“from your Valentine”

On February 14, 270, Valentine, a priest in Rome, was cruelly executed during the persecution of Christians under Emperor Claudius II. Since earliest times his feast has been associated with the habit of girls and boys declaring their love or vowing to be each other’s “steady partner” for the year. Some say this custom developed because the mating season of birds begins on this day. There is a medieval legend, however, that tells how the saint, shortly before his execution, wrote a kind note to his prison master’s friendly daughter. He signed it “from your Valentine.”
“from your Valentine”

On February 14, 270, Valentine, a priest in Rome, was cruelly executed during the persecution of Christians under Emperor Claudius II. Since earliest times his feast has been associated with the habit of girls and boys declaring their love or vowing to be each other’s “steady partner” for the year. Some say this custom developed because the mating season of birds begins on this day. There is a medieval legend, however, that tells how the saint, shortly before his execution, wrote a kind note to his prison master’s friendly daughter. He signed it “from your Valentine.”

© 2004, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

Saint Valentine

Saint Valentine's arm is raised in blessing over the newly married couple.

Private Collection/Archives Charmet
Photo: Bridgeman Art Library
XIXth Century
Painted glass
CHT 166658
© 2004, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.


“Husbands, love your wives, even as Christ also loved the Church, and gave himself for it.”
(Ephesians 5:25)

Valentine, Bishop of Rome, preached that the love of Christ was above devotion to the Emperor. During the persecutions of Claudius II’s reign (268–270), marriage was banned, since Claudius believed single men were better soldiers. Valentine continued to marry couples in secret, because depriving couples of the right of betrothal deprived them, both literally and symbolically, of the right to express their love. Since love, in the Christian tradition, is of God, and loving marriage a path to holiness, Valentine’s act was deemed a form of political resistance.
“Husbands, love your wives, even as Christ also loved the Church, and gave himself for it.”
(Ephesians 5:25)

Valentine, Bishop of Rome, preached that the love of Christ was above devotion to the Emperor. During the persecutions of Claudius II’s reign (268–270), marriage was banned, since Claudius believed single men were better soldiers. Valentine continued to marry couples in secret, because depriving couples of the right of betrothal deprived them, both literally and symbolically, of the right to express their love. Since love, in the Christian tradition, is of God, and loving marriage a path to holiness, Valentine’s act was deemed a form of political resistance.

© 2004, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

Saint Valentine of Terni Marrying Sabino and Serapia

Saint Valentine of Terni Marrying Sabino and Serapia



In the 17th-century basilica, the union of a Roman couple is blessed by Saint Valentine. In their hands they hold a flower, representing the fullness of life.

Basilica di San Valentino, Terni, Italy

Stained glass
© Basilica di San Valentino, Terni, Italy


“Believe therefore the son of God to be the true God, Jesus Christ, and renounce all images, and you will see your son saved.”
(Valentine of Terni)

The story of Valentine of Terni speaks to love’s power to heal and transform. Crato, a noble Roman citizen, summoned Valentine to minister to his ill son. Valentine spoke to Crato about Jesus Christ as the “great physician,” whose love for human beings heals our understanding and transforms illness and death. Crato, a student of reason and philosophy, expressed little interest in Valentine’s faith. Valentine struck a bargain with him: “if your son is saved through my faith, you, through the salvation of your son, shall, with all your household, be converted to Christ.” At dawn, the youth emerged from Valentine’s care, healed, and Crato’s household came to share in Valentine’s understanding of Christian love.
“Believe therefore the son of God to be the true God, Jesus Christ, and renounce all images, and you will see your son saved.”
(Valentine of Terni)

The story of Valentine of Terni speaks to love’s power to heal and transform. Crato, a noble Roman citizen, summoned Valentine to minister to his ill son. Valentine spoke to Crato about Jesus Christ as the “great physician,” whose love for human beings heals our understanding and transforms illness and death. Crato, a student of reason and philosophy, expressed little interest in Valentine’s faith. Valentine struck a bargain with him: “if your son is saved through my faith, you, through the salvation of your son, shall, with all your household, be converted to Christ.” At dawn, the youth emerged from Valentine’s care, healed, and Crato’s household came to share in Valentine’s understanding of Christian love.

© 2004, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

Three Unmercenary Women

Three Unmercenary Women Saint Valentine stands in a long line of saints stretching back to the first century of the Christian tradition that includes the “unmercenary physician.” These three women were medical doctors. The sisters Zenaida and Philonella were born in Tarsus and cousins of the Apostle Paul. The third, Hermione, was born in Caesarea of Palestine early in the 1st century. In the Christian tradition they are seen as the founders of medicine.

Heiko Schlieper
Provincial Museum of Alberta
c. 2000
33.3 x 28.6 cm
© Heiko Schlieper


Learning Objectives

The learner will:
• Explain the history and premise of St. Valentine as it originated in ancient Rome
• Demonstrate an understanding of the history of courtship and marriage
• Communicate the connections between contemporary Christian holidays and pagan feasts.
• Describe how historically the notion of romance was broader than physical attraction and reached higher meanings such as courtly love in Medieval times and passionate and divine love in Biblical themes


Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

« De votre Valentin ».

Le 14 février 270, Valentin, prêtre à Rome, est cruellement exécuté lors de la persécution des chrétiens ordonnée par l’empereur Claudius II. Dès le départ, son nom a été associé à l’habitude des garçons et des filles de se déclarer leur amour ou de se vouer fidélité pour l’année. Selon certains, cette coutume est née parce que la saison des amours des oiseaux commence ce jour-là. Il existe une légende médiévale, toutefois, qui explique que le saint, peu avant son exécution, a écrit un petit mot à la gentille fille de son geôlier. Il l’aurait signé « De votre Valentin ».
« De votre Valentin ».

Le 14 février 270, Valentin, prêtre à Rome, est cruellement exécuté lors de la persécution des chrétiens ordonnée par l’empereur Claudius II. Dès le départ, son nom a été associé à l’habitude des garçons et des filles de se déclarer leur amour ou de se vouer fidélité pour l’année. Selon certains, cette coutume est née parce que la saison des amours des oiseaux commence ce jour-là. Il existe une légende médiévale, toutefois, qui explique que le saint, peu avant son exécution, a écrit un petit mot à la gentille fille de son geôlier. Il l’aurait signé « De votre Valentin ».

© 2004, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.

Saint Valentin

Le bras de saint Valentin est levé pour bénir le couple nouvellement marié.

Private Collection/Archives Charmet
Photo : Bridgeman Art Library
XIXe siècle
Verre peint
CHT 166658
© 2004, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.


« Maris, aimez vos femmes comme le Christ a aimé l’Église et s’est livré lui-même pour elle. »
(Éphésiens, 5:25)

Valentin, évêque de Rome, enseignait que l’amour du Christ était au-dessus de la dévotion à l’empereur. Pendant les persécutions du règne de Claudius II (268–270), le mariage était interdit car Claudius croyait que les célibataires faisaient de meilleurs soldats. Valentin a continué à marier les couples en secret, parce qu’en les privant du droit de se consacrer officiellement l’un à l’autre, on les privait littéralement et symboliquement du droit d’exprimer leur amour. Comme l’amour, dans la tradition chrétienne, vient de Dieu et que les mariages aimants mènent à la sainteté, le geste de Valentin a été considéré comme une forme de résistance politique.
« Maris, aimez vos femmes comme le Christ a aimé l’Église et s’est livré lui-même pour elle. »
(Éphésiens, 5:25)

Valentin, évêque de Rome, enseignait que l’amour du Christ était au-dessus de la dévotion à l’empereur. Pendant les persécutions du règne de Claudius II (268–270), le mariage était interdit car Claudius croyait que les célibataires faisaient de meilleurs soldats. Valentin a continué à marier les couples en secret, parce qu’en les privant du droit de se consacrer officiellement l’un à l’autre, on les privait littéralement et symboliquement du droit d’exprimer leur amour. Comme l’amour, dans la tradition chrétienne, vient de Dieu et que les mariages aimants mènent à la sainteté, le geste de Valentin a été considéré comme une forme de résistance politique.

© 2004, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.

Saint Valentin de Terni mariant Sabino et Sérapia

Saint Valentin de Terni mariant Sabino et Sérapia



Dans la basilique du XVIIe siècle, l’union d’un couple romain est bénie par saint Valentin. Les époux tiennent à la main une fleur, symbole de l’épanouissement de la vie.

Basilique Saint-Valentin, Terni, Italie

Vitrail
© Basilique Saint-Valentin, Terni, Italie


« Il vous faut accepter le fils de Dieu comme le vrai Dieu, Jésus-Christ, et renoncer à toutes les images, et votre fils sera sauvé »
(Valentin de Terni)

L’histoire de Valentin de Terni expose le pouvoir curatif et transformateur de l’amour. Craton, un noble romain, a fait appel à Valentin pour soigner son fils malade. Valentin a présenté Jésus-Christ à Craton comme un « grand médecin », dont l’amour pour les êtres humains nous ouvre l’esprit et transforme la maladie et la mort. Craton, féru de logique et de philosophie, s’intéressait peu à la religion de Valentin. Ce dernier conclut donc un marché avec lui : « Si votre fils guérit grâce à ma foi, vous, en vertu de la guérison de votre fils, vous convertirez avec toute votre maisonnée. » À l’aube, le jeune garçon confié aux soins de Valentin était guéri, et la maisonnée de Craton finit par partager la vision de l’amour chrétien que préconisait Valentin.
« Il vous faut accepter le fils de Dieu comme le vrai Dieu, Jésus-Christ, et renoncer à toutes les images, et votre fils sera sauvé »
(Valentin de Terni)

L’histoire de Valentin de Terni expose le pouvoir curatif et transformateur de l’amour. Craton, un noble romain, a fait appel à Valentin pour soigner son fils malade. Valentin a présenté Jésus-Christ à Craton comme un « grand médecin », dont l’amour pour les êtres humains nous ouvre l’esprit et transforme la maladie et la mort. Craton, féru de logique et de philosophie, s’intéressait peu à la religion de Valentin. Ce dernier conclut donc un marché avec lui : « Si votre fils guérit grâce à ma foi, vous, en vertu de la guérison de votre fils, vous convertirez avec toute votre maisonnée. » À l’aube, le jeune garçon confié aux soins de Valentin était guéri, et la maisonnée de Craton finit par partager la vision de l’amour chrétien que préconisait Valentin.

© 2004, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.

Trois femmes libres

Trois femmes libres Saint Valentin s’inscrit dans une longue lignée de saints qui remonte jusqu’au premier siècle de la tradition chrétienne et comprend le médecin cultuel. Ces trois femmes sont médecins. Les sœurs Zénaïda et Philonella sont nées à Tarse et sont cousines de l’apôtre Paul. La troisième, Hermione, est née à Césarée, en Palestine, au début du premier siècle. Dans la tradition chrétienne, elles sont considérées comme les fondatrices de la médecine.

Heiko Schlieper
Provincial Museum of Alberta
vers 2000
33,3 x 28,6 cm
© Heiko Schlieper


Objectifs d'apprentissage

L’apprenant va :
• Expliquer l’histoire et le principe de la Saint-Valentin, comme ce dernier a évolué dans l’ancienne ville de Rome
• Faire preuve d’une compréhension de l’histoire de la cour et du mariage
• Communiquer les liens qui existent entre les fêtes chrétiennes et les festins païens
• Décrire comment, historiquement parlant, la notion de la romance était plus vaste que l’attraction physique, pour prendre une ampleur bien plus supérieure que le simple amour courtois dans le Moyen Âge, où l’amour passionné et divin est reflété dans les thèmes bibliques

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons