The first official seal of New Brunswick was granted in 1785

The first official seal of New Brunswick was granted in 1785. Placed on documents signed by the Governor, it was composed of paper-covered with wax. Illustrated was a ship sailing up a river, with lofty pines on each side, and bearing the motto “Spem Reduxit” ( “Hope Restored” ).

Provincial Archives of New Brunswick
Provincial Archives of New Brunswick
1785
P110-1
© 2006, Provincial Archives of New Brunswick, Province of New Brunswick. All Rights Reserved.


Since the Loyalist migration more than doubled the population of Nova Scotia, it is not surprising that the settlement process was fraught with difficulties. The "old settlers" jacked up prices to take advantage of the unprecedented demand for goods and services, which made the Loyalists feel that they were again on the losing side. Meanwhile, by demanding special privileges because of their sacrifices, the Loyalists earned the resentment of Nova Scotians who argued that they, after all, were Loyalists too.

Edward Winslow, who had responsibility for settling Loyalist regiments in Nova Scotia, became a leading exponent of a plan to create a separate colony north of the Bay of Fundy. Not only would this relieve many of the tensions between old and new settlers, it would also open up administrative positions for deserving Loyalists. Winslow argued that a new colony under Loyalist stewardship would yield a better administration than could be found in either the United States or Great Britain. In a letter to his friend Ward Chipman written 7 July 1783, Winslow proposed :

"...a plan which affords the grandest field for speculation that ever offered. Take Read More

Since the Loyalist migration more than doubled the population of Nova Scotia, it is not surprising that the settlement process was fraught with difficulties. The "old settlers" jacked up prices to take advantage of the unprecedented demand for goods and services, which made the Loyalists feel that they were again on the losing side. Meanwhile, by demanding special privileges because of their sacrifices, the Loyalists earned the resentment of Nova Scotians who argued that they, after all, were Loyalists too.

Edward Winslow, who had responsibility for settling Loyalist regiments in Nova Scotia, became a leading exponent of a plan to create a separate colony north of the Bay of Fundy. Not only would this relieve many of the tensions between old and new settlers, it would also open up administrative positions for deserving Loyalists. Winslow argued that a new colony under Loyalist stewardship would yield a better administration than could be found in either the United States or Great Britain. In a letter to his friend Ward Chipman written 7 July 1783, Winslow proposed :

"...a plan which affords the grandest field for speculation that ever offered. Take the general map of this province (even as it is now bounded), observe how detached this part is from the rest, how vastly extensive it is, notice the rivers, harbours, &c., Consider the numberless inconveniences that must arise from its remoteness from the metropolis and the difficulty of communication. Think what multitudes have and will come here, and then judge whether it must not from the nature of things immediately become a separate government, and if it does it shall be the most Gentlemanlike one on earth."1

This passage is the earliest known reference to the partition of Nova Scotia and the creation of a new colony.

Underlying Winslow's proposal were a few unacknowledged assumptions. First, it was to be a Loyalist province, governed by the exiles with no concessions to the Aboriginal peoples, Acadians, and other "old inhabitants" already living in the area. Second, its leaders were to be members of the Loyalist elite, those officers and gentlemen whose impeccable backgrounds and long experience in colonial affairs would enable them to establish a model government. Indulging in wishful thinking, Winslow foresaw the day when the cream of American society, disillusioned by their faltering republic and the loss of British West Indies trade, would move north and settle in the projected province.

The partition of Nova Scotia would not come easily, in part because Halifax officials were stoutly opposed to the plan. In a 7 March 1784 letter to Winslow, Chipman, now in London, opined that:  "the present administration, even if convinced of the propriety of the measure, dare not adopt it; their continuance in office is so uncertain that they will undertake no business but what turns up in the common routine of office every day."2 Chipman pinned hopes on the possibility that a new ministry might be more open to the idea: "we are here forming a plan of application as soon as the ministry is established that will meet your fullest wishes, and if exertion perseverance and opportunity are of any avail to secure its execution, they will not be wanting."3

Winslow and Chipman would not have to wait long. Less than a week later, on 13 March 1783, Chipman informed Winslow that: "things begin to wear a much more favourable aspect respecting Nova Scotia. The present ministry begin to find their situation more stable and permanent." This led Chipman to tell Winslow that "there is no doubt a separate Government at St. John's will be established, and that all your wishes will be carried into effect."4 Within a month, Chipman again wrote Winslow on the matter, indicating that he was "in hopes before this time to have congratulated you upon the decided arrangement of the new Government of Nova Scotia, an event which I do not however think far distant. The separation of the Province into two Governments is determined upon in the Cabinet, that of St. John's which is to be called New Ireland."5 The name of New Ireland for the new province did not stick, and it was soon replaced by New Brunswick, in honour of the royal house of Brunswick. On 18 June 1784, with an order-in-council of King George II and the Privy Council, the province of New Brunswick formally came into existence.

Corey Slumkoski
University of New Brunswick

1. Letter from Edward Winslow to Ward Chipman, 7 July 1783, Winslow Family Papers, Volume 2-104. 
2. Letter from Ward Chipman to Edward Winslow, 7 March 1784, Winslow Family Papers, Volume 3-62.
3. Letter from Ward Chipman to Edward Winslow, 7 March 1784, Winslow Family Papers, Volume 3-62. 
4. Letter from Ward Chipman to Edward Winslow, 13 March 1784, Winslow Family Papers, Volume 3-63. 
5. Letter from Ward Chipman to Edward Winslow, 13 April 1784, Winslow Family Papers, Volume 3-73.  


© Electronic Text Centre, University of New Brunswick. All Rights Reserved.

Learning Objectives

Learners will understand the type of government Edward Winslow wished to see established in the new province of New Brunswick.

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

Le premier sceau officiel du Nouveau-Brunswick apposé sur les documents signés par le gouverneur a été attribué en 1785.

Le premier sceau officiel du Nouveau-Brunswick apposé sur les documents signés par le gouverneur a été attribué en 1785. Il était recouvert d’un papier enduit de cire. Le sceau illustrait un voilier voguant sur l’eau encadrée de pins majestueux et portait la devise « Spem Reduxit » (« L’espoir renaît »).

Archives provinciales du Nouveau-Brunswick
Archives provinciales du Nouveau-Brunswick
1785
P110-1
© 2006, Archives provinciales du Nouveau-Brunswick. Tous droits réservés.


La migration loyaliste ayant plus que doublé la population de la Nouvelle-Écosse, il n’est pas surprenant que l’établissement ait été semé de difficultés. Les colons déjà établis ont profité de la demande inouïe de leurs produits et services en augmentant les prix. Les loyalistes ont de nouveau en l’impression d’être perdants. Puis, en exigeant d’obtenir certains privilèges en contrepartie de leurs sacrifices, ils se sont attiré les mauvais sentiments des habitants de la Nouvelle-Écosse qui ont fait valoir être, après tout, eux aussi, loyalistes.

Edward Winslow, qui était chargé de l’établissement des régiments loyalistes en Nouvelle-Écosse, est devenu l'ardent promoteur d’un plan visant à créer une colonie distincte au nord de la baie de Fundy. Ce plan non seulement éliminerait les nombreuses tensions qui existaient entre les anciens et les nouveaux colons, mais aussi créerait des postes administratifs Pour en lire plus

La migration loyaliste ayant plus que doublé la population de la Nouvelle-Écosse, il n’est pas surprenant que l’établissement ait été semé de difficultés. Les colons déjà établis ont profité de la demande inouïe de leurs produits et services en augmentant les prix. Les loyalistes ont de nouveau en l’impression d’être perdants. Puis, en exigeant d’obtenir certains privilèges en contrepartie de leurs sacrifices, ils se sont attiré les mauvais sentiments des habitants de la Nouvelle-Écosse qui ont fait valoir être, après tout, eux aussi, loyalistes.

Edward Winslow, qui était chargé de l’établissement des régiments loyalistes en Nouvelle-Écosse, est devenu l'ardent promoteur d’un plan visant à créer une colonie distincte au nord de la baie de Fundy. Ce plan non seulement éliminerait les nombreuses tensions qui existaient entre les anciens et les nouveaux colons, mais aussi créerait des postes administratifs pour les loyalistes qui les méritaient.

 Winslow fit valoir qu’une nouvelle colonie sous l’égide des loyalistes donnerait lieu à une administration meilleure que celle des États-Unis ou de la Grande-Bretagne. Dans une lettre écrite à son ami Ward Chipman le 7 juillet 1783, Winslow proposait :

« ... un plan qui conférait le plus grand territoire jamais offert à la spéculation. Prenez la carte générale de la province (même selon ses limites actuelles), voyez comment elle se détache du reste, en étendue, ses rivières, ses ports, etc. Tenez compte des innombrables difficultés que constituent l’éloignement de la métropole et les communications. Songez au nombre de personnes qui sont déjà arrivées ici et à celles qui viendront, puis jugez si, en raison de la nature des choses, cette région ne devrait pas immédiatement former un gouvernement distinct. Si cela se produit, ce sera le gouvernement le plus honorable du monde. »1

Ce passage est la référence la plus ancienne à la partition de la Nouvelle-Écosse et à la création d’une nouvelle colonie.

La proposition de Winslow reposait sur certaines hypothèses non reconnues. En premier lieu, il s’agirait d’une province loyaliste, gouvernée par les exilés, sans concession aucune aux peuples autochtones ni aux Acadiens ni à aucun autre « habitant de longue date » de la région. En deuxième lieu, ses dirigeants seraient membres de l’élite loyaliste, — officiers et gentilshommes aux antécédents irréprochables et à la longue expérience des affaires coloniales, ce qui leur permettraient d’établir un gouvernement exemplaire. Winslow voyait le jour où le gratin de la société américaine, déçu par la république en déclin et la perte du commerce avec les Antilles britanniques, se déplacerait vers le nord et s’installerait dans la future province.

La partition de la Nouvelle-Écosse ne serait pas chose facile, en partie à cause de la ferme opposition des représentants de Halifax au projet. Dans une lettre du 7 mars 1784 à Winslow, Chipman, alors à Londres, estimait que « la présente administration, même si elle est convaincue de la justesse de la mesure, n’ose pas l’adopter; le maintien en fonction est si incertain qu’elle ne s’occupera de rien d’autres que des affaires courantes et ordinaires. »2 Chipman avait espérance qu’un nouveau gouvernement serait peut-être plus ouvert à l’idée : « nous élaborerons un plan de mise en oeuvre dès que le gouvernement répondra à vos exigences, et si la persévérance de nos efforts et l’occasion n’arrivent pas à garantir l’exécution du projet, ils s’y opposeront. »3

Winslow et Chipman n’ont pas eu à attendre longtemps. Moins d’une semaine plus tard, le 13 mars 1783, Chipman déclarait à Winslow que « la tournure des événements semble être favorable à la Nouvelle-Écosse. La situation du présent gouvernement commence à être plus stable et permanente. » L’heureuse conjoncture a permis à Chipman d’annoncer à Winslow qu’ « ...il n’y a aucun doute qu’un gouvernement distinct sera créé à Saint John et que tous vos vœux deviendront réalité. »4 Dans le mois, Chipman a abordé de nouveau le sujet dans une lettre à Winslow en indiquant qu’il avait « espéré le féliciter bien avant à maintenant propos de la décision d’un accord concernant le nouveau gouvernement de la Nouvelle-Écosse, dont l’avènement à mon avis est proche. La décision de séparer la province en deux gouvernements est prise par le conseil des ministres et celui de Saint John sera appelé Nouvelle-Irlande. »5 L’appellation Nouvelle-Irlande qui n'a pas été adoptée et a rapidement été remplacée par Nouveau-Brunswick, en l’honneur de la maison royale de Brunswick. C’est le 18 juin 1784, par un décret du roi George III en conseil et du Conseil privé, que la province du Nouveau-Brunswick a officiellement été fondée.

Corey Slumkoski
Université du Nouveau-Brunswick

1. Letter from Edward Winslow to Ward Chipman, 7 July 1783, Winslow Family Papers, Volume 2-104. 
2. Letter from Ward Chipman to Edward Winslow, 7 March 1784, Winslow Family Papers, Volume 3-62. 
3. Letter from Ward Chipman to Edward Winslow, 7 March 1784, Winslow Family Papers, Volume 3-62. 
4. Letter from Ward Chipman to Edward Winslow, 13 March 1784, Winslow Family Papers Volume 3-63. 
5. Letter from Ward Chipman to Edward Winslow, 13 April 1784, Winslow Family Papers, Volume 3-73.  
 

© Electronic Text Centre, Universite du Nouveau-Brunswick. Tous droits réservés.

Objectifs d'apprentissage

Les apprenants seront en mesure de comprendre le type de gouvernement qu’Edward Winslow souhaitait établir dans la nouvelle province du Nouveau-Brunswick.

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons