The mountain pine beetle's range starts in central British Columbia and extends south to Mexico.

The mountain pine beetle can be found from central British Columbia as far south to Mexico, where temperate pine forests exist. Typically found in southwestern Alberta, by 2002, it was being seen north of Banff.

Canadian Geographic


© 2010, Royal Canadian Geographical Society. All Rights Reserved.


A mountain pine beetle positions itself on a piece of wood.

Scientific name: Dendroctonus ponderosae Average length: 4 mm–7.5 mm (adult) Average lifespan: 1 year The mountain pine beetle is a small, dark, cylindrical insect that usually completes its life cycle over a 12-month period, sometimes taking longer at higher elevations. Being a beetle, it has two pairs of wings, the outer set horny and the inner set more membranous, and a pair of antennae on its head. It also passes through a complete metamorphosis.

iStockphoto/DavidParsons


© 2010, Royal Canadian Geographical Society. All Rights Reserved.


Bees work busily on a hive.

Throughout the history of life on Earth, species have moved around as environmental opportunities beckoned or survival dictated. This process continues today, often disrupting the ecological balance of places we have come to value. Moreover, we often bring on such invasions, introducing a desired species that will combat some problem with another species on our home soil. Conversely, organisms can simply move into some neighbouring area when their home habitat becomes less attractive.

iStockphoto/ViktorFischer


© 2010, Royal Canadian Geographical Society. All Rights Reserved.


The Pine Beetle: Attack and Counter-attack?

Lesson Overview:
This lesson plan offers students the opportunity to investigate the differences between two different perspectives on the pine beetle’s infestation of Alberta’s forests. Students will explore economic and social issues related to the topic. How has the pine beetle affected Alberta’s forests? How important is it to maintain Alberta’s forests? What economic benefits does forestry provide? What actions has the Alberta Government taken in response to the pine beetle’s infestation? What environmental impact did these activities have upon the surrounding area as well as globally? Who are the stakeholders involved in making decisions regarding Alberta’s forests? What lessons can be drawn from this example and applied to other situations? Each student will be required to write a position paper/argumentative essay on the topic.

Grade Level:
Social Studies Grade 10

Time Required:
Two cl Read More
The Pine Beetle: Attack and Counter-attack?

Lesson Overview:
This lesson plan offers students the opportunity to investigate the differences between two different perspectives on the pine beetle’s infestation of Alberta’s forests. Students will explore economic and social issues related to the topic. How has the pine beetle affected Alberta’s forests? How important is it to maintain Alberta’s forests? What economic benefits does forestry provide? What actions has the Alberta Government taken in response to the pine beetle’s infestation? What environmental impact did these activities have upon the surrounding area as well as globally? Who are the stakeholders involved in making decisions regarding Alberta’s forests? What lessons can be drawn from this example and applied to other situations? Each student will be required to write a position paper/argumentative essay on the topic.

Grade Level:
Social Studies Grade 10

Time Required:
Two classes required to allow for effective planning and writing time.

Curriculum Connection for Alberta Social Studies Grade 10:
Alberta Social Studies Grade 10
S.1 develop skills of critical thinking and creative thinking
S.3 develop skills of geographic thinking
S.4 develop skills of decision making and problem solving
S.6 develop age-appropriate behaviour for social involvement as responsible citizens contributing to their community
S.7 apply their research
S.8 demonstrate skills of oral, written and visual literacy

Link to the Return to the Wild Virtual Exhibition:
www.canadiangeographic.ca/vmc

Additional Resources, Materials, and Equipment Required:

Additional Resources that may be used to guide students or to extend the lesson:

Canadian Atlas Online
www.canadiangeographic.ca/atlas/

CBC Online
http://www.cbc.ca/

Calgary Herald Online
http://www.calgaryherald.com

Statistics Cananda
http://www.statcan.gc.ca/start-debut-eng.html

Wikipedia
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mountain_pine_beetle

Parks Canada
http://www.pc.gc.ca/eng/pn-np/ab/banff/natcul/natcul22.aspx

Mountain Pine Beetle in Alberta
http://www.mpb.alberta.ca/

Province of British Columbia: Ministry of Forests and Range
http://www.for.gov.bc.ca/hfp/mountain_pine_beetle/

David Suzuki Foundation
http://www.davidsuzuki.org/Forests/Canada/BC/beetle/

Colorado State University
http://www.ext.colostate.edu/pubs/insect/05528.html


Main Objective:
In writing a position paper, students will recognize and appreciate how the world’s citizens have become increasingly interdependent which requires certain responsibilities associated with globalization. Students will realize that they are not able to exist in isolation, and that problems which originate elsewhere, may have consequences in their own backyard.

Learning Outcomes:
By the end of the lesson, students will be able to:
• Write a position paper/argumentative essay.
• Explain the economic and social consequences for two different perspectives.
• Evaluate the information presented and come to conclusions that explain the differences and similarities between two perspectives.
• Draw conclusions supported by reasonable arguments about the topic/issue.
• Use a variety of sources to defend one’s position on the topic/issue.

The Lesson
Teacher Activity/Student Activity

Introduction
Teacher introduces topic by providing a few articles on the pine beetle. Students engage in reading of assigned articles.

Lesson Development
Teacher directs class brainstorm then guides and prompts students with questions to consider in generating arguments for each viewpoint. Students review sources given them then work independently to develop arguments for each viewpoint.

Conclusion
Teacher will give a summary of most important arguments of each viewpoint and provide an example of a well-written paper for the class to review. Student will write a position paper and may present their conclusions in small groups.

Lesson Extension
This lesson may be extended by having an in-class debate. This lesson may be modified by encouraging students to research different sources to support their conclusions. It is possible to challenge the more academic students by having them draw more complex conclusions as they relate to both economics and resources as well as time, continuity and change within a globalizing community.


Assessment of Student Learning
Student position papers may be evaluated using a rubric that outlines the criteria.

Link to Canadian National Standards for Geography

The Six Essential Elements of Geography

1. The World in Spatial Terms: It would be interesting to see the effects the pine beetle has had on Alberta’s forests.
2. Places and Regions: To understand how the interdependency of places and regions may sometimes prompt us to respond to critical issues that arise from a region.
3. Physical Systems: To study world patterns and climate change and the effect this has on our forests.
4. Human Systems: To balance economic development with environmental concerns on a global scale.
5. Environment and Society: To recognize the impact of our actions on Alberta’s forests as well as globally.
6. The Uses of Geography: To recognize how the pine beetle infestation prompts us to reexamine past practice in light of more global concerns.

The Five Sets of Geographic Skills:

1. Asking geographic questions: Students inquire, research and write a well thought out position paper regarding the pine beetle and Alberta’s forests.
2. Acquiring geographic information: Students learn to assimilate geographic as well as historical information derived from various sources (articles, thematic maps and online resources).
3. Organizing geographic information: Students use a variety of media to develop and organize geographical information. They then use this information to support their arguments in writing a position paper.
4. Analyzing geographic information: Students interpret and synthesize information they have researched (from statistical data, maps, charts, articles and books) and make predictions on the fate of the pine beetle and the necessary actions, if any, are to be taken.
5. Answering geographic questions: Students will formulate valid arguments with regards to a particular viewpoint regarding the pine beetles’ infestation and the forest industry.

© 2010, Royal Canadian Geographical Society. All Rights Reserved.

Learning Objectives

In writing a position paper, students will recognize and appreciate how the world’s citizens have become increasingly interdependent, which requires certain responsibilities associated with globalization. Students will realize that they are not able to exist in isolation.

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

L'aire de répartition du dendroctone du pin s'étend du centre de la Colombie-Britannique au sud du Mexique.

On trouve le dendroctone du pin du centre de la Colombie-Britannique jusqu’au Mexique, où il existe des forêts tempérées de pin. Vivant généralement dans le sud-ouest de l’Alberta, en 2002, on a aperçu des sujets au nord de Banff.

Canadian Geographic


© 2010, La Société géographique royale du Canada. Tous droits réservés


Dendroctone du pin qui s'installe sur un morceau de bois.

Nom scientifique : Dendroctonus ponderosae Longueur moyenne : 4 mm à 7,5 mm (adulte) Longévité moyenne : 1 an Le dendroctone du pin est un petit insecte cylindrique de couleur foncée dont le cycle de vie dure généralement 12 mois, parfois plus longtemps à plus haute altitude. Coléoptère, il possède deux paires d’ailes, dont la paire extérieure est rugueuse et la paire intérieure plus membraneuse, de même qu’une paire d’antennes sur la tête. Lui aussi subit une métamorphose complète.

iStockphoto/DavidParsons


© 2010, La Société géographique royale du Canada. Tous droits réservés


Des abeilles s'affairent dans une ruche.

Tout au long de l’histoire de la terre, des espèces se sont déplacées en fonction des possibilités offertes par l’environnement ou pour assurer leur survie. Ce processus se poursuit toujours et perturbe souvent l’équilibre écologique de lieux auxquels nous tenons. Il arrive même souvent que nous soyons la cause de telles invasions en introduisant une espèce dans le but de résoudre un problème causé par une autre espèce présente sur notre territoire.

iStockphoto/ViktorFischer


© 2010, La Société géographique royale du Canada. Tous droits réservés


Le dendroctone du pin : attaque et contre-attaque?

Aperçu de la leçon
Les élèves ont l’occasion de faire une recherche sur les différences entre deux points de vue distincts sur l’infestation de dendroctones du pin qui touche les forêts de l’Alberta. Ils étudient les aspects économiques et sociaux de la question. Quelles conséquences a eues la présence du dendroctone du pin pour les forêts de l’Alberta? Quelle importance revêt la conservation des forêts de l’Alberta? Quels avantages économiques procure la foresterie? Quelles mesures le gouvernement de l’Alberta a-t-il prises pour lutter contre l’infestation de dendroctones du pin? Quel impact environnemental ont eu ces mesures dans la région et dans le monde? Quelles sont les parties intéressées qui interviennent dans les prises de décisions relatives aux forêts de l’Alberta? Quelles leçons peut-on en tirer et appliquer à d’autres situations? C Pour en lire plus
Le dendroctone du pin : attaque et contre-attaque?

Aperçu de la leçon
Les élèves ont l’occasion de faire une recherche sur les différences entre deux points de vue distincts sur l’infestation de dendroctones du pin qui touche les forêts de l’Alberta. Ils étudient les aspects économiques et sociaux de la question. Quelles conséquences a eues la présence du dendroctone du pin pour les forêts de l’Alberta? Quelle importance revêt la conservation des forêts de l’Alberta? Quels avantages économiques procure la foresterie? Quelles mesures le gouvernement de l’Alberta a-t-il prises pour lutter contre l’infestation de dendroctones du pin? Quel impact environnemental ont eu ces mesures dans la région et dans le monde? Quelles sont les parties intéressées qui interviennent dans les prises de décisions relatives aux forêts de l’Alberta? Quelles leçons peut-on en tirer et appliquer à d’autres situations? Chaque élève rédige un essai argumentatif ou un exposé de principes sur le sujet.

Niveau ciblé
10e année

Durée
Deux périodes pour assurer une planification efficace et faire la composition.

Liens avec le programme d’études
Programme de sciences humaines de 10e année de l’Alberta
S.1 Améliorer les compétences en matière de pensée critique et de pensée créative.
S.3 Améliorer les compétences d’ordre géographique.
S.4 Améliorer les compétences de prise de décisions et de résolution de problèmes.
S.6 Cultiver, dans une mesure adaptée à l’âge, un comportement de citoyen responsable utile à la société.
S.7 Appliquer des résultats de recherche.
S.8 Faire la démonstration de compétences orales, écrites et médiatiques.

Lien vers l’exposition virtuelle Retour à la nature
www.canadiangeographic.ca/vmc

Ressources supplémentaires, matériel et équipement

L’Atlas canadien en ligne
www.canadiangeographic.ca/atlas/

CBC (en anglais seulement)
http://www.cbc.ca/

Calgary Herald (en anglais seulement)
http://www.calgaryherald.com

Statistique Canada
http://www.statcan.gc.ca/start-debut-fra.html

Wikipédia
http://fr.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dendroctonus_ponderosae

Parcs Canada
http://www.pc.gc.ca/fra/pn-np/ab/banff/natcul/natcul22.aspx

Le dendroctone du pin en Alberta (en anglais seulement)
http://www.mpb.alberta.ca/

Ministère des Forêts et des Parcours naturels de la Colombie-Britannique (en anglais seulement)
http://www.for.gov.bc.ca/hfp/mountain_pine_beetle/

Fondation David Suzuki (en anglais seulement)
http://www.davidsuzuki.org/Forests/Canada/BC/beetle/

Université de l’État du Colorado (en anglais seulement)
http://www.ext.colostate.edu/pubs/insect/05528.html

Objectif général
Rédiger un exposé de principes qui fait prendre conscience de l’interdépendance croissante des citoyens du monde et des responsabilités qu’impose la mondialisation qui en découle. Comprendre que personne ne peut vivre isolé et que les problèmes qui naissent ailleurs que chez soi peuvent avoir des répercussions jusque dans sa propre cour.

Résultats de la leçon
À la fin de la leçon, les élèves pourront :
• rédiger un essai argumentatif ou un exposé de principes;
• expliquer des conséquences économiques et sociales selon deux points de vue différents;
• évaluer des informations et tirer des conclusions expliquant les différences et les ressemblances entre deux points de vue;
• tirer des conclusions fondées sur des arguments raisonnables à propos d’un sujet ou d’une question;
• tirer parti de diverses sources pour défendre leur position sur un sujet ou une question.

Leçon

Enseignant/Élève

Introduction
Présenter le sujet à l’aide de quelques articles sur le dendroctone du pin dont des copies auront préalablement été distribuées aux élèves. Lire les articles.

Développement
Diriger une séance de remue-méninges, puis aider les élèves en leur posant des questions susceptibles de faire ressortir des arguments à l’appui de chaque point de vue. Étudier les sources fournies. Trouver des arguments à l’appui de chaque point de vue.

Conclusion
Faire un résumé des meilleurs arguments à l’appui de chaque point de vue et montrer aux élèves un exemple d’exposé bien écrit. Rédiger un exposé de principes et, le cas échéant, présenter ses conclusions en petits groupes.

Enrichissement
On peut organiser un débat en classe. Ou encore, modifier la leçon en encourageant les élèves à consulter différentes sources pour étayer leurs conclusions. Enfin, on peut proposer aux élèves les plus brillants de tirer des conclusions plus complexes en tenant compte des ressources et des aspects économiques ainsi que de l’époque et des transitions et changements propres à une société en mondialisation.

Évaluation
Évaluer les exposés de principes des élèves à l’aide d’une grille de critères.

Liens avec les Normes nationales canadiennes en géographie

Les six éléments essentiels de la géographie

1. Monde et spatialité. Il serait intéressant de connaître les conséquences de la présence des dendroctones du pin dans les forêts de l’Alberta.
2. Lieux et régions. Comprendre la façon dont l’interdépendance des lieux et des régions peut parfois nous amener à réagir aux problèmes cruciaux qui naissent dans une région.
3. Systèmes physiques. Étudier les tendances des changements climatiques dans le monde et observer leur incidence sur nos forêts.
4. Systèmes humains. Trouver un équilibre mondial entre le développement économique et la préservation de l’environnement.
5. Environnement et société. Se rendre compte des répercussions de nos actions sur les forêts de l’Alberta et de la planète.
6. Utilisations de la géographie. Constater que l’infestation de dendroctones du pin nous a amené à revoir nos méthodes de gestion à la lumière de problèmes d’une ampleur mondiale.

Les cinq compétences géographiques

1. Poser des questions sur la géographie. Les élèves font une recherche sur le dendroctone du pin et les forêts de l’Alberta et rédigent un exposé de principes bien conçu sur le sujet.
2. Recueillir l’information géographique. Les élèves apprennent à assimiler des données géographiques et historiques tirées de sources diverses (articles, cartes thématiques et Internet).
3. Organiser l’information géographique. Les élèves utilisent divers médias pour recueillir et organiser l’information géographique. Ils exploitent ensuite cette information pour étayer leurs arguments, qu’ils exposent dans un énoncé de principe.
4. Analyser l’information géographique. Les élèves interprètent l’information qu’ils ont recueillie de sources diverses (données statistiques, cartes, tableaux, articles et livres), en font la synthèse et formulent des prédictions sur le sort qui attend le dendroctone du pin ainsi que les éventuelles mesures à prendre.
5. Répondre à des questions sur la géographie. Les élèves proposent des arguments valables à l’appui d’un point de vue particulier sur l’infestation de dendroctones du pin et l’industrie forestière.

© 2010, La Société géographique royale du Canada. Tous droits réservés.

Objectifs d'apprentissage

Rédiger un exposé de principes qui fait prendre conscience de l’interdépendance croissante des citoyens du monde et des responsabilités qu’impose la mondialisation qui en découle. Comprendre que personne ne peut vivre isolé .

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons