Since the construction of the CPR through the Rockies, Canadian, federal and provincial governments have taken a number of steps and measures to protect specific areas. From reserves to parks, portions of the Rocky Mountains in Alberta and B.C. are now designated as parks and managed by Parks Canada, and their provincial counterparts. The Burgess Shale has been on the list of the UNESCO World Heritage sites since 1980 and is now part of a broader designation as Canadian Rocky Mountain Parks.

Research and report on the following:

1. What are the criteria on the UNESCO World Heritage list that justify the designation of the Canadian Rocky Mountain Parks as a protected site?

2. Discuss the role that the Burgess Shale fossils play in the designation as a World Heritage site.

3. In the Burgeoning Tourism Industry section, there are a number of black and white photographs from the Mary Vaux collection. Describe her experience of having traveled in this region based on these photos.

4. Compare these actual photographs to the CPR promotional material. Is the promotional information representative of the actual tourist experience? Justify your answer.

5. Look at the colour souvenir postcard of Mount Stephen House. Imagine that you are recipient of this postcard. What does it convey about the tourist experience in the region?

6. What do you suppose is the economic impact?
A. Of the CPR traveling through this region
B. Of designating the Rocky Mountain Parks (including the Burgess Shell) as a UNESCO world heritage site

Timeline section

Look at the timeline and pull out the events related to the construction of the railroad. How are these related to the discovery of the Burgess Shale fossils? Which event is most significant in making this discovery possible?

In the following section: A Late Decision and the First Fossil Discoveries examine the schematic showing the CPR line through the Rocky and Selkirk mountains. Identify the Kicking Horse pass. Discuss the challenges the CPR engineers had in designing a railroad through this kind of landscape.

The photograph showing the steaming train along the Kicking Horse Bridge with Mount Stephen in the background is evocative of the experience the visitors have of being on this train and of the challenges the CPR had in taking this path through the Rockies. Explain this statement from examining this photograph.
Jacques Lavoie

© 2011, Royal Ontario Museum. All Rights Reserved.

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

Depuis la construction du Canadien Pacifique dans les Rocheuses, les gouvernements fédéral et provinciaux du Canada ont adopté un certain nombre de mesures pour protéger des lieux particuliers. Des réserves aux parcs, certaines parties des montagnes Rocheuses, en Alberta et en Colombie-Britannique, sont maintenant désignées comme parcs et gérées par Parcs Canada et ses homologues provinciaux. Les schistes de Burgess figurent également, depuis 1980, sur la liste du patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO et font désormais partie des parcs des montagnes Rocheuses canadiennes.

Faites des recherches pour répondre aux questions suivantes :

1. Quels sont les critères de la liste du patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO qui justifient l’inscription des parcs des montagnes Rocheuses canadiennes comme sites protégés ?

2. Discutez du rôle que jouent les schistes de Burgess dans la désignation de site du patrimoine mondial.

3. Un certain nombre des photos noir et blanc de la collection Mary Vaux figurent dans la section sur l’industrie touristique florissante. D’après ces photos, décrivez ses voyages dans la région.

4. Comparez ces photos au livret publicitaire du Canadien Pacifique. L’information véhiculée est-elle représentative de l’expérience des touristes ? Expliquez votre réponse.

5. Regardez la carte postale colorisée montrant l’hôtel Mount Stephen House et imaginez que vous en êtes le destinataire. Que vous apprend-elle sur l’expérience touristique dans cette région ?

6. Selon vous, quelles sont les retombées économiques
a) du passage du Canadien Pacifique dans cette région ?
b) de l’inscription des parcs des montagnes Rocheuses (y compris les schistes de Burgess) à la liste des sites du patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO ?
 

Section sur la chronologie

Dans la chronologie, isolez les événements associés à la construction du chemin de fer. Quel est le lien entre ces événements et la découverte des schistes de Burgess ? Quel événement a joué le rôle le plus important dans cette découverte ?

La section intitulée « Une découverte tardive et la découverte des premiers fossiles » examine le schéma du tracé du Canadien Pacifique à travers les montagnes Rocheuses et Selkirk. Localisez le col Kicking Horse et commentez les difficultés qu’ont dû surmonter les ingénieurs du Canadien Pacifique pour planifier une voie ferrée dans ce genre de relief.

La photographie montrant le train à vapeur sur le pont Kicking Horse avec le mont Stephen à l’arrière-plan évoque l’expérience des visiteurs qui voyageaient dans ce train et les défis qu’a dû relever le Canadien Pacifique pour traverser les Rocheuses. Donnez vos raisons en vous basant sur cette photographie.
Jacques Lavoie

© 2011, Musée royal de l’Ontario. Tous droits réservés.

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons