The Sierra Leone Company, willing to receive into their Colony – such Free Blacks as are able to produce to their Agents, Lieutenant Clarkson, of His Majesty’s Navy, and Mr. Lawrence Hartshorne, of Halifax, or either of them, satisfactory Testimonials of their Characters, (more particularly to Honesty, Sobriety, and Industry) think it proper to notify, in an explicit manner, upon what Terms they will receive, at Sierra Leone, those who bring with them written Certificates of Approbation from either of the said Agents, which Certificates they are hereby respectively authorized to grant or withhold at Discretion.

It is therefore declared by the Company.

That every Free Black (upon producing such a Certificate) shall have a Grant of not less than Twenty Acres of Land for himself, Ten for his wife, and five for every child, upon such terms and subject to such changes and obligations, (with a view to the general prosperity of the Company) as shall hereafter be settled by the Company, in respect to the Grants of Lands to be made by them to all Settlers, whether black or white.

That for all stores, provisions, or, supplied from the Compa Read More

The Sierra Leone Company, willing to receive into their Colony – such Free Blacks as are able to produce to their Agents, Lieutenant Clarkson, of His Majesty’s Navy, and Mr. Lawrence Hartshorne, of Halifax, or either of them, satisfactory Testimonials of their Characters, (more particularly to Honesty, Sobriety, and Industry) think it proper to notify, in an explicit manner, upon what Terms they will receive, at Sierra Leone, those who bring with them written Certificates of Approbation from either of the said Agents, which Certificates they are hereby respectively authorized to grant or withhold at Discretion.

It is therefore declared by the Company.

That every Free Black (upon producing such a Certificate) shall have a Grant of not less than Twenty Acres of Land for himself, Ten for his wife, and five for every child, upon such terms and subject to such changes and obligations, (with a view to the general prosperity of the Company) as shall hereafter be settled by the Company, in respect to the Grants of Lands to be made by them to all Settlers, whether black or white.

That for all stores, provisions, or, supplied from the Company’s Warehouse, the company shall receive an equitable compensation, according to fixed rules, extending to blacks and whites indeterminately.

That the civil, military, personal, and commercial rights and duties of Blacks and Whites, shall be the same, and secured in the same manner.

And, for the full assurance of personal protection from slavery to all such Black Settlers, the Company have subjoined a Copy of a Clause contained in the Act of Parliament whereby they are incorporated, viz.

“Provided Also, and be it further enacted, that it shall not be lawful
“for the said Company, either directly or indirectly, by itself or themselves, or
“by the agents or servants of the said Company, or otherwise howsoever, to
“deal or traffic in the buying or selling of Slaves, or in any manner what is to
“have, hold, appropriate, or employ any person or persons in a state of slavery in
“the service of the said Company.”

Given under our hands, London, the 2nd Day of August, 1791
Henry Thornton, Chairman Joseph Hardcastle
Phillip Sansom, Dep. Chairman Thomas Clarkson
Charles Middleton Viceris Taylor
William Wilberforce William Sanford
Granville Sharp Samuel Parker
John Kingston George Wolf Thomas Eldred

- from the Black Loyalist Digital Collections site ( http://collections.ic.gc.ca/blackloyalists/documents/official/free_settlement_... )


© Black Loyalist Digital Collections. All Rights Reserved.

Learning Objectives

Learners will understand the incentives offered blacks to leave British North America for Sierra Leone.

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

Les autorités de la société de Sierra Leone désirant accueillir dans leur colonie des personnes telles que des Noirs libres capables de présenter à leurs agents, le lieutenant Clarkson de la marine de Sa Majesté et M. Lawrence Hartshorne d’Halifax, ou à l’un ou l’autre d’entre eux, des témoignages satisfaisants de leur moralité (plus particulièrement de leur honnêteté, de leur sobriété et de leur dévouement) jugés utiles à transmettre, d’une manière explicite, accueilleront à cette condition, en Sierra Leone, ceux qui auront apporté avec eux des certificats d’approbation écrits délivrés par l’un ou l’autre des agents susmentionnés, certificats que ces agents sont respectivement autorisés à accorder ou à refuser, à leur discrétion.

La société a donc déclaré ce qui suit. 

Que chaque Noir libre (sur présentation du certificat exigé) recevra Pour en lire plus

Les autorités de la société de Sierra Leone désirant accueillir dans leur colonie des personnes telles que des Noirs libres capables de présenter à leurs agents, le lieutenant Clarkson de la marine de Sa Majesté et M. Lawrence Hartshorne d’Halifax, ou à l’un ou l’autre d’entre eux, des témoignages satisfaisants de leur moralité (plus particulièrement de leur honnêteté, de leur sobriété et de leur dévouement) jugés utiles à transmettre, d’une manière explicite, accueilleront à cette condition, en Sierra Leone, ceux qui auront apporté avec eux des certificats d’approbation écrits délivrés par l’un ou l’autre des agents susmentionnés, certificats que ces agents sont respectivement autorisés à accorder ou à refuser, à leur discrétion.

La société a donc déclaré ce qui suit. 

Que chaque Noir libre (sur présentation du certificat exigé) recevra une concession d’une superficie d’au moins vingt acres pour lui-même, dix acres pour sa femme et cinq acres pour chaque enfant, aux conditions et sous réserve de modifications et obligations (en considération de la prospérité générale de la société) que la société  établira ultérieurement à l’égard des concessions de terre qui seront faites par la société à tous les colons, qu’ils soient noirs ou blancs.

Que pour tous les biens, vivres ou matériel provenant de l’entrepôt de la société, la société recevra une compensation équitable, conformément à des règles établies s’appliquant indistinctement aux Noirs et aux Blancs.

Que les droits et les devoirs civils, militaires, personnels et commerciaux des Noirs et des Blancs seront les mêmes et qu’ils seront protégés de la même manière.

Et que pour garantir l’entière protection personnelle contre l’esclavage à tous les colons noirs, la société a adjoint la copie d’une clause contenue dans la loi du Parlement en vertu de laquelle la société est incorporée.

De plus, il est décrété qu’il sera illégal pour ladite société, que se soit directement ou indirectement, par elle-même ou eux-mêmes, ou par les agents ou employés de ladite société, ou de quelque manière que ce soit, de s’adonner au marchandage ou au commerce des esclaves ou des personnes tenues en état d’esclavage au service de ladite société.

Signé à Londres, le 2 août 1791, par
Henry Thornton, président Joseph Hardcastle
Phillip Sansom, vice-président Thomas Clarkson
Charles Middleton Viceris Taylor
William Wilberforce William Sanford
Granville Sharp Samuel Parker
John Kingston George Wolf Thomas Eldred

- Collections numérisées de textes sur les loyalistes Noirs. ( http://collections.ic.gc.ca/blackloyalists/documents/official/free_settlement_... )


© Collections numerisées de textes sur les loyalistes Noirs. Tous droits réservés.

Objectifs d'apprentissage

Les apprenants seront en mesure de comprendre les incitatifs offerts aux Noirs pour quitter l’Amérique du Nord britannique vers à Sierra Leone.

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons