Aerial view showing Wapta Mountain with the main Burgess Shale sites

© 2011, Royal Ontario Museum. All Rights Reserved.

Introduction

High on a mountain ridge in Canada’s spectacular Yoho National Park in British Columbia is one of Earth’s most important fossil deposits: the Burgess Shale. Preserved with exquisite detail within the rock layers for the last half-billion years are the remains of soft-bodied and often bizarre animals and algae dating from the Cambrian period.

By studying the fossilized remains of animals such as Anomalocaris, Opabinia, and Marrella, your students are able to explore the circumstances leading to the formation of such unusual fossils, reconstruct Cambrian food webs, examine the Earth’s first great predators and the concomitant evolution of new defensive structures, and discover the origin of the diversity of modern animals.

The historic explorations connect events, places and people which made the discovery of the Burgess Shale possible. It also looks into a technological innovation, in this case the panoramic camera and its application. Your students are invited to reflect on the significance and implications of the connections.


Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

Vue aérienne montrant le mont Wapta et les sites principaux des schistes de Burgess

© 2011, Musée royal de l’Ontario. Tous droits réservés.

Introduction

Dans les hauteurs d’une crête de montagne, au cœur du spectaculaire parc national Yoho, en Colombie-Britannique, se trouve l’un des plus importants gisements fossilifères de la Terre : les schistes de Burgess. Datant de la période cambrienne, les vestiges d’algues et d’animaux à corps mou souvent étranges sont conservés dans leurs moindres détails depuis un demi-milliard d’années au sein de couches rocheuses.

L’étude des restes fossilisés d’animaux comme Anomalocaris, Opabinia et Marrella permet aux étudiants d’examiner les circonstances qui ont mené à la formation de ces fossiles singuliers, de reconstruire les réseaux d’alimentation au Cambrien, d’examiner les premiers grands prédateurs de la Terre ainsi que l’émergence de nouveaux mécanismes de défense. Ils y découvriront l’origine de la diversité de la faune moderne.

Les différentes explorations relient les événements, lieux et personnes qui, ensemble, ont permis de découvrir les schistes de Burgess. L’innovation technique qui y a joué un rôle, ici celle de l’appareil photo panoramique et de ses applications, est examinée. Les étudiants sont invités à réfléchir à l’importance de ces liens et à leurs répercussions.


Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons