In the Middle Ages, the Festival of the Madmen and the Festival of the Ass or donkey were very popular.

The Festival of Madmen took place on Christmas day, December 25, New Year’s day or Epiphany and recalls the Roman Saturnalia. It is a time of liberty when servants become masters and masters servants. For the space of a single day, society’s values are turned upside down and religions derided.

In some towns, the Festival of the Ass was commemorated on Christmas Eve or during the second vespers on December 25: recalling the flight into Egypt, a young girl with babe in arms entered a church riding an ass or donkey. During the mass, all the prayers ended with "hee-haw". The Church quickly banned these celebrations which took on a sacrilegious character.

In the Middle Ages, the Festival of the Madmen and the Festival of the Ass or donkey were very popular.

The Festival of Madmen took place on Christmas day, December 25, New Year’s day or Epiphany and recalls the Roman Saturnalia. It is a time of liberty when servants become masters and masters servants. For the space of a single day, society’s values are turned upside down and religions derided.

In some towns, the Festival of the Ass was commemorated on Christmas Eve or during the second vespers on December 25: recalling the flight into Egypt, a young girl with babe in arms entered a church riding an ass or donkey. During the mass, all the prayers ended with "hee-haw". The Church quickly banned these celebrations which took on a sacrilegious character.

© 1995, CHIN-Canadian Heritage Information Network. All Rights Reserved.

In France, in traditional society, preparing for the Christmas holiday meant wholesale housecleaning and the completion of household repairs and maintenance projects. The saying recommends: 

À la saint Thomas
Cuis ton pain, lave tes draps
Tue un porc gras si tu l’as
Tu ne l’auras pas sitôt tué
Que Noël sera arrivé

In all regions on Christmas Eve, games, riddles, songs, stories and legends help to pass the hours until Midnight Mass and the traditional meal. In Provence, Alsace and Franche Comté, distinctive regional Christmas traditions have developed, such as living crèches and special markets.
In France, in traditional society, preparing for the Christmas holiday meant wholesale housecleaning and the completion of household repairs and maintenance projects. The saying recommends: 

À la saint Thomas
Cuis ton pain, lave tes draps
Tue un porc gras si tu l’as
Tu ne l’auras pas sitôt tué
Que Noël sera arrivé

In all regions on Christmas Eve, games, riddles, songs, stories and legends help to pass the hours until Midnight Mass and the traditional meal. In Provence, Alsace and Franche Comté, distinctive regional Christmas traditions have developed, such as living crèches and special markets.

© 1995, CHIN-Canadian Heritage Information Network. All Rights Reserved.

XIXth century France was largely rural and there were noticeable differences between urban and rural festive customs. Christmas festivities had a religious character: Midnight Mass was a powerful moment in the liturgical calendar. Popular merry-making, which focused on Nativity plays and worship at the family crèche , developed with distinct regional characteristics. Christmas dinner in the country had not yet taken on the form of the "réveillon" or Christmas Eve party.
 
Today, religious elements have given way to a family celebration with adults and children gathering around the tree for the traditional exchange of presents.
XIXth century France was largely rural and there were noticeable differences between urban and rural festive customs. Christmas festivities had a religious character: Midnight Mass was a powerful moment in the liturgical calendar. Popular merry-making, which focused on Nativity plays and worship at the family crèche , developed with distinct regional characteristics. Christmas dinner in the country had not yet taken on the form of the "réveillon" or Christmas Eve party.
 
Today, religious elements have given way to a family celebration with adults and children gathering around the tree for the traditional exchange of presents.

© 1995, CHIN-Canadian Heritage Information Network. All Rights Reserved.

In Canada, Christmas traditions have come from many countries. France has given us its celebration of the Nativity with its old carols, Germany the Christmas tree and its many ornaments and England, greeting cards. Ireland has bequeathed us the ancient Gaelic custom of putting lights in windows. The United States has provided Santa Claus and Czechoslovakia and Japan have produced a flood of Christmas tree and interior home decorations of all kinds.

The 1880s marked a turning point in the celebration of Christmas in Canada after which the Anglophone urban middle class began to adopt new practices. Henceforward Christmas was no longer observed uniquely as a religious festival but became a symbol of secular entertainment. Without doubt the central figure in these changes was Santa Claus. 


For the majority of Francophones, however, this transformation did not occur until after the First World War. Good old "Père Noël" moved very quickly from his minor role, becoming the pivotal figure for many community events.

In Canada, Christmas traditions have come from many countries. France has given us its celebration of the Nativity with its old carols, Germany the Christmas tree and its many ornaments and England, greeting cards. Ireland has bequeathed us the ancient Gaelic custom of putting lights in windows. The United States has provided Santa Claus and Czechoslovakia and Japan have produced a flood of Christmas tree and interior home decorations of all kinds.

The 1880s marked a turning point in the celebration of Christmas in Canada after which the Anglophone urban middle class began to adopt new practices. Henceforward Christmas was no longer observed uniquely as a religious festival but became a symbol of secular entertainment. Without doubt the central figure in these changes was Santa Claus. 


For the majority of Francophones, however, this transformation did not occur until after the First World War. Good old "Père Noël" moved very quickly from his minor role, becoming the pivotal figure for many community events.


© 1995, CHIN-Canadian Heritage Information Network. All Rights Reserved.

St Nicholas, holding a cross in his hand, puts a jumping jack in a pair of shoes outside a house.

St Nicholas, holding a cross in his hand, puts a jumping jack in a pair of shoes outside a house.

Musée national des arts et traditions populaires (MNATP), Paris, France
19th Century
Coloured lithograph
© 1995, CHIN-Canadian Heritage Information Network. All Rights Reserved.


During the Christmas season, a number of churches and charitable organizations serve the poor and the destitute a traditional Christmas dinner (roast turkey with vegetables and dessert). Funded in 1910 by Reverend Pike, a Methodist Chruch minister, The Bissell Center has reached out to the Edmonton communitiy for over 80 years by providing services daily for the residents of the inner city. An annual Christmas dinner is cooked and served by volunteers to over 1 000 people on New Year’s Day, allowing all involved to partake in the spirit of giving.
During the Christmas season, a number of churches and charitable organizations serve the poor and the destitute a traditional Christmas dinner (roast turkey with vegetables and dessert). Funded in 1910 by Reverend Pike, a Methodist Chruch minister, The Bissell Center has reached out to the Edmonton communitiy for over 80 years by providing services daily for the residents of the inner city. An annual Christmas dinner is cooked and served by volunteers to over 1 000 people on New Year’s Day, allowing all involved to partake in the spirit of giving.

© 1995, CHIN-Canadian Heritage Information Network. All Rights Reserved.

Christmas dinner

Christmas dinner

The Provincial Archives of Alberta, in Edmonton

Photography
© 1995, CHIN-Canadian Heritage Information Network. All Rights Reserved.


Salvation Army's hat

Shown is the distinctive woman's straw hat, part of this charitable organization's uniform and a symbol of it's public fundraising drive that takes place every Christmas season. Specially made in London in 1946 for the Salvation Army, this hat was worn for dress occasions and was fastened under the chin with a fabric strap.

The Provincial Archives of Alberta, Edmonton, Canada

Photography
© 1995, CHIN-Canadian Heritage Information Network. All Rights Reserved.


Learning Objectives

The learner will:
  • identify how people, events, and ideas of the past shape the present;
  • describe the development of the Christian Christmas religious celebration;
  • describe past and present Canadian Christmas traditions, with examples;
  • compare Christmas traditions between cultures, and over time.

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

Au Moyen Âge, la fête des Fous et la fête de l’âne furent très populaires.

La fête des fous était célébrée le jour de Noël, le 25 décembre, ou le jour de l’An ou de l’Épiphanie. Elle rappellait les Saturnales romaines. C’était un temps de liberté où les domestiques devenaient les maîtres et les maîtres les domestiques. En cette seule journée, les valeurs établies de la société étaient renversées et la religion était tournée en dérision.

La fête de l’âne était célébrée dans certaines villes la veille de Noël ou au cours des secondes vêpres le 25 décembre : en souvenir de la fuite en Égypte, une jeune fille tenant un enfant dans ses bras pénétrait dans une église à dos d’âne. Pendant la messe, toutes les prières se terminaient alors par « hi-han ». L’Église a rapidement interdit ces célébrations qui prenaient un caractère obscène.

Au Moyen Âge, la fête des Fous et la fête de l’âne furent très populaires.

La fête des fous était célébrée le jour de Noël, le 25 décembre, ou le jour de l’An ou de l’Épiphanie. Elle rappellait les Saturnales romaines. C’était un temps de liberté où les domestiques devenaient les maîtres et les maîtres les domestiques. En cette seule journée, les valeurs établies de la société étaient renversées et la religion était tournée en dérision.

La fête de l’âne était célébrée dans certaines villes la veille de Noël ou au cours des secondes vêpres le 25 décembre : en souvenir de la fuite en Égypte, une jeune fille tenant un enfant dans ses bras pénétrait dans une église à dos d’âne. Pendant la messe, toutes les prières se terminaient alors par « hi-han ». L’Église a rapidement interdit ces célébrations qui prenaient un caractère obscène.

© 1995, RCIP-Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine. Tous droits réservés.

En France, dans la société traditionnelle, la préparation de la fête de Noël donnait lieu à un grand nettoyage de la maison et les travaux d’entretien devaient être terminés. Le dicton préconisait : 

À la saint Thomas
Cuis ton pain, lave tes draps
Tue un porc gras si tu l’as
Tu ne l’auras pas sitôt tué
Que Noël sera arrivé

Dans toutes les régions, pendant la veillée, des jeux, des devinettes, des chants, des contes et légendes permettaient de patienter et d’attendre l’heure de la messe de Minuit et du repas traditionnel. En Provence, en Alsace ou en Franche-Comté, les traditions de Noël ont développé des particularismes régionaux, dont les crèches vivantes et les marchés spécialisés.
En France, dans la société traditionnelle, la préparation de la fête de Noël donnait lieu à un grand nettoyage de la maison et les travaux d’entretien devaient être terminés. Le dicton préconisait : 

À la saint Thomas
Cuis ton pain, lave tes draps
Tue un porc gras si tu l’as
Tu ne l’auras pas sitôt tué
Que Noël sera arrivé

Dans toutes les régions, pendant la veillée, des jeux, des devinettes, des chants, des contes et légendes permettaient de patienter et d’attendre l’heure de la messe de Minuit et du repas traditionnel. En Provence, en Alsace ou en Franche-Comté, les traditions de Noël ont développé des particularismes régionaux, dont les crèches vivantes et les marchés spécialisés.

© 1995, RCIP-Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine. Tous droits réservés.

La France est majoritairement rurale au XIXe siècle. Les différences entre les coutumes festives des campagnes et des villes s’affirment. Les festivités de Noël ont un caractère religieux : la messe de minuit est un temps fort du calendrier liturgique. Les réjouissances populaires se portent sur les crèches spectacles et la dévotion à la crèche familiale se développe avec un caractère régional marqué. Le repas de Noël en milieu rural n’a pas encore pris la forme du réveillon, coutume plus citadine.

De nos jours, le caractère religieux s’estompe devant la fête familiale réunissant adultes et enfants autour du sapin pour la traditionnelle distribution de cadeaux.
La France est majoritairement rurale au XIXe siècle. Les différences entre les coutumes festives des campagnes et des villes s’affirment. Les festivités de Noël ont un caractère religieux : la messe de minuit est un temps fort du calendrier liturgique. Les réjouissances populaires se portent sur les crèches spectacles et la dévotion à la crèche familiale se développe avec un caractère régional marqué. Le repas de Noël en milieu rural n’a pas encore pris la forme du réveillon, coutume plus citadine.

De nos jours, le caractère religieux s’estompe devant la fête familiale réunissant adultes et enfants autour du sapin pour la traditionnelle distribution de cadeaux.

© 1995, RCIP-Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine. Tous droits réservés.

Au Canada, les traditions relatives à la fête de Noël nous sont parvenues de plusieurs pays. La France nous a transmis la célébration de la Nativité et ses vieux noëls, l’Allemagne l’arbre de Noël et ses divers ornements, et l’Angleterre les cartes de vœux. L’Irlande nous lègua cette ancienne coutume gaélique d’installer des lumières aux fenêtres. Puis, les États-Unis nous apportèrent le père Noël, la Tchécoslovaquie et le Japon déversèrent leur flot d’ornements de toutes sortes pour le sapin de Noël et la décoration des intérieurs domestiques.

Au Canada, les années 1880 marquèrent un tournant décisif dans la célébration de la fête de Noël. À partir de cette période, de nouvelles pratiques apparurent chez la classe bourgeoise anglophone des grands centres urbains. Désormais, la Noël n’était plus célébrée uniquement comme une fête religieuse, mais devenait un symbole de réjouissances civiles. La figure dominante de tous ces changements reste, sans contredit, Santa Claus, ou le père Noël. 


Chez la majorité des francophones, cependant, cette mutation s’effectua plutôt après la Première Guerre mondiale. Pour en lire plus

Au Canada, les traditions relatives à la fête de Noël nous sont parvenues de plusieurs pays. La France nous a transmis la célébration de la Nativité et ses vieux noëls, l’Allemagne l’arbre de Noël et ses divers ornements, et l’Angleterre les cartes de vœux. L’Irlande nous lègua cette ancienne coutume gaélique d’installer des lumières aux fenêtres. Puis, les États-Unis nous apportèrent le père Noël, la Tchécoslovaquie et le Japon déversèrent leur flot d’ornements de toutes sortes pour le sapin de Noël et la décoration des intérieurs domestiques.

Au Canada, les années 1880 marquèrent un tournant décisif dans la célébration de la fête de Noël. À partir de cette période, de nouvelles pratiques apparurent chez la classe bourgeoise anglophone des grands centres urbains. Désormais, la Noël n’était plus célébrée uniquement comme une fête religieuse, mais devenait un symbole de réjouissances civiles. La figure dominante de tous ces changements reste, sans contredit, Santa Claus, ou le père Noël. 


Chez la majorité des francophones, cependant, cette mutation s’effectua plutôt après la Première Guerre mondiale. Mine de rien, ce bon vieux père Noël devint rapidement le pôle d’attraction autour duquel s’articulèrent diverses manifestations communautaires.


© 1995, RCIP-Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine. Tous droits réservés.

Saint Nicolas, la crosse à la main, dépose un pantin dans des souliers, devant une maison d'habitation.

Saint Nicolas, la crosse à la main, dépose un pantin dans des souliers, devant une maison d'habitation.

Musée national des arts et traditions populaires (MNATP), Paris, France
19e siècle
Lithographie couleur
© 1995, RCIP-Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine. Tous droits réservés.


Pendant le temps des fêtes, plusieurs églises et organismes de charité offrent aux pauvres et aux plus démunis le traditionnel repas de Noël (dinde rôtie, légumes et dessert). Fondé en 1910 par le révérend Pike, ministre méthodiste, le Bissell Centre est au service de la communauté depuis plus de quatre-vingts ans. Il offre des services quotidiens aux gens des quartiers défavorisés. Plus de 1 000 personnes assistent au repas du jour de l’An, servi par de nombreux bénévoles dans un esprit de joie et de partage.
Pendant le temps des fêtes, plusieurs églises et organismes de charité offrent aux pauvres et aux plus démunis le traditionnel repas de Noël (dinde rôtie, légumes et dessert). Fondé en 1910 par le révérend Pike, ministre méthodiste, le Bissell Centre est au service de la communauté depuis plus de quatre-vingts ans. Il offre des services quotidiens aux gens des quartiers défavorisés. Plus de 1 000 personnes assistent au repas du jour de l’An, servi par de nombreux bénévoles dans un esprit de joie et de partage.

© 1995, RCIP-Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine. Tous droits réservés.

Repas de Noël

Repas de Noël

The Provincial Archives of Alberta, à Edmonton

Photographie
© 1995, RCIPN-Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine. Tous droits réservés.


Chapeau de l'Armée du Salut

Ce chapeau de l'uniforme des femmes engagées dans l'Armée du Salut a été fabriqué à Londres en 1946. Fait de paille, ce chapeau de cérémonie s'attache sous le menton par deux larges rubans.

The Provincial Archives of Alberta, à Edmonton

Photographie
© 1995, RCIP-Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine. Tous droits réservés.


Objectifs d'apprentissage

L’apprenant va :
  • découvrir comment les gens, les événements et les idées du passé ont une incidence sur le présent;
  • décrire l’évolution de la célébration religieuse du Noël chrétien;
  • décrire les traditions canadiennes de Noël du passé et du présent, en fournissant des exemples;
  • comparer les traditions de Noël d’une culture à l’autre, et au fil du temps.

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons