An entirely new and must-see attraction, this national museum presents Canada’s military past and how it shaped the country. Its outstanding exhibitions explain Canada s rich military history from earliest times to the present, featuring the experiences of people on the battlefields and at home.

The Museum’s dramatic architecture is a showcase for its vast art collection (some 13,000 pieces) and its extensive artifact collection, including military vehicles and artillery. The extensive permanent exhibition highlights key events and defining moments in Canada’s military history. Human conflict is explored through personal stories, art, artifacts, photographs and interactive presentations. The panoramic LeBreton Gallery houses a Voodoo jet, nineteenth-century artillery pieces, tanks and a wide range of vehicles.

Memorial Hall is designed for rest and reflection, and contains a single lone artifact: the headstone of the Unknown Soldier from the First World War which is directly illuminated by the sun each Remembrance Day, November 11, at 11 a.m.

With its spectacular location beside the Ottawa River and its stunning architectural d Read More
An entirely new and must-see attraction, this national museum presents Canada’s military past and how it shaped the country. Its outstanding exhibitions explain Canada s rich military history from earliest times to the present, featuring the experiences of people on the battlefields and at home.

The Museum’s dramatic architecture is a showcase for its vast art collection (some 13,000 pieces) and its extensive artifact collection, including military vehicles and artillery. The extensive permanent exhibition highlights key events and defining moments in Canada’s military history. Human conflict is explored through personal stories, art, artifacts, photographs and interactive presentations. The panoramic LeBreton Gallery houses a Voodoo jet, nineteenth-century artillery pieces, tanks and a wide range of vehicles.

Memorial Hall is designed for rest and reflection, and contains a single lone artifact: the headstone of the Unknown Soldier from the First World War which is directly illuminated by the sun each Remembrance Day, November 11, at 11 a.m.

With its spectacular location beside the Ottawa River and its stunning architectural design, innovative exhibitions and public programmes, the Canadian War Museum is a military history museum of international stature.

In this learning object, you will find two treasures from the Canadian War Museum.

© 2010, Canadian War Museum. All Rights Reserved.

This Loyalist uniform, a possession of the French family for 200 years, was donated to the Canadian War Museum in 1983. Dating back to 1781, it is one of the oldest complete military uniforms in Canada. It belonged to Lieutenant Jeremiah French of the King’s Royal Regiment of New York. French had been a Loyalist, an American who stayed loyal to Great Britain during the American Revolution.
In 1777, French left his farm in New York and fled to Canada to serve with other Loyalists in the British army. South of the American border, he remained a traitor, hunted by rebel militia. “Wanted” notices offered thirty dollars, a large sum of money, for his return, dead or alive. When French joined the King’s Royal Regiment in 1781, he purchased this new uniform in Montreal. In Canada, Loyalists wore scarlet uniforms similar to those of British soldiers. The numerous golden buttons, arranged in pairs, bear the initials of the regiment: KRR. Together with the waistcoat and the epaulettes on each shoulder, such details indicate that French served in the regiment’s 2nd battalion. Made of scarlet wool with blue facings, lined with linen and finished with gilt a Read More
This Loyalist uniform, a possession of the French family for 200 years, was donated to the Canadian War Museum in 1983. Dating back to 1781, it is one of the oldest complete military uniforms in Canada. It belonged to Lieutenant Jeremiah French of the King’s Royal Regiment of New York. French had been a Loyalist, an American who stayed loyal to Great Britain during the American Revolution.
In 1777, French left his farm in New York and fled to Canada to serve with other Loyalists in the British army. South of the American border, he remained a traitor, hunted by rebel militia. “Wanted” notices offered thirty dollars, a large sum of money, for his return, dead or alive. When French joined the King’s Royal Regiment in 1781, he purchased this new uniform in Montreal. In Canada, Loyalists wore scarlet uniforms similar to those of British soldiers. The numerous golden buttons, arranged in pairs, bear the initials of the regiment: KRR. Together with the waistcoat and the epaulettes on each shoulder, such details indicate that French served in the regiment’s 2nd battalion. Made of scarlet wool with blue facings, lined with linen and finished with gilt and gold buttons, this jacket, waistcoat and breeches offer a rare glimpse of eighteenth century military uniforms in Canada.

© 2010, Canadian War Museum. All Rights Reserved.

Royal Yorkers members during the 230th anniversary re-enactment of the Battle of Bennington, August 16, 1777 in New York, 2007. (Photo : Gay Boggess of the Royal Yorkers)

Photo : Gay Boggess of Royal Yorkers
Canadian War Museum

© 2010, Canadian War Museum. All Rights Reserved.


The Canadian War Museum recently restored a rare German Panzer V (or Panther), one of the Second World War’s best tanks. Designed to combat highly effective Soviet tanks such as the T-34 and KV-1, the Panther had superior firepower, mobility, and frontal armor protection, but its complex drive and suspension systems left it vulnerable to mechanical failure. From 1943 to 1945, Germany produced 6,000 of the fearsome Panthers, which saw service on the eastern front, in Italy, and in northwest Europe.
This captured Panther was part of a Victory-in-Europe (or V-E) Day parade in Ottawa on May 8, 1945, and was later sent to Canadian Forces Base Borden, Ontario, where it remained for 60 years. The military donated the tank to the Canadian War Museum in 2005 where, after a two-year, 4,000-hour, restoration project, it was placed on public display in January 2008.

The Canadian War Museum recently restored a rare German Panzer V (or Panther), one of the Second World War’s best tanks. Designed to combat highly effective Soviet tanks such as the T-34 and KV-1, the Panther had superior firepower, mobility, and frontal armor protection, but its complex drive and suspension systems left it vulnerable to mechanical failure. From 1943 to 1945, Germany produced 6,000 of the fearsome Panthers, which saw service on the eastern front, in Italy, and in northwest Europe.
This captured Panther was part of a Victory-in-Europe (or V-E) Day parade in Ottawa on May 8, 1945, and was later sent to Canadian Forces Base Borden, Ontario, where it remained for 60 years. The military donated the tank to the Canadian War Museum in 2005 where, after a two-year, 4,000-hour, restoration project, it was placed on public display in January 2008.

© 2010, Canadian War Museum. All Rights Reserved.

Panther V Tank, 1942-1945, Canadian War Museum, Ottawa, 15 Sept. 2009. (Photo : Rob Coles)

Photo : Rob Coles
Canadian War Museum

© 2010, Canadian War Museum. All Rights Reserved.


In every home, there are objects that we cherish or that have been passed from generation to generation. They are our family treasures. Just like museum artefacts, these objects play an important part in our family history.

With your students, take the time to explore family stories and traditions and to investigate the contributions they make to the rich and diverse Canadian society.

Canada’s Got Treasures is a dynamic web space that brings together objects found in museums and in people’s homes. It’s an interactive way to present your students’ family treasures to other Canadians. You can also learn more about the treasures submitted by Canadians and various museums.

First, have your students explore Canada’s treasures – objects, works of art, artefacts, documents, and important specimens from the country’s heritage institutions and national museums. Discover their history by reading the accompanying texts and looking at pictures inspired by each object.

Then, ask your students to question family members in order to find their own treasures. They can take a picture and bring you Read More

In every home, there are objects that we cherish or that have been passed from generation to generation. They are our family treasures. Just like museum artefacts, these objects play an important part in our family history.

With your students, take the time to explore family stories and traditions and to investigate the contributions they make to the rich and diverse Canadian society.

Canada’s Got Treasures is a dynamic web space that brings together objects found in museums and in people’s homes. It’s an interactive way to present your students’ family treasures to other Canadians. You can also learn more about the treasures submitted by Canadians and various museums.

First, have your students explore Canada’s treasures – objects, works of art, artefacts, documents, and important specimens from the country’s heritage institutions and national museums. Discover their history by reading the accompanying texts and looking at pictures inspired by each object.

Then, ask your students to question family members in order to find their own treasures. They can take a picture and bring you the file, or they can bring the object in class and let you photograph it. It is also recommended to create a small document describing the object and explaining what it means for the student’s family.

Note: You might have to send a note asking parents’ permission to post images of the treasures online.

Finally, upload these photos or videos (on YouTube or Flickr) and share your most precious or culturally significant treasures with the rest of Canada. Follow these instructions. http://www.museevirtuel-virtualmuseum.ca/sgc-cms/expositions-exhibitions/tresors-treasures/?lang=en

* Please note that the interactive part of the project (YouTube and Flickr) will be re-evaluated in November 2011. It could be maintained (depending on participation rate) or not. If that component is removed, you will still be able to do the activity with your students – just create a blog or a wiki for your class and post the family treasures online. The parents will then be able to see the outcome of the project.


Have fun!


© 2010, Canadian War Museum. All Rights Reserved.

Learning Objectives

The learner will:

• learn more about treasures from Canadian museums;
• recognize the importance of family treasures;
• explain the significance of the objects selected by the institutions. 
 


Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

Attrait incontournable, ce nouveau musée national illustre comment le passé militaire du Canada a façonné le pays. Ses expositions exceptionnelles racontent la riche histoire militaire du Canada, des temps anciens à nos jours, en présentant des points de vue de gens ordinaires qui ont vécu la guerre tant sur les champs de bataille que dans leurs foyers.

L’architecture saisissante du Musée permet d’exposer en permanence sa vaste collection d’art militaire (quelque 13 000 œuvres) ainsi que son imposante collection d’artefacts, comprenant véhicules militaires et artillerie. Sa vaste exposition permanente met en lumière les évènements clés et les moments déterminants de l’histoire militaire du Canada. Récits personnels, œuvres d’art, artefacts, photos et présentations interactives racontent l’histoire des conflits humains. La galerie LeBreton abrite un chasseur Voodoo, des pièces d’artillerie du XIXe siècle, des chars et un grand éventail de véhicules.

La salle du Souvenir est une aire de repos et de réflexion qui contient un seul artefact : la pierre tombale du Soldat inconnu de la Première Guerre mondiale. Celle Pour en lire plus
Attrait incontournable, ce nouveau musée national illustre comment le passé militaire du Canada a façonné le pays. Ses expositions exceptionnelles racontent la riche histoire militaire du Canada, des temps anciens à nos jours, en présentant des points de vue de gens ordinaires qui ont vécu la guerre tant sur les champs de bataille que dans leurs foyers.

L’architecture saisissante du Musée permet d’exposer en permanence sa vaste collection d’art militaire (quelque 13 000 œuvres) ainsi que son imposante collection d’artefacts, comprenant véhicules militaires et artillerie. Sa vaste exposition permanente met en lumière les évènements clés et les moments déterminants de l’histoire militaire du Canada. Récits personnels, œuvres d’art, artefacts, photos et présentations interactives racontent l’histoire des conflits humains. La galerie LeBreton abrite un chasseur Voodoo, des pièces d’artillerie du XIXe siècle, des chars et un grand éventail de véhicules.

La salle du Souvenir est une aire de repos et de réflexion qui contient un seul artefact : la pierre tombale du Soldat inconnu de la Première Guerre mondiale. Celle-ci reçoit directement les rayons solaires à 11 h, le 11 novembre jour du Souvenir.

Son architecture spectaculaire et le site splendide qu’il occupe tout près de la rivière des Outaouais, ainsi que ses expositions novatrices et ses activités spéciales font du Musée canadien de la guerre un musée d’histoire militaire de calibre international.

Dans cet objet d’apprentissage, vous trouverez deux des trésors du Musée canadien de la guerre.

© 2010, Musée canadien de la guerre. Tous droits réservés.

Cet uniforme loyaliste, qui fit partie des biens de la famille French pendant 200 ans, fut donné au Musée canadien de la guerre en 1983. Datant de 1781, c’est l’un des costumes militaires complets les plus anciens que l’on possède au Canada. Il appartenait au lieutenant Jeremiah French du King’s Royal Regiment of New York. French était loyaliste, c’est à dire un Américain resté fidèle à la Grande-Bretagne durant la Révolution américaine.
En 1777, French quitta sa ferme à New York et s’enfuit au Canada pour servir avec les autres Loyalistes dans l’armée britannique. Au sud de la frontière américaine, il demeura un traître poursuivi par la milice rebelle. Les affiches de recherche offraient trente dollars, une forte somme à l’époque, pour sa capture, mort ou vif. Lorsque French rejoignit les rangs du King’s Royal Regiment en 1781, il acheta ce nouvel uniforme à Montréal. Au Canada, les Loyalistes portaient des costumes écarlates semblables à ceux des soldats britanniques. Les nombreux boutons dorés, placés deux par deux, étaient marqués des initiales du régiment : KRR. Ces boutons ainsi que le gilet et les épaulettes indiqu Pour en lire plus
Cet uniforme loyaliste, qui fit partie des biens de la famille French pendant 200 ans, fut donné au Musée canadien de la guerre en 1983. Datant de 1781, c’est l’un des costumes militaires complets les plus anciens que l’on possède au Canada. Il appartenait au lieutenant Jeremiah French du King’s Royal Regiment of New York. French était loyaliste, c’est à dire un Américain resté fidèle à la Grande-Bretagne durant la Révolution américaine.
En 1777, French quitta sa ferme à New York et s’enfuit au Canada pour servir avec les autres Loyalistes dans l’armée britannique. Au sud de la frontière américaine, il demeura un traître poursuivi par la milice rebelle. Les affiches de recherche offraient trente dollars, une forte somme à l’époque, pour sa capture, mort ou vif. Lorsque French rejoignit les rangs du King’s Royal Regiment en 1781, il acheta ce nouvel uniforme à Montréal. Au Canada, les Loyalistes portaient des costumes écarlates semblables à ceux des soldats britanniques. Les nombreux boutons dorés, placés deux par deux, étaient marqués des initiales du régiment : KRR. Ces boutons ainsi que le gilet et les épaulettes indiquent que French servit dans le 2e bataillon du régiment. Fait de laine rouge à parements bleus, doublé de lin et orné de boutons dorés, ce vêtement (veste, gilet et culotte) est un rare survivant des uniformes militaires du XVIIIe siècle au Canada.

© 2010, Musée canadien de la guerre. Tous droits réservés.

Membres des Royal Yorkers à l’occasion de la reconstitution soulignant le 230e anniversaire de la bataille de Bennington du 16 août 1777, à New York, 2007. (Photo : Gay Boggess, membre des Royal Yorkers)

Photo : Gay Boggess, membre des Royal Yorkers
Musée canadien de la guerre

© 2010, Musée canadien de la guerre. Tous droits réservés.


Le Musée canadien de la guerre a récemment restauré un des rares Panzer V allemands (ou Panther), l’un des meilleurs chars de la Deuxième Guerre mondiale. Conçu pour affronter les très efficaces chars soviétiques qu’étaient le T 34 et le KV 1, le Panther leur était supérieur sur les plans de la puissance de feu, de la mobilité et du blindage frontal, mais la complexité de ses systèmes de conduite et de suspension l’exposait à la panne mécanique. De 1943 à 1945, l’Allemagne produisit 6 000 de ces chars terrifiants, qui servirent sur le front de l’Est, en Italie et dans le Nord ouest de l’Europe.
Ce char capturé fit partie du défilé du Jour de la victoire en Europe à Ottawa, le 8 mai 1945, puis fut envoyé à la Base des Forces canadiennes de Borden, en Ontario, où il demeura pendant 60 ans. En 2005, l’armée en fit don au Musée canadien de la guerre, où, après 4 000 heures de travaux de restauration en deux ans, il fut exposé publiquement en janvier 2008.

Le Musée canadien de la guerre a récemment restauré un des rares Panzer V allemands (ou Panther), l’un des meilleurs chars de la Deuxième Guerre mondiale. Conçu pour affronter les très efficaces chars soviétiques qu’étaient le T 34 et le KV 1, le Panther leur était supérieur sur les plans de la puissance de feu, de la mobilité et du blindage frontal, mais la complexité de ses systèmes de conduite et de suspension l’exposait à la panne mécanique. De 1943 à 1945, l’Allemagne produisit 6 000 de ces chars terrifiants, qui servirent sur le front de l’Est, en Italie et dans le Nord ouest de l’Europe.
Ce char capturé fit partie du défilé du Jour de la victoire en Europe à Ottawa, le 8 mai 1945, puis fut envoyé à la Base des Forces canadiennes de Borden, en Ontario, où il demeura pendant 60 ans. En 2005, l’armée en fit don au Musée canadien de la guerre, où, après 4 000 heures de travaux de restauration en deux ans, il fut exposé publiquement en janvier 2008.

© 2010, Musée canadien de la guerre. Tous droits réservés.

Le Panzer V (Panther), 1942-1945, Musée canadien de la guerre, 15 Sept. 2009. (Photo : Rob Coles)

Photo : Rob Coles
Musée canadien de la guerre

© 2010, Musée canadien de la guerre. Tous droits réservés.


Nous avons tous un objet à la maison qui nous est cher ou qui est transmis de génération en génération. Ce sont nos trésors familiaux. Ces objets revêtent une grande importance dans notre patrimoine familial tout comme les artefacts des musées.

Prenez le temps de découvrir avec vos élèves les histoires familiales et les traditions ainsi que les liens qui existent entre ces éléments et l’enrichissement de la société canadienne.

Le projet Le Canada a d’incroyables trésors est un espace Web dynamique où les trésors des musées et vos trésors se rencontrent. C’est une façon interactive de présenter les trésors familiaux de vos élèves au reste des Canadiens. Vous pouvez aussi en apprendre davantage sur les trésors des Canadiens et ceux des musées.

Pour commencer, faites découvrir les trésors du Canada à vos élèves, les objets, œuvres d’art, artefacts, documents et spécimens importants de nos institutions patrimoniales et de nos musées nationaux. Découvrez toute l’histoire des trésors en lisant les textes et en regardant les photographies inspirés de chaque objet.

Ensuite, demandez à vos élèves de q Pour en lire plus

Nous avons tous un objet à la maison qui nous est cher ou qui est transmis de génération en génération. Ce sont nos trésors familiaux. Ces objets revêtent une grande importance dans notre patrimoine familial tout comme les artefacts des musées.

Prenez le temps de découvrir avec vos élèves les histoires familiales et les traditions ainsi que les liens qui existent entre ces éléments et l’enrichissement de la société canadienne.

Le projet Le Canada a d’incroyables trésors est un espace Web dynamique où les trésors des musées et vos trésors se rencontrent. C’est une façon interactive de présenter les trésors familiaux de vos élèves au reste des Canadiens. Vous pouvez aussi en apprendre davantage sur les trésors des Canadiens et ceux des musées.

Pour commencer, faites découvrir les trésors du Canada à vos élèves, les objets, œuvres d’art, artefacts, documents et spécimens importants de nos institutions patrimoniales et de nos musées nationaux. Découvrez toute l’histoire des trésors en lisant les textes et en regardant les photographies inspirés de chaque objet.

Ensuite, demandez à vos élèves de questionner leurs familles afin de découvrir leurs propres trésors. Ils pourraient les photographier et vous apporter un fichier, ou apporter l’objet en classe pour que vous le preniez en photo. La création d’un petit document explicatif de l’objet et de sa signification pour la famille de l’élève serait aussi souhaitable.

Note : il sera peut-être nécessaire d’écrire une note explicative aux parents et de demander leur approbation pour mettre des images de ces trésors en ligne.

Finalement, téléchargez ces photographies ou vidéos (sur YouTube ou Flickr) et présentez au Canada vos trésors les plus précieux ou significatifs sur le plan culturel. Suivez les instructions ici. http://www.museevirtuel-virtualmuseum.ca/sgc-cms/expositions-exhibitions/tresors-treasures/?lang=fr

* Veuillez noter que la partie interactive du projet (YouTube et Flickr) sera réévaluée en novembre 2011. Il est possible qu’elle continue (dépendamment de l’usage) ou pas. Si c’était le cas, vous pourrez toujours faire l’activité avec vos élèves, mais en vous créant un blogue ou un wiki de classe afin de mettre en ligne ces trésors familiaux. Ainsi, les parents pourront voir le résultat de l’exercice.


Bonne activité


© 2010, Musée canadien de la guerre. Tous droits réservés.

Objectifs d'apprentissage

L’apprenant va :

• en apprendre davantage sur les trésors des musées canadiens;
• reconnaître l’importance des trésors familiaux;
• expliquer la portée des objets choisis par les institutions.


Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons