Anomalocaris canadensis, whose name means “unlike the other shrimp, from Canada,” at first seems to have little in common with shrimp we are familiar with today. First described in 1892, this 505 million year old animal from British Columbia’s Burgess Shale has a complex history of description because parts of its body were described in isolation before it was realized they all belonged to the same animal. Trying to reassemble Anomalocaris fossils was like trying to put together a jigsaw puzzle where no one has seen the picture on the box for 505 million years.
Anomalocaris canadensis, whose name means “unlike the other shrimp, from Canada,” at first seems to have little in common with shrimp we are familiar with today. First described in 1892, this 505 million year old animal from British Columbia’s Burgess Shale has a complex history of description because parts of its body were described in isolation before it was realized they all belonged to the same animal. Trying to reassemble Anomalocaris fossils was like trying to put together a jigsaw puzzle where no one has seen the picture on the box for 505 million years.

© 2011, Royal Ontario Museum. All Rights Reserved.

A complete fossil of Anomalocaris canadensis

Anomalocaris canadensis (ROM 51211).The most complete specimen ever found was collected in 1991 by the Royal Ontario Museum. You can see from right to left, the pair of eyes, claws, lateral lobes along the body and the posterior fan. Specimen length = 222 mm. (Raymond Quarry).

Photo: Jean-Bernard Caron

© 2011, Royal Ontario Museum. All Rights Reserved.


The frontal appendage of Anomalocaris was initially described as the body of a shrimp. The mouth parts (or oral ring) were described as a jellyfish (Peytoia nathorsti). And a decomposed full body anomalocaridid specimen was originally described as a sea cucumber (it is now known as Laggania cambria). Upon re-examination of this particular specimen, it was then incorrectly decided that it was actually a superimposition of a jellyfish on top of a sponge.
The frontal appendage of Anomalocaris was initially described as the body of a shrimp. The mouth parts (or oral ring) were described as a jellyfish (Peytoia nathorsti). And a decomposed full body anomalocaridid specimen was originally described as a sea cucumber (it is now known as Laggania cambria). Upon re-examination of this particular specimen, it was then incorrectly decided that it was actually a superimposition of a jellyfish on top of a sponge.

© 2011, Royal Ontario Museum. All Rights Reserved.

A fossil appendage of Anomalocaris canadensis

Anomalocaris canadensis (GSC 3418) – Holotype. Individual claw. Specimen length = 76 mm. Mount Stephen Trilobite Beds (McConnell collection).

Photo: Jean-Bernard Caron

© 2011, Geological Survey of Canada. All Rights Reserved.


Mouth parts of Anomalocaris canadensis

Anomalocaris canadensis (USNM 57538) – Part and counterpart. Mouth parts originally described by Walcott as the holotype of Peytonia nathorsti, but this species is now invalid. Specimen diameter = 64 mm. Walcott Quarry.

Photo: Jean-Bernard Caron

© 2011, Smithsonian Institution - National Museum of Natural History. All Rights Reserved.


Incomplete specimen of Laggania cambria

Laggania cambria (USNM 57555) – Holotype – Part and counterpart (top and bottom). Ventral view of an incomplete individual showing the mouth parts and eyes. Specimen length = 100 mm. Walcott Quarry.

Photo: Jean-Bernard Caron

© 2011, Smithsonian Institution – National Museum of Natural History. All Rights Reserved.


In the early 1980s, palaeontologist Harry Whittington was preparing a Burgess Shale fossil when he solved the mystery of Anomalocaris’s identity. Much to his surprise, Whittington uncovered two Anomalocaris “shrimps” attached to the head region of a large body, which also had the jellyfish Peytoia as its mouth apparatus. Collecting at the Burgess Shale by the Royal Ontario Museum in the early 1990s led to the discovery of several complete specimens, which allowed for the reconstruction of Anomalocaris canadensis with greater accuracy. Anomalocaris is now classified as a kind of primitive arthropod, a group that contains modern insects, arachnids, and crustaceans.

Why are only fragments of Anomalocaris canadensis fossils so often found? It is possible that as Anomalocaris decayed, body parts fell off and may have been fossilized in different locations. Mouth parts and claws were made of chitin (the same material composing the exoskeletons of insects) which Read More
In the early 1980s, palaeontologist Harry Whittington was preparing a Burgess Shale fossil when he solved the mystery of Anomalocaris’s identity. Much to his surprise, Whittington uncovered two Anomalocaris “shrimps” attached to the head region of a large body, which also had the jellyfish Peytoia as its mouth apparatus. Collecting at the Burgess Shale by the Royal Ontario Museum in the early 1990s led to the discovery of several complete specimens, which allowed for the reconstruction of Anomalocaris canadensis with greater accuracy. Anomalocaris is now classified as a kind of primitive arthropod, a group that contains modern insects, arachnids, and crustaceans.

Why are only fragments of Anomalocaris canadensis fossils so often found? It is possible that as Anomalocaris decayed, body parts fell off and may have been fossilized in different locations. Mouth parts and claws were made of chitin (the same material composing the exoskeletons of insects) which made them more susceptible for preservation. It is equally (or perhaps even more) likely that individual body components were separated during regular moulting, and only the more resilient exoskeletal elements of the feeding apparatus (claws and oral ring) were preferentially preserved. Less resilient parts were probably rapidly degraded. The claws and complete oral ring would also behave differently in currents, and end up being deposited in different places. Claws, consisting of a single more-or-less continuous sheath, would survive much more commonly than complete oral rings, which would separate fairly quickly into smaller elements.

© 2011, Royal Ontario Museum. All Rights Reserved.

Anomalocaris specimen which show a pair of claws and part of the mouth

Anomalocaris canadensis(GSC 75555) – Part and counterpart. The specimen prepared by Harry Whittington that unlocked the mystery. It shows a pair of claws and part of the mouth (left). Specimen length = 127 mm. Raymond Quarry. (GSC 1966-1967 collection).

Photo: Jean-Bernard Caron

© 2011, Geological Survey of Canada. All Rights Reserved.


We now know that Anomalocaris was a carnivore reaching a maximum length of 100 cm. Anomalocaris’s streamlined body would have been ideal for swimming. Undulatory movements of the side flaps propelled the animal through the water column. While swimming, Anomalocaris’s frontal appendages would hang below the body, but it would thrust its head and appendages forward 180° to attack prey as needed.

Dietary habits are usually inferred from preserved gut contents (directly showing what the animals ate) and from specialized body structures, such as those used in feeding. Anomalocaris had large eyes, grasping limbs with sharp pointed spines, mouthparts with numerous blade-like teeth, and lateral lobes used for swimming (see above animation). Together with its large size, these features strongly suggest Anomalocaris was a predator. But what kind of prey did this animal feed upon? There is no evidence of gut contents in the few known complete bodies of Anomalocaris, indicating that perhaps it only fed on soft-bodied prey. “Soft” prey is Read More
We now know that Anomalocaris was a carnivore reaching a maximum length of 100 cm. Anomalocaris’s streamlined body would have been ideal for swimming. Undulatory movements of the side flaps propelled the animal through the water column. While swimming, Anomalocaris’s frontal appendages would hang below the body, but it would thrust its head and appendages forward 180° to attack prey as needed.

Dietary habits are usually inferred from preserved gut contents (directly showing what the animals ate) and from specialized body structures, such as those used in feeding. Anomalocaris had large eyes, grasping limbs with sharp pointed spines, mouthparts with numerous blade-like teeth, and lateral lobes used for swimming (see above animation). Together with its large size, these features strongly suggest Anomalocaris was a predator. But what kind of prey did this animal feed upon? There is no evidence of gut contents in the few known complete bodies of Anomalocaris, indicating that perhaps it only fed on soft-bodied prey. “Soft” prey is less likely to be preserved in the gut than the remains of “shelly” animals with hard mineralized exoskeletons. Shelly remains have been found within the gut of other predatory animals known from the Burgess Shale, such as the priapulid worm Ottoia prolifica, and the arthropod Sidneyia inexpectans.

© 2011, Royal Ontario Museum. All Rights Reserved.

A digital animation of an Anomalocaris canadensis swimming through an assemblage of sponges.

A digital animation of an Anomalocaris canadensis swimming through an assemblage of sponges. This giant predator belongs to a primitive group of arthropod and probably swam with formidable speed using the numerous lobes along its body. The non-mineralized bodies of many Burgess Shale animals were no protection against the powerful, spine-edged claws.

 

© 2011, Phlesch Bubble. All Rights Reserved.


The Burgess Shale records what life was like during the “Cambrian Explosion”. The Cambrian Explosion refers to the sudden appearance in the fossil record of complex animals starting about 540 million years ago. It may represent the most important evolutionary event in the history of life on Earth. The “explosion” is particularly remarkable because all major animal phyla (representing different body plans) appeared during this time, changing the biosphere forever.

Despite being separated by 505 million years, the structure of the food web from the Burgess Shale ecosystem is surprisingly similar to what we see in modern marine communities, although the individual species involved are clearly quite different. This suggests that basic feeding relationships were quickly established during the Cambrian Explosion and have remained relatively unchanged to the present.

Various feeding strategies are known in the Burgess Shale, including herbivory, detritus feeding (consuming decaying organic matter), suspension feeding (straining food particles suspended Read More
The Burgess Shale records what life was like during the “Cambrian Explosion”. The Cambrian Explosion refers to the sudden appearance in the fossil record of complex animals starting about 540 million years ago. It may represent the most important evolutionary event in the history of life on Earth. The “explosion” is particularly remarkable because all major animal phyla (representing different body plans) appeared during this time, changing the biosphere forever.

Despite being separated by 505 million years, the structure of the food web from the Burgess Shale ecosystem is surprisingly similar to what we see in modern marine communities, although the individual species involved are clearly quite different. This suggests that basic feeding relationships were quickly established during the Cambrian Explosion and have remained relatively unchanged to the present.

Various feeding strategies are known in the Burgess Shale, including herbivory, detritus feeding (consuming decaying organic matter), suspension feeding (straining food particles suspended in water), and predation and scavenging. The accurate reconstruction of Anomalocaris canadensis led to the recognition that other large predators akin to Anomalocaris existed during that time (Laggania cambria first described as a sea cucumber and Hurdia victoria). The evolution of predation is regarded as one of the most significant feeding strategies to appear during the Cambrian Explosion. Today, predators play an important role in structuring animal communities by controlling prey populations. Although Anomalocaris was relatively rare in the Burgess Shale, its position in the food chain as a top predator made it an important part of the ecosystem.

© 2011, Royal Ontario Museum. All Rights Reserved.

A graphic illustrating the food web in the Burgess Shale community

Reconstruction of the Burgess Shale food web. Spheres represent taxa. The taxa at the bottom of this network are primary producers and the taxa at the top are predators. (modified from Dunne et al.).

Graphic: Jacquie Jeanes

© 2011, Royal Ontario Museum. All Rights Reserved.


A specimen of the trilobite Olenoides exhibiting a healed bite mark

Olenoides serratus (ROM 54365). Nearly complete individual; presumed carcass with healed injury on left thorax. Specimen length = 65 mm. Specimen dry – direct light (left) and coated with ammonium chloride sublimate to show details (right). Trilobite Beds on Mount Stephen.

Photos: Jean-Bernard Caron

© 2011, Royal Ontario Museum. All Rights Reserved.


Predation was likely an important driving force for the diversification seen in the Cambrian Explosion, as animals evolved new strategies to eat and avoid being eaten. The development of swimming as a means of escape or the emergence of hardened exoskeletons and defensive features is also thought to have been a response to increased pressure from predators like Anomalocaris canadensis. Trilobites like Olenoides had hard mineralized exoskeletons. Some Olenoides fossils show unmistakable evidence of healed injuries, suggesting they may have been preyed upon, likely in their “soft-shell” growth phase, by larger arthropods such as Anomalocaris. The development of rows of spines on the back of Hallucigenia and the body armour of small, overlapping scales and blades on Wiwaxia are both examples Read More
Predation was likely an important driving force for the diversification seen in the Cambrian Explosion, as animals evolved new strategies to eat and avoid being eaten. The development of swimming as a means of escape or the emergence of hardened exoskeletons and defensive features is also thought to have been a response to increased pressure from predators like Anomalocaris canadensis. Trilobites like Olenoides had hard mineralized exoskeletons. Some Olenoides fossils show unmistakable evidence of healed injuries, suggesting they may have been preyed upon, likely in their “soft-shell” growth phase, by larger arthropods such as Anomalocaris. The development of rows of spines on the back of Hallucigenia and the body armour of small, overlapping scales and blades on Wiwaxia are both examples of potential defensive mechanisms against predators.

© 2011, Royal Ontario Museum. All Rights Reserved.

Two methods of defence as illustrated by the spiny Hallucigenia and the armoured Wiwaxia

The lobopod animal Hallucigenia (left, size = 2 cm) and the armoured slug-like animal Wiwaxia (right, size = 3 cm). Hallucigenia possesses rows of spines on the back of its body while Wiwaxia developed a body armour of small, overlapping scales and blades. Both traits may have evolved as a defensive mechanism against predators.

Photos: Jean-Bernard Caron

© 2011, Royal Ontario Museum. All Rights Reserved.


When attempting to reconstruct the 505 million year old Burgess Shale ecosystem, researchers must consider how the Burgess Shale fossils formed. Reconstructing the original anatomy of fossilized organisms is often based on fragmentary or incomplete material and often requires assumptions. Failing to understand the connection between the original organism and how it became a fossil may lead to a misinterpretation of some anatomical characters, or the improper classification of a fossil. Over the past one hundred years, our view of Anomalocaris has gone from it being a strange shrimp, to the largest known Cambrian predator. Changes in our interpretation of Anomalocaris canadensis fossils have radically altered both our view of this animal and its role in its environment.

Select an animal, extinct or extant (still living today), and imagine its remains were scattered during the process of fossilization.

1. Describe how isolated body parts might be interpreted by palaeontologists (i.e. in Anomalocaris canadensis the isolated mouth was considered to be a jellyfish).
2. If some body parts were mi Read More

When attempting to reconstruct the 505 million year old Burgess Shale ecosystem, researchers must consider how the Burgess Shale fossils formed. Reconstructing the original anatomy of fossilized organisms is often based on fragmentary or incomplete material and often requires assumptions. Failing to understand the connection between the original organism and how it became a fossil may lead to a misinterpretation of some anatomical characters, or the improper classification of a fossil. Over the past one hundred years, our view of Anomalocaris has gone from it being a strange shrimp, to the largest known Cambrian predator. Changes in our interpretation of Anomalocaris canadensis fossils have radically altered both our view of this animal and its role in its environment.

Select an animal, extinct or extant (still living today), and imagine its remains were scattered during the process of fossilization.

1. Describe how isolated body parts might be interpreted by palaeontologists (i.e. in Anomalocaris canadensis the isolated mouth was considered to be a jellyfish).
2. If some body parts were missing, how might the ecology of this animal be reconstructed differently (i.e. if we did not have Anomalocaris’s grasping claws we might not know that it was a predator)?

Let’s consider the ramifications of mistakes made when interpreting the fossil record. Consider the animal you selected above.

3. What ecosystem does your animal belong to?
4. What is the niche (ecological role) of your animal?
5. If you were to remove your animal from its ecosystem, how would the ecosystem function differently (i.e. if we remove Anomalocaris canadensis from the fossil record we lose the largest predator in the ecosystem)?


© 2011, Royal Ontario Museum. All Rights Reserved.

Learning Objectives

Learn about our current interpretations of the largest known predator from the Burgess Shale - Anomalocaris canadensis.

Explore the challenges faced in interpreting the fossil record of the Burgess Shale.

Discover the importance of predators like Anomalocaris canadensis in driving the diversification seen in the Burgess Shale community.


Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

Anomalocaris canadensis, qui signifie « étrange crevette du Canada », ressemble à priori peu à la crevette que nous connaissons aujourd’hui. Décrit pour la première fois en 1892, cet animal découvert dans les schistes de Burgess en Colombie-Britannique date de 505 millions d’années. Sa description est une histoire complexe. Les différentes parties de son corps ont d’abord été décrites séparément avant que l’on se rende compte qu’elles provenaient d’un même animal. Reconstituer les fossiles d’Anomalocaris équivalait à assembler les pièces d’un puzzle sans voir l’image disparue depuis 505 millions d’années.
Anomalocaris canadensis, qui signifie « étrange crevette du Canada », ressemble à priori peu à la crevette que nous connaissons aujourd’hui. Décrit pour la première fois en 1892, cet animal découvert dans les schistes de Burgess en Colombie-Britannique date de 505 millions d’années. Sa description est une histoire complexe. Les différentes parties de son corps ont d’abord été décrites séparément avant que l’on se rende compte qu’elles provenaient d’un même animal. Reconstituer les fossiles d’Anomalocaris équivalait à assembler les pièces d’un puzzle sans voir l’image disparue depuis 505 millions d’années.

© 2011, Musée royal de l'Ontario. Tous droits réservés.

Spécimen complet d'Anomalocaris canadensis

Anomalocaris canadensis (ROM 51211). Le spécimen le plus complet que l'on ait découvert a été collecté en 1991 par le Musée royal de l’Ontario. Vous pouvez voir (de droite à gauche) la paire d’yeux, les pinces, les lobes latéraux et la queue en forme d’éventail. Longueur du spécimen = 222 mm. Carrière Raymond.

Photo : Jean-Bernard Caron

© 2011, Musée royal de l’Ontario. Tous droits réservés.


L’appendice frontal d’Anomalocaris a d’abord été présenté comme le corps d’une crevette. Les parties buccales (ou disque buccal) ont été considérées comme une méduse (Peytoia nathorsti). Un spécimen complet d’anomalocaride décomposé a d’abord été assimilé à un concombre de mer (Laggania cambria). On a ensuite cru, à la suite d’un réexamen, qu’il s’agissait d’une superposition de « la méduse » sur une éponge.
L’appendice frontal d’Anomalocaris a d’abord été présenté comme le corps d’une crevette. Les parties buccales (ou disque buccal) ont été considérées comme une méduse (Peytoia nathorsti). Un spécimen complet d’anomalocaride décomposé a d’abord été assimilé à un concombre de mer (Laggania cambria). On a ensuite cru, à la suite d’un réexamen, qu’il s’agissait d’une superposition de « la méduse » sur une éponge.

© 2011, Musée royal de l’Ontario. Tous droits réservés.

Pince isolee d'Anomalocaris canadensis

Anomalocaris canadensis (GSC 3418) – Holotype. Pince isolée. Longueur du spécimen = 76 cm. Couches à trilobites du mont Stephen (collection McConnell)

Photo : Jean-Bernard Caron

© 2011, Commission géologique du Canada. Tous droits réservés.


Pièces buccales d'Anomalocaris canadensis

Anomalocaris canadensis (USNM 57538) – Empreinte et contre-empreinte. Pièces buccales décrites initialement par Walcott comme l’holotype de Peytonia nathorsti, espèce aujourd’hui réfutée. Diamètre du spécimen = 64 mm. Carrière Walcott.

Photo : Jean-Bernard Caron

© Smithsonian Institution - Musée national d'histoire naturel. Tous droits réservés.


Spécimen incomplet de Laggania cambria

Laggania cambria (USNM 57555) – Holotype – Empreinte et contre-empreinte (rangées du haut et du bas). Spécimen incomplet présentant les pièces buccales en couronne et les yeux de l'animal, vue ventrale. Longueur du spécimen = 100 mm. Carrière Walcott.

Photo : Jean-Bernard Caron

© 2011, Smithsonian Institution – Musée national d'histoire naturelle. Tous droits réservés.


Au début des années 1980, le paléontologue Harry Whittington a résolu le mystère de l’identité d’Anomalocaris en préparant un fossile non identifié des schistes de Burgess. À sa grande surprise, il a découvert deux « crevettes » Anomalocaris attachées à la région céphalique d’un grand corps, qui comportait aussi l’appareil buccal de la « méduse » Peytoia. Au début des années 1990, les fouilles des schistes de Burgess effectuées par le Musée royal de l’Ontario ont mené à la découverte de plusieurs spécimens complets qui ont permis de reconstituer Anomalocaris canadensis avec plus de fidélité. Anomalocaris est maintenant classé comme un type d’arthropode primitif, groupe composé d’insectes, d’arachnides et de crustacés modernes.

Pourquoi ne découvre-t-on si souvent que des fragments isolés de fossiles d’Anomalocaris canadensis ? Il se peut que des parties du corps se soient détachées durant la décom Pour en lire plus
Au début des années 1980, le paléontologue Harry Whittington a résolu le mystère de l’identité d’Anomalocaris en préparant un fossile non identifié des schistes de Burgess. À sa grande surprise, il a découvert deux « crevettes » Anomalocaris attachées à la région céphalique d’un grand corps, qui comportait aussi l’appareil buccal de la « méduse » Peytoia. Au début des années 1990, les fouilles des schistes de Burgess effectuées par le Musée royal de l’Ontario ont mené à la découverte de plusieurs spécimens complets qui ont permis de reconstituer Anomalocaris canadensis avec plus de fidélité. Anomalocaris est maintenant classé comme un type d’arthropode primitif, groupe composé d’insectes, d’arachnides et de crustacés modernes.

Pourquoi ne découvre-t-on si souvent que des fragments isolés de fossiles d’Anomalocaris canadensis ? Il se peut que des parties du corps se soient détachées durant la décomposition et se soient fossilisées à différents endroits. Les pièces buccales et les pinces, constituées de chitine (comme l’exosquelette des insectes), avaient plus de chances d’être préservées. Il est également probable (voire peut-être plus probable) que des éléments se soient séparés du corps durant la mue périodique et que seules les parties les plus dures de l’exosquelette de l’appareil buccal (pinces préhensiles et disque buccal) aient été conservées. Les parties moins dures se sont probablement décomposées rapidement. En outre, les pinces et le disque buccal complet n’auraient pas subi les effets du courant de la même manière et auraient été déposés dans des lieux différents. Les pinces, constituées d’une gaine unique plus ou moins uniforme, auraient beaucoup mieux survécu que les disques buccaux complets, qui se seraient fragmentés assez vite.

© 2011, Musée royal de l'Ontario. Tous droits réservés.

Spécimen d'Anomalocaris qui montre une paire de pinces et une partie de la bouche

Anomalocaris canadensis(GSC 75555) – Empreinte et contre-empreinte. Spécimen préparé par Harry Whittington qui as permis de devoiler le mystère. Ce specimen montre une paire de pinces et une partie de la bouche (image de gauche). Longueur du spécimen = 127 mm. Carrière Raymond (collection de la CGC, 1966-1967).

Photo: Jean-Bernard Caron

© 2011, Commission géologique du Canada. Tous droits réservés.


Nous savons qu’Anomalocaris était un carnivore qui pouvait atteindre une longueur de 100 cm. Son corps profilé se prêtait parfaitement à la nage. Les mouvements ondulatoires des palettes natatoires latéraux propulsaient l’animal dans la colonne d’eau. Tout en nageant, ses appendices frontaux pendaient sous son corps, mais au moment d’attaquer une proie, il projetait sa tête et ses appendices vers l’avant, à un angle de 180 °.

On déduit en général les habitudes alimentaires d’un animal du contenu de son tube digestif (ce que l’animal a mangé) et de ses structures anatomiques spécialisées comme celles servant à l’alimentation. Animalocaris, par exemple, possédait de gros yeux, des appendices préhenseurs hérissés d’épines, des pièces buccales munies de nombreuses dents très tranchantes et des palettes natatoires latérales (voir l’animation ci-dessus). Ces caractéristiques, en plus de sa grande taille, évoquent un prédateur. Mais qui étaient ses proies ? Il n’y a aucune trace de contenu intestinal dans les quelques spécimens complets qui ont été découverts, ce qui indique qu’ils s Pour en lire plus
Nous savons qu’Anomalocaris était un carnivore qui pouvait atteindre une longueur de 100 cm. Son corps profilé se prêtait parfaitement à la nage. Les mouvements ondulatoires des palettes natatoires latéraux propulsaient l’animal dans la colonne d’eau. Tout en nageant, ses appendices frontaux pendaient sous son corps, mais au moment d’attaquer une proie, il projetait sa tête et ses appendices vers l’avant, à un angle de 180 °.

On déduit en général les habitudes alimentaires d’un animal du contenu de son tube digestif (ce que l’animal a mangé) et de ses structures anatomiques spécialisées comme celles servant à l’alimentation. Animalocaris, par exemple, possédait de gros yeux, des appendices préhenseurs hérissés d’épines, des pièces buccales munies de nombreuses dents très tranchantes et des palettes natatoires latérales (voir l’animation ci-dessus). Ces caractéristiques, en plus de sa grande taille, évoquent un prédateur. Mais qui étaient ses proies ? Il n’y a aucune trace de contenu intestinal dans les quelques spécimens complets qui ont été découverts, ce qui indique qu’ils se nourrissaient peut-être exclusivement de proies à corps mou, moins susceptibles de se préserver dans le tube digestif que les restes des animaux à « petite coquille » dont l’exosquelette minéralisé est dur. Des restes d’animaux à coquille ont été retrouvés dans le tube digestif d’autres prédateurs découverts dans les schistes de Burgess, tels que le ver priapulien Ottoia prolifica et l’arthropode Sidneyia inexpectans.

© 2011, Musée royal de l’Ontario. Tous droits réservés.

Une animation numérique d'Anomalocaris canadensis nage à travers un assemblage d'éponges.

Animation numérique d'Anomalocaris canadensis nageant au milieu d'un assemblage d'éponges. Ce prédateur géant, qui appartient à un groupe d’arthropodes primitifs, était probablement un nageur très efficace grâce à des palettes natatoires le long de son corps. Les animaux à corps mou des schistes de Burgess n’étaient pas capables de résister à la puissance de ses appendices frontaux munis d’épines pointues.

 

© 2011, Phlesch Bubble. Tous droits réservés.


Les schistes de Burgess montrent la nature de la vie durant l’« explosion cambrienne ». L’expression « explosion cambrienne » renvoie à l’apparition soudaine d’animaux complexes dans les archives fossiles, il y a 540 millions d’années. C’est peut-être l’événement évolutif le plus important de l’histoire de la vie sur la Terre. C’est à ce moment-là que sont apparus tous les grands embranchements (représentant différents plans d’organisation). La biosphère s’en est trouvée changée à tout jamais.

La structure du réseau alimentaire de l’écosystème des schistes de Burgess, il y a 505 millions d’années, ressemble étonnamment à celle qu’on observe dans les communautés marines modernes, même si les espèces de l’époque étaient manifestement différentes. Cela semble indiquer que les interactions trophiques de base se sont établies rapidement lors de l’explosion cambrienne et qu’elles n’ont guère changé depuis.

Divers modes d’alimentation son Pour en lire plus
Les schistes de Burgess montrent la nature de la vie durant l’« explosion cambrienne ». L’expression « explosion cambrienne » renvoie à l’apparition soudaine d’animaux complexes dans les archives fossiles, il y a 540 millions d’années. C’est peut-être l’événement évolutif le plus important de l’histoire de la vie sur la Terre. C’est à ce moment-là que sont apparus tous les grands embranchements (représentant différents plans d’organisation). La biosphère s’en est trouvée changée à tout jamais.

La structure du réseau alimentaire de l’écosystème des schistes de Burgess, il y a 505 millions d’années, ressemble étonnamment à celle qu’on observe dans les communautés marines modernes, même si les espèces de l’époque étaient manifestement différentes. Cela semble indiquer que les interactions trophiques de base se sont établies rapidement lors de l’explosion cambrienne et qu’elles n’ont guère changé depuis.

Divers modes d’alimentation sont connus au sein de la faune de Burgess : herbivore, prédateur détritivore (y compris les charognards), suspensivore (l’absorption de particules en suspension dans l’eau) et prédation. Grâce à la reconstitution précise d’Anomalocaris canadensis, on a pu constater que d’autres grands prédateurs semblables avaient existé durant cette période (Laggania cambria, d’abord classé comme un concombre de mer et Hurdia victoria). L’évolution de la prédation est considérée comme l’une des plus importantes stratégies d’alimentation de l’explosion cambrienne. Aujourd’hui, les prédateurs jouent un rôle essentiel dans la structuration des communautés modernes en régulant les populations de leurs proies. Bien qu’Anomalocaris soit relativement rare dans l’écosystème des schistes de Burgess, il y occupait une place importante en tant que prédateur de niveau supérieur dans la chaîne alimentaire.

© 2011, Musée royal de l’Ontario. Tous droits réservés.

Graphique illustrant le réseau alimentaire de l’écosystème des schistes de Burgess

Reconstitution du réseau alimentaire de l’écosystème des schistes de Burgess. Les petits cercles représentent les taxons. Les taxons du bas sont les producteurs primaires et ceux du haut, les prédateurs (d’après Dunn et al.).

Graphique : Jacquie Jeanes

© 2011, Musée royal de l’Ontario. Tous droits réservés.


Spécimen du trilobite Olenoides présentant des traces de morsure ayant guéri

Olenoides serratus (ROM 54365). Spécimen presque complet; présumée carcasse montrant des cicatrices sur le côté gauche du thorax. Longueur du spécimen = 65 mm. Spécimen sec, lumière directe (image de gauche) et enduit d’un sublimé de chlorure d’ammonium amplifiant les détails (image de droite). Couches à trilobites du mont Stephen.

Photos : Jean-Bernard Caron

© 2011, Musée royal de l’Ontario. Tous droits réservés.


La prédation a vraisemblablement été l’un des moteurs importants de la diversification observée lors de l’explosion cambrienne, car les animaux ont dû adopter de nouvelles stratégies pour se nourrir et ne pas être mangés. L’émergence de la natation comme moyen de fuite et l’apparition d’exosquelettes rigides et d’indices de défense pourraient résulter de la pression croissante exercée par des prédateurs comme Anomalocaris canadensis. Les trilobites tels qu’Olenoides étaient dotés d’exosquelettes minéralisés. Certains Olenoides présentent d’ailleurs des marques de blessures, ce qui montre qu’ils étaient pourchassés, probablement lorsque leur coquille était molle, par des arthropodes de grande taille comme Anomalocaris. Les rangées de piquants apparues sur le dos d’Hallucigenia et la cuirasse de lames et d’écailles chez Pour en lire plus
La prédation a vraisemblablement été l’un des moteurs importants de la diversification observée lors de l’explosion cambrienne, car les animaux ont dû adopter de nouvelles stratégies pour se nourrir et ne pas être mangés. L’émergence de la natation comme moyen de fuite et l’apparition d’exosquelettes rigides et d’indices de défense pourraient résulter de la pression croissante exercée par des prédateurs comme Anomalocaris canadensis. Les trilobites tels qu’Olenoides étaient dotés d’exosquelettes minéralisés. Certains Olenoides présentent d’ailleurs des marques de blessures, ce qui montre qu’ils étaient pourchassés, probablement lorsque leur coquille était molle, par des arthropodes de grande taille comme Anomalocaris. Les rangées de piquants apparues sur le dos d’Hallucigenia et la cuirasse de lames et d’écailles chez Wiwaxia sont de puissants mécanismes de défense contre les prédateurs.

© 2011, Musée royal de l’Ontario. Tous droits réservés.

Deux méthodes de défense comme l'illustrent Hallucigenia (épines) et Wiwaxia (cuirasse)

Hallucigenia animal lobopode (à gauche, dimension = 2 cm), et Wiwaxia animal semblable à une limace cuirassée (à droite, dimension = 3 cm). Hallucigenia présente plusieurs rangées de piquants sur sa face dorsale, tandis que Wiwaxia s’est cuirassé de lames et d’écailles. Ces deux caractères sont peut-être apparus en tant que mécanismes de défense contre des prédateurs.

Photos : Jean-Bernard Caron

© 2011, Musée royal de l’Ontario. Tous droits réservés.


Les chercheurs qui s’efforcent de reconstituer l’écosystème des schistes de Burgess, il y a 505 millions d’années, doivent examiner la formation des fossiles des schistes de Burgess. La reconstitution de l’anatomie des organismes fossilisés, qui dépend souvent de spécimens fragmentés et incomplets, repose souvent sur des hypothèses. La méconnaissance du lien entre l’organisme d’origine et sa fossilisation peut déboucher sur des interprétations erronées de certains caractères anatomiques ou sur une mauvaise classification des fossiles. En cent ans, l’interprétation qu’on a donnée d’Anomalocaris a évolué, passant de la crevette étrange au plus gros prédateur connu du Cambrien. Ce changement d’interprétation des fossiles d’Anomalocaris canadensis a bouleversé notre perception de cet animal et du rôle qu’il jouait dans son environnement.

Choisissez un animal, éteint ou actuel et imaginez que ses restes aient été éparpillés durant la fossilisation.

1. Décrivez comment les paléontologues pourraient interpréter les parties isolées de ces organismes (p. ex., on croyait que la Pour en lire plus
Les chercheurs qui s’efforcent de reconstituer l’écosystème des schistes de Burgess, il y a 505 millions d’années, doivent examiner la formation des fossiles des schistes de Burgess. La reconstitution de l’anatomie des organismes fossilisés, qui dépend souvent de spécimens fragmentés et incomplets, repose souvent sur des hypothèses. La méconnaissance du lien entre l’organisme d’origine et sa fossilisation peut déboucher sur des interprétations erronées de certains caractères anatomiques ou sur une mauvaise classification des fossiles. En cent ans, l’interprétation qu’on a donnée d’Anomalocaris a évolué, passant de la crevette étrange au plus gros prédateur connu du Cambrien. Ce changement d’interprétation des fossiles d’Anomalocaris canadensis a bouleversé notre perception de cet animal et du rôle qu’il jouait dans son environnement.

Choisissez un animal, éteint ou actuel et imaginez que ses restes aient été éparpillés durant la fossilisation.

1. Décrivez comment les paléontologues pourraient interpréter les parties isolées de ces organismes (p. ex., on croyait que la bouche d’Anomaloraris canadensis, considérée séparément, était celle d’une méduse).

2. S’il manquait certaines parties de cet animal, de quelle autre façon pourrait-on reconstituer son écologie (p. ex. sans les pinces préhensiles d’Anomalocaris, nous ne saurions peut-être pas qu’il était un prédateur) ?

Examinons les ramifications des erreurs d’interprétation des archives fossiles en fonction de l’animal que vous avez choisi.

3. À quel écosystème cet animal appartient-il ?
4. Quelle niche (rôle) écologique occupait-il ?
5. Si vous retiriez cet animal de son écosystème, quel effet cela aurait-il sur l’écosystème (p. ex., l’écosystème perdrait son plus gros prédateur si Anomalocaris canadensis était retiré des archives fossiles) ?

© 2011, Musée royal de l’Ontario. Tous droits réservés.

Objectifs d'apprentissage

Connaître les interprétations actuelles d’Anomalocaris canadensis, le plus gros prédateur connu de l’écosystème des schistes de Burgess.

Explorer les défis que représente l’interprétation des gisements fossilifères des schistes de Burgess.

Découvrir l’importance des prédateurs, tel Anomalocaris canadensis, comme moteurs de la diversification de l’écosystème des schistes de Burgess.

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons