson Davies, à ses côtés. Même s'il est moins célèbre que les aventures du chemin de fer clandestin, son travail à la suite de la guerre pour promouvoir les droits civils pour les Noirs et les femmes était tout aussi brave et déterminé. Sa dernière contribution a été la fondation de la Harriet Tubman Home for the Aged. C'est à cet endroit qu'elle est décédée en 1913, à l'âge de 92 ans.

William Cheney
Harriet Tubman Portrait Collection, Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, New York Library
vers 1877
Photograph
Digital Image ID: 569255
© 2008, New York Library. Tous droits réservés.


Un groupe d’esclaves en fuite se cachait dans un marécage. Ils avaient faim et étaient mal en point, et l’un des hommes était prêt à tout laisser tomber. Mais, leur chef savait qu’elle ne pouvait pas risquer qu’il parle. Elle s’est levée, à mis un pistolet sur sa tête et a dit calmement : « Avance ou meurs ». Il a décidé de continuer.

Cette petite femme était Harriet Tubman, qui travaillait auparavant aux champs dans une plantation du Maryland. En 1849, craignant d’être bientôt vendue dans le Grand-Sud, où la vie d’un travailleur aux champs était courte et pénible, elle s’est enfuie. Le chemin de fer clandestin l’a amenée saine et sauve à Philadelphie. Elle y a trouvé du travail et a lancé le premier de nombreux voyages au sud pour sauver d’autres esclaves. Au cours des années où elle a été « conductrice » sur le chemin de fer clandestin, Harriet Tubman a effectué 13 expéditions incroyablement périlleuses Pour en lire plus
Un groupe d’esclaves en fuite se cachait dans un marécage. Ils avaient faim et étaient mal en point, et l’un des hommes était prêt à tout laisser tomber. Mais, leur chef savait qu’elle ne pouvait pas risquer qu’il parle. Elle s’est levée, à mis un pistolet sur sa tête et a dit calmement : « Avance ou meurs ». Il a décidé de continuer.

Cette petite femme était Harriet Tubman, qui travaillait auparavant aux champs dans une plantation du Maryland. En 1849, craignant d’être bientôt vendue dans le Grand-Sud, où la vie d’un travailleur aux champs était courte et pénible, elle s’est enfuie. Le chemin de fer clandestin l’a amenée saine et sauve à Philadelphie. Elle y a trouvé du travail et a lancé le premier de nombreux voyages au sud pour sauver d’autres esclaves. Au cours des années où elle a été « conductrice » sur le chemin de fer clandestin, Harriet Tubman a effectué 13 expéditions incroyablement périlleuses et a aidé à libérer environ 120 personnes. D’autres conducteurs ont été pris, mais Harriet Tubman avait un instinct incroyable pour le danger. En 1851, elle a déménagé au Canada, où elle a travaillé pour aider les flots croissants de réfugiés à s’établir.

Avec le déclenchement de la guerre de Sécession, Harriet Tubman est retournée chez elle en tant que cuisinière, infirmière, recruteuse et espionne pour l’armée de l’Union. Après la guerre, elle s’est établie dans l’État de New York, s’est mariée et à continuer à travailler pour les droits des Noirs (et des femmes). L’abolitionniste John Brown avait été un admirateur, l’appelant « Général Tubman ». C’est un nom qu’elle a mérité.
Harriet Tubman. Personne historique nationale du Canada. Désignée en 2005. Plaque recommandée : St. Catharines, Ontario
© 2008, Musée virtuel du Canada. Tous droits réservés.

Abolition, esclavage, chapelle Salem, Salem Chapel British Methodist Episcopal Church, St. Catharines, Ontario

La chapelle Salem à St. Catharines, en Ontario, était l'une des nombreuses églises fondées par les réfugiés qui organisaient de l'aide pour les réfugiés dans le dénuement lorsqu'ils arrivaient au Canada. Harriet Tubman a travaillé à la chapelle Salem lorsqu'elle est venue au Canada dans les années 1850. La chapelle se tenait de l'autre côté de la rue où elle habitait.

Colborne Powell Meredith
Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
1925
Photograph
1968.067 / PA-026797
© 2008, Bibliothèque et Archives Canada. Tous droits réservés.


Église méthodiste Nazrey, Amherstburg, Ontario

L'église méthodiste Nazrey est une simple chapelle en pierres des champs (elle fait maintenant partie du North American Black Historical Museum) à Amherstburg, en Ontario. La ville fait face à Détroit et aux États-Unis de l'autre côté de la rivière. C'est là que bon nombre de réfugiés Noirs se sont arrêtés lorsqu'ils sont arrivés au Canada.

L'agence Parcs Canada
1999
Photograph
© 2008, L'agence Parcs Canada. Tous droits réservés.


La First Baptist Church de Sandwich, à Windsor, en Ontario

Les églises comme celle à Sandwich (maintenant une banlieue de Windsor, en Ontario) comptaient tant d'esclaves en fuite dans la congrégation qu'on maintenait un guetteur pendant les messes. Si des chasseurs d'esclaves étaient repérés, les réfugiés s'enfuyaient par une trappe dans le plancher.

L'agence Parcs Canada

Photograph
© 2008, L'agence Parcs Canada. Tous droits réservés.


Jarm Logue est devenu l’un des meneurs les plus audacieux du mouvement abolitionniste dans les années 1850, mais il se rappelle ses premiers jours de liberté au Canada dans les années 1830 comme un temps de solitude et de désespoir. « J’étais là », a-t-il écrit plus tard, « un garçon de 21 ans... avec la certitude que j’étais à la fin de mon voyage, ne connaissant personne et personne ne me connaissant... » Il n’était pas seul dans son angoisse.

Beaucoup de réfugiés sont arrivés au Canada avec presque rien. La plupart d’entre eux ne pouvaient ni lire ni écrire. Certains avaient des métiers, mais presque aucun n’avait d’expérience de la façon de chercher un emploi ou de travailler pour un salaire. Pour plusieurs, les églises des Noirs du Canada leur ont fourni ce dont ils avaient le plus besoin, de la nourriture, des vêtements, un refuge et des amis.

Deux des églises de Noirs les plus importantes se trouvaient sur les rives de la rivière D&eacut Pour en lire plus
Jarm Logue est devenu l’un des meneurs les plus audacieux du mouvement abolitionniste dans les années 1850, mais il se rappelle ses premiers jours de liberté au Canada dans les années 1830 comme un temps de solitude et de désespoir. « J’étais là », a-t-il écrit plus tard, « un garçon de 21 ans... avec la certitude que j’étais à la fin de mon voyage, ne connaissant personne et personne ne me connaissant... » Il n’était pas seul dans son angoisse.

Beaucoup de réfugiés sont arrivés au Canada avec presque rien. La plupart d’entre eux ne pouvaient ni lire ni écrire. Certains avaient des métiers, mais presque aucun n’avait d’expérience de la façon de chercher un emploi ou de travailler pour un salaire. Pour plusieurs, les églises des Noirs du Canada leur ont fourni ce dont ils avaient le plus besoin, de la nourriture, des vêtements, un refuge et des amis.

Deux des églises de Noirs les plus importantes se trouvaient sur les rives de la rivière Détroit. Les membres de la chapelle Sandwich (construite en 1851) collaboraient avec les membres d’une congrégation sœur à Détroit pour amener les réfugiés de l’autre côté de la rivière. La chapelle Nazrey dans la ville voisine de Amherstburg (1848) a été la première congrégation de Noirs méthodistes à briser les liens avec son église parente aux États-Unis. La chapelle Salem (1855) a été la cible du travail de Harriet Tubman au Canada.

La petite église en rondins à Oro, la plus pauvre de toutes, fait partie d’une histoire différente. Là, un groupe de Loyalistes noirs se sont établis juste au sud de la baie Géorgienne à la suite de la guerre de Sécession. La pauvre petite église Oro en rondins (1849) est le vestige des difficultés qu’ont rencontrées ces réfugiés en tentant de cultiver cette terre ingrate et inhospitalière.
ÉGLISE METHODIST NAZREY. LIEU HISTORIQUE NATIONAL DU CANADA. DÉSIGNATION EN 1999. PLAQUE : AMHERSTBURG, ONTARIO.

ÉGLISE AFRICAN METHODIST EPISCOPAL-D'ORO. DÉSIGNATION EN 2000. PLAQUE : EDGAR, ONTARIO.

CHAPELLE SALEM DE LA BRITISH METHODIST EPISCOPAL CHURCH. LIEU HISTORIQUE NATIONAL DU CANADA. DÉSIGNATION EN 2000. PLAQUE : ST. CATHARINES, ONTARIO.

ÉGLISE DE LA FIRST BAPTIST CHURCH DE SANDWICH. LIEU HISTORIQUE NATIONAL DU CANADA. DÉSIGNATION EN 2000. PLAQUE : WINDSOR, ONTARIO.

© 2008, Musée virtuel du Canada. Tous droits réservés.

Objectifs d'apprentissage

Après avoir lu, regardé et écouté les fichiers multimédias de l’Objectif d’apprentissage 5, les élèves seront capables :

• d’expliquer le concept et la terminologie utilisés pour décrire les activités du chemin de fer clandestin;

• de découvrir les héros Noirs qui ont parfois dû prendre des mesures extrêmes, risquer leur vie, leur liberté et leur sécurité pour aider d’autres esclaves à s’échapper au Nord;

• de réfléchir à l’initiative et au leadership dont ont fait preuve les Noirs dans leur tentative de créer des institutions et des organisations pour soutenir leurs semblables dans leur quête de liberté;

• de comprendre l’importance de l’église pour aider les réfugiés Noirs à s’établir au Canada;

• de reconnaître certaines des premières églises fondées au Canada par la communauté noire.

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons