The canoe in the collection The Rooms Provincial Museum, is known as katshishtashkuatet (ka-cheesh-taash-kwa-tet), from the word tshishtashkuan (cheesh-taash-kwan) meaning "nail". It was made by Sheshatshiu Elder, Pien Penashue, with the assistance of his son, Melvin, and nephew, Alistair Pone. Pien’s wife, Nishet, provided information with respect to canoeing and canoe-making in the days before settlement.
The canoe in the collection The Rooms Provincial Museum, is known as katshishtashkuatet (ka-cheesh-taash-kwa-tet), from the word tshishtashkuan (cheesh-taash-kwan) meaning "nail". It was made by Sheshatshiu Elder, Pien Penashue, with the assistance of his son, Melvin, and nephew, Alistair Pone. Pien’s wife, Nishet, provided information with respect to canoeing and canoe-making in the days before settlement.

© 2008, The Rooms. All Rights Reserved.

Innu canoe - ush

Innu Canoe - ush

The Rooms
Peter Armitage, curator/facilitator (St. John's, NL), Nympha Byrne, researcher (Natuashish, Labrador) and Gillian Davidge, education consultant (The Rooms, St. John’s, NL)

© 2008, The Rooms. All Rights Reserved.


Listen to Natuashish Elder, Munik (Gregoire) Rich, talk about making the nailed canoe

The nails were used on...all parts of the canoe. And the wood is carved too. When the canoe is all done, it’s ready for canvas. I never heard if it was made out of hide. I only saw one with canvas. The canoe is made big enough for one family, but some people with many children didn’t have enough room for everyone. The canoes were big. In the past, anyone could build a canoe, not just think about it. They would just go ahead and make one. They would just build their canoes in a good place, and find where there were good trees.

The Rooms
Peter Armitage, curator/facilitator (St. John's, NL), Nympha Byrne, researcher (Natuashish, Labrador) and Gillian Davidge, education consultant (The Rooms, St. John’s, NL)

© 2008, The Rooms. All Rights Reserved.


Listen to Pinashue Benuen, another Natuashish Elder, describe canoe-making

I used to make what we call katakuashtunanit. It wasn´t perfectly made. We didn´t exactly know how to make one. But there´s another type of canoe that I used to make. It´s the one made with nails. Back on Mushuau-shipu (George River), people were always making these [Katakuashtunanit].

I´ve seen people make them around Mushuau-shipu (George River), and afterwards, they traveled to the coast, to Voisey´s Bay, to see Mr. White (an independent trader). Mr. White used to live around there. Everybody went there. And there was no Davis Inlet back then. Also, the Innu used to come to the coast to see Father O´Brien (a Catholic missionary) using this type of canoe [katakuashtunanit]. First they would travel to Voisey´s Bay, and then later to what was then Davis Inlet.

This was right after the canoes were finished. These were quite hard to make, but today, we call them mashtukuta (canvas-covered canoes), the kind you see around today. The ones they used to make with nails.

The Rooms
Peter Armitage, curator/facilitator (St. John's, NL), Nympha Byrne, researcher (Natuashish, Labrador) and Gillian Davidge, education consultant (The Rooms, St. John’s, NL)

© 2008, The Rooms. All Rights Reserved.


Listen to Matinen (Rich) Katshinak talk about canoes

Matinen (Rich) Katshinak (MK): When Shushep was not around when we lived in the country, I had to portage the canoe when we moved our camps. None of the women at our camp could portage a canoe. When the men were not around, I had to portage the canoe.

My father was already gone [deceased]. My uncle, Shushepish, was still alive back then. One time, I had to portage two canoes. The women couldn´t lift those canoes. I could lift those canoes no problem.

Nympha Byrne (NB): Did you carry it far?

MK: Yes, I carried it far. It was a long portage and it was out in the barrens.

NB: Do you remember the name of the place that you carried those canoes?

MK: It was at Shapiass. The lake is called Shapiau (Shapio Lake) and it had mountains. It had a lot of lakes. I portaged those canoes through the barrens. I didn´t portage through the bushes. When we got to the mountains, I had to portage those canoes because the men had to go caribou hunting. We moved our camp.

One time I portaged a canoe very far. It was at the mountain. We had to go to the mountain to get to the lake. I was walking with my father and mother [her biological aunt and uncle]. That was your grandfather, the late Shushepish. My real father was not around back then. He died.

We left for the country. I portaged a canoe again. We left from Sheshatshiu. I had to portage by myself. The men were not around again. I did another portage all by myself. It was very heavy. I portaged it.

NB: Did you carry it on your back?

MK: Yes, I carried it at the back of my neck. Did you ever notice how people carried the canoes? That´s how I carried it.

Pinamen [her sister] and the late Manish Tshakapesh couldn´t portage a canoe. They only lifted their canoes and carried them. I portaged my canoe. I tried nuipiuten too. The people that camped with us didn´t want me to do it.

NB: What does nuipiuten mean?

MK: It´s rapids. Did you ever see a video of people going through the rapids with their canoes? That´s what it means. The rapids. (Note: the MacKenzie´s Shoebox dictionary lists piutamu as "she/he shoots the rapids, canoes in white water.").

The Rooms
Peter Armitage, curator/facilitator (St. John's, NL), Nympha Byrne, researcher (Natuashish, Labrador) and Gillian Davidge, education consultant (The Rooms, St. John’s, NL)

© 2008, The Rooms. Tous droits réservés.


Diagram showing the Innu names for the parts of a canoe

A - takuaikan B, C - mekuamitaku D - nishtamitaku 1 - kapiten 2 - tetaut-apikan 3 - minikukanashku 4 - tshinatinau 5 - utshanikush / ushkatitshekan 6 - apikaniss 7 - apinan-apikan 8 - anashkan 9 - uatshinau 10 - ashpitakaikan 11 – mishkutui 12 - kanishtamitakutshet 13 - katakuashtunanit katshishtashkuatet shipaitakan - ush

The Rooms
Peter Armitage, curator/facilitator (St. John's, NL), Nympha Byrne, researcher (Natuashish, Labrador) and Gillian Davidge, education consultant (The Rooms, St. John’s, NL)

© 2008, The Rooms. All Rights Reserved.


Learning Objectives

• Describe the three different methods of canoe construction practiced by the Innu before settlement
• Examine how new materials introduced by Europeans were adapted by the Innu in the design and construction of canoes


Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

Le canot de la collection du The Rooms, Provincial Museum Division , s’appelle katshishtashkuatet , de tshishtashkuan , qui signifie « clou ». Il a été fabriqué par un aîné de Sheshatshiu, Pien Penashue, avec l’aide de son fils Melvin et de son neveu Alistair Pone. L’épouse de Pien, Nishet, a fourni des renseignements sur l’utilisation et la fabrication de canots avant l’établissement des Innus dans des villages.
Le canot de la collection du The Rooms, Provincial Museum Division , s’appelle katshishtashkuatet , de tshishtashkuan , qui signifie « clou ». Il a été fabriqué par un aîné de Sheshatshiu, Pien Penashue, avec l’aide de son fils Melvin et de son neveu Alistair Pone. L’épouse de Pien, Nishet, a fourni des renseignements sur l’utilisation et la fabrication de canots avant l’établissement des Innus dans des villages.

© 2008, The Rooms. Tous droits réservés.

Canot - ush

Canot - ush

The Rooms
Peter Armitage, conservateur/animateur (St-Jean T.-N), Nympha Byrne, chercheuse (Natuashish, Labrador) et Gillian Davidge, conseiller en éducation (The Rooms, St. John’s, NL)

© 2008, The Rooms. Tous droits réservés.


Écoutez une aînée de Natuashish, Munik (Gregoire) Rich, parler de la fabrication d'un canot à clous

Il y avait des clous sur... toutes les parties du canot. Et le bois est sculpté. Lorsque le canot est tout monté, il est prêt à recevoir la toile. Je n´ai jamais entendu que l´on utilisait du cuir. J´en ai vu seulement avec de la toile. Le canot est assez grand pour une famille, mais s´il y a beaucoup d´enfants, il n´y a pas de place pour tous. C´étaient de grands canots. Autrefois, n´importe qui pouvait construire un canot, pas seulement y penser. Chacun se mettait à la tâche et fabriquait un canot. Il trouvait un endroit où il y avait de bons arbres et construisait tout simplement son canot.

The Rooms
Peter Armitage, conservateur/animateur (St-Jean T.-N), Nympha Byrne, chercheuse (Natuashish, Labrador) et Gillian Davidge, conseiller en éducation (The Rooms, St. John’s, NL)

© 2008, The Rooms. Tous droits réservés.


Écoutez un autre aîné de Natuashish, Pinashue Benuen, décrire la fabrication d'un canot

Je fabriquais ce que l´on appelle un katakuashtunanit. Ce n´était pas parfait. Nous ne savions pas exactement comment faire. Mais il y avait un autre type de canot que j´avais l´habitude de fabriquer. C´est celui avec des clous. À Mushuau-shipu (la rivière George), les gens fabriquaient toujours ces Katakuashtunanit.

J´ai vu des gens en fabriquer près de Mushuau-shipu (la rivière George). Ensuite ils allaient vers la côte, à Voisey´s Bay, pour voir M. White (un négociant indépendant). M. White vivait dans cette région, et tout le monde y allait. Et le village de Davis Inlet n´existait pas à cette époque. De plus, les Innus allaient vers la côte voir le Père O´Brien (un missionnaire catholique) dans ce type de canot [katakuashtunanit]. Ils allaient d´abord à Voisey´s Bay, puis plus tard à ce qui était Davis Inlet.

C´était dès que les canots étaient finis. Ils étaient très difficiles à fabriquer. Mais aujourd´hui, nous les appelons mashtukuta (canots couverts de toile). Ce sont ceux que vous voyez aujourd´hui. Ceux qu´ils fabriquaient avec des clous.

The Rooms
Peter Armitage, conservateur/animateur (St-Jean T.-N), Nympha Byrne, chercheuse (Natuashish, Labrador) et Gillian Davidge, conseiller en éducation (The Rooms, St. John’s, NL)

© 2008, The Rooms. Tous droits réservés.


Écoutez Matinen (Rich) Katshinak parle des canots

Matinen (Rich) Katshinak (MK) : Quand Shushep n´était pas là alors que nous vivions dans l´arrière-pays, je devais faire les portages lorsque nous déplacions notre camp. Aucune des femmes de notre camp ne pouvait porter un canot. Quand les hommes n´étaient pas là, je devais porter le canot.

Mon père était déjà mort. Mon oncle, Shushepish, était encore en vie. Une fois, j´ai dû porter deux canots. Les femmes ne pouvaient pas soulever ces canots. Moi, je pouvais les soulever sans problème.

Nympha Byrne (NB) : Est-ce que vous transportiez le canot sur de longues distances?

MK : Oui. C´était un long portage dans des espaces dénudés.

NB : Vous souvenez-vous du nom de l´endroit où vous faisiez ces portages?

MK : C´était à Shapiass. Le lac s´appelle Shapiau (lac Shapio) et il y avait des montagnes. Il y avait beaucoup de lacs. J´ai porté ces canots à travers des espaces dénudés, mais non à travers des broussailles. Lorsque nous sommes allés dans les montagnes, j´ai dû porter ces canots parce que les hommes devaient aller chasser le caribou. Nous déménagions notre camp.

Une fois, j´ai porté un canot sur une très longue distance. C´était dans la montagne. Nous devions aller dans la montagne pour atteindre le lac. Je marchais avec mon père et ma mère [son oncle et sa tante biologiques]. C´était ton grand-père, le défunt Shushepish. Mon vrai père n´était pas là. Il était mort.

Nous sommes partis dans l´arrière-pays. J´ai fait un autre portage. Nous sommes partis de Sheshatshiu. Je devais faire le portage toute seule. Les hommes étaient à nouveau partis. J´ai fait un portage toute seule. Le canot était très lourd. Je l´ai porté.

NB : Est-ce que vous le portiez sur votre dos?

MK : Oui, je le portais derrière mon cou. As-tu remarqué comment les gens portaient les canots? C´est comme ça que je faisais.

Pinamen [sa soeur] et la défunte Manish Tshakapesh ne pouvaient pas faire un portage en transportant le canot sur leur dos. Elles ne faisaient que soulever leur canot et le déplacer. J´ai fait des portages. J´ai aussi essayé les nuipiuten. Les gens qui campaient avec nous ne voulaient pas que je le fasse.

NB : Qu´est-ce que ça veut dire, nuipiuten?

MK : Ce sont les rapides. As-tu déjà vu une vidéo de gens qui traversent des rapides avec leur canot? C´est cela que ça veut dire : les rapides. (Remarque : D´après le MacKenzie Shoebox Dictionary, piutamu signifie « qui descend les rapides, canots dans l´eau bouillonnante ».)

The Rooms
Peter Armitage, conservateur/animateur (St-Jean T.-N), Nympha Byrne, chercheuse (Natuashish, Labrador) et Gillian Davidge, conseiller en éducation (The Rooms, St. John’s, NL)

© 2008, The Rooms. Tous droits réservés.


Schéma qui montre les noms innus des parties d´un canot

A - takuaikan B, C - mekuamitaku D - nishtamitaku 1 - kapiten 2 - tetaut-apikan 3 - minikukanashku 4 - tshinatinau 5 - utshanikush / ushkatitshekan 6 - apikaniss 7 - apinan-apikan 8 - anashkan 9 - uatshinau 10 - ashpitakaikan 11 - mishkutui 12 - kanishtamitakutshet 13 - katakuashtunanit katshishtashkuatet shipaitakan - ush

The Rooms
Peter Armitage, conservateur/animateur (St-Jean T.-N), Nympha Byrne, chercheuse (Natuashish, Labrador) et Gillian Davidge, conseiller en éducation (The Rooms, St. John’s, NL)

© 2008, The Rooms. Tous droits réservés.


Objectifs d'apprentissage

• Décrivez les trois différentes méthodes de construction de canots qu’utilisaient les Innus avant leur rassemblement en communautés.
• Découvrez comment les Innus ont adapté de nouveaux matériaux provenant d’Europe dans la fabrication de canots.


Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons